| Library home | Catalogue | Resources | Services | Help | Libraries | About us |
| Staff directory | A-Z index | Site map |
ArchaeologyKey resourcesAnthropology plus (connect | more information)Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. Egyptological bibliography, 1822-1997 (STANDALONE CD-ROM | more information)Compiles bibliographical references from the Annual Egyptological Bibliography and Christine Beinlich's Bibliographie Alta真gypten 1822 - 1946 to provide an electronic archive of some 60,000 books and articles on Egypt and Egyptology. JSTOR : the scholarly journal archive (connect | more information)Intended as a comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature, built by over 1,700 worldwide participants, including major Australian universities. Coverage includes: the arts, sciences, business, ecology and botany, language and literature, and music, extending from 17th century in some cases.
Other resourcesAnnee philologique (connect | more information)A database published by the Socie真te真 Internationale de Bibliographie Classique, under the direction of E真ric Rebillard, with the American Philological Association. Contains 600,000 bibliographic records for the years 1949 to 2004, with 12,500 new records added each year.The international offices analyze 1,500 periodicals each year as well as 500 articles in collections and conference papers. Multiple possibilities for searching are available: by modern authors, by full text, by ancient authors and texts, by subjects and disciplines through a multilevel index showing the different levels of classification by word(s) in the title, by publisher, by collection or by periodical. APIS : advanced papyrological information system (connect | more information)"APIS links together in a single environment various sources of information about texts written on papyrus and the society that produced them. It contains descriptions of the papyri and other written materials in the collections of the participating institutions, digital images of many of these texts, and connections to databases with the texts themselves in their original languages and with bibliography about the texts"--About the Project. Biblical Archaeology Society online archive (connect | more information)Contains the content of selected journals and books published by the Biblical Archaeology Society. Includes each issue of the magazines Biblical archaeology review, Bible review, and Archaeology odyssey, and the content of five books. The site allows users to browse the entire corpus of material and perform Boolean searches by title, author, subject, word, issue, or date range in any combination. Current contents connect (connect | more information)A current awareness research database that provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic citations from current issues of the world's leading scholarly research journals covering all disciplines including the sciences, social sciences, technology, the arts and the humanities. Selected abstracts and records for more than 3,600 web sites that have been selected by editors at ISI for their relevance and quality are also included. A facility is available to save searches and set up a personal email alerting service. Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals. Also available: Library online tutorials IBSS : international bibliography of the social sciences (connect | more information)The International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) is an online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research. Incorporating over 100 languages and countries, IBSS includes nearly two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters. Over 2,700 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books included each year. Abstracts are provided for half of all current journal articles and full text availability is continually increasing. Korean history & culture research database (connect | more information)Korean History & Culture Research Database is a full-text collection of excavation reports of historical sites in Korea operated by national and university museums and private research institutions and associations since 1910. It also contains research papers, reports, catalogs, and maps related to Korean geography, history, folklore, and architecture. OEB : online Egyptological bibliography (connect | more information)
OEB is an online version and continuation of the Annual Egyptological Bibliography, published in print 1947-2001, and online as Annual Egyptological Bibliography to 2008. (From 2009, paper publication of the annual volumes ceased.) The online version of the Egyptological Bibliography includes volumes 1947 to 2001, some 46,000 titles in total. From early 2009, titles will be added as they become available, after review by the editor. The publisher also plans to incorporate Christine Beinlich-Seeber's Bibliographie Alta真gypten 1822-1946.
Web of science (connect | more information)Web of Science provides access to journal citations, selected abstracts and cited references contained in three separate ISI citation databases: Science citation index expanded (SCI-Expanded); Social sciences citation index (SSCI); and, Arts & humanities citation index (A&HCI). Also added in 2008: Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S)--1990-present, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)--1990-present. Citation databases are used to follow a line of research from a known older key piece of work (book, journal article, unpublished work, etc) to more recent research by searching the reference lists of recent journal articles. Although not its primary strength, Web of Science could be useful for cross disciplinary searching. Wilson art full text (connect | more information)Indexes, abstracts and full-text from international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Areas covered include archaeology, architecture, art, film, humanities, marketing, motion pictures and photography. On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.
Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat. |
|