Skip to content | Change text size

Empire online

Connect to Empire online via Direct Connection

About this resource

This database is being published in five sections between 2003 and 2007 offering approximately 60,000 images of original documents linked to essays by leading scholars in the field of Empire Studies. The sections cover Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969 (2003); Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire (2003/4); The Visible Empire (2004/5); Religion and Empire (2005/6); and Race, Class and Colonialism, c1783-1969 (2006/7). The images will be sourced from about ten different libraries and archives around the world, including a strong core of document images from the British Library, including the Oriental and India Office Collections at the British Library; the University of Birmingham Library; the Bodleian Library, Oxford; and the Public Record Office and the State Records, New South Wales, Australia.

  • Data Format: Text (HTML and PDF)

Subject headings

  • Imperialism--History--Sources--Databases.
  • Colonization--Databases.
  • Colonies--Databases.
  • Imperialism--Great Britain--History--Sources--Databases.
  • Great Britain--Colonies--History--Sources--Databases.
  • Great Britain--History--Sources--Databases.
  • Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat.
    Your opinion Feedback form for Monash staff and students | Feedback form for visitors

     
    See also
    Accessing databases