Accessing electronic resources at Monash
The electronic resources are only accessible to Monash students & staff; see Terms and conditions.
Browsers
The Library recommends the use of Monash Supported Browsers:
1. Microsoft Internet Explorer (IE) version 6
2. Mozilla Firefox
Most resources are tested by their manufacturers using Internet Explorer
5.5 or above, so this should be the first browser you try. Resources
may work in other browsers, but less effectively.
Pop-ups
Some resources use pop-up windows to display information. If you have
a pop-up blocker enabled in your browser this may prevent some resources
from working properly. Known examples include Taylor and Francis e-books.
On campus access
- Students and staff need their Authcate account and password to access electronic
resources and the internet while on campus
- Read the instructions for each resource carefully - in some cases
you will need to use Authcate to access a database specific password.
Other resources may offer only limited coverage.
- Avoid using Netscape 4.7, which will not work for a large number
of resources.
- Visitors to Monash should refer to the information desk at any branch
for help accessing electronic resources.
When working in the library, remember to close your browser after completing your
session, to ensure that your Authcate details are cleared.
Off campus access
- Staff and students of Monash University may use most electronic resources from off campus.
- The Library strongly recommends that you use the databases
page, ejournals lists or the Monash
University Library Catalogue as a starting point, to ensure that
you will get access.
- You will need your Authcate password for access. You should not need to change your proxy settings.
- Read the instructions for each resource carefully - in some cases
you will need to use Authcate to access a database specific password.
Other resources may offer only limited coverage.
- Some resources are only available on campus. Others are not networked
and are only available at specific library sites. See individual entries
on the databases pages for more details.
Monash University Library provides access to a wide range of electronic
resources, including databases, electronic
journals, web sites and information services. All the Library's electronic
holdings are listed in the Monash
University Library Catalogue
Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat.
Your opinion Feedback form for Monash staff and students | Feedback form for visitors
|