Skip to content | Change text size

Astronomy

Academic earth (connect | more information)

The site offers 60 full courses and 2,395 total lectures (almost 1300 hours of video) from Yale, MIT, Harvard, Stanford, UC Berkeley, and Princeton that can be browsed by subject, university, or instructor through a user-friendly interface. Additionally, editors have compiled lectures from different speakers into Playlists such as ¿¿¿Understanding the Financial Crisis¿¿¿ and ¿¿¿First Day Of Freshman Year.¿¿¿ The site also features a roster of famous guest lecturers on entrepreneurship and technology including Larry Page, Carol Bartz, Tim Draper, Elon Musk, and Guy Kawasaki. [Richard] Ludlow launched Academic Earth with the goal of building a user-friendly platform for educational video that would let anyone be able to freely access instruction from the scholars and guest lecturers at the leading academic universities.--Leena Rao, TechCrunch website.

CSIRO journals (connect | more information)

Full text access of CSIRO journals, produced in cooperation with several Australian and New Zealand scientific societies, present the latest research by leading Australian and overseas scientists. All journals are peer reviewed with international readership.

  • Includes full text
  • Current contents connect (connect | more information)

    A current awareness research database that provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic citations from current issues of the world's leading scholarly research journals covering all disciplines including the sciences, social sciences, technology, the arts and the humanities. Selected abstracts and records for more than 3,600 web sites that have been selected by editors at ISI for their relevance and quality are also included. A facility is available to save searches and set up a personal email alerting service.

    Emilio Segre¿¿ visual archives (connect | more information)

    A collection of more than 25,000 historical photographs, slides, lithographs, engravings, and other visual materials, the Emilio Segre¿¿ Visual Archives focuses on American physicists and astronomers of the twentieth century, but includes many scientists in Europe and elsewhere, in other fields related to physics, and in earlier times.

    Encyclopedia of astronomy and astrophysics (connect | more information)

    Covering the entire field of astronomy and astrophysics, this online encyclopedia includes the full text of over 2,750 articles, plus search and retrieval functionality, links to the primary literature, and is frequently updated with new material. Main subject areas covered include: cosmology; galaxies; interstellar medium; stars; solar system; sun; earth; coordinates, time and motion; instrumentation and observational techniques; theoretical concepts and tools; space missions; organisations and institutions; history and archaeastronomy; amateur astronomy, education and public impact.

  • Includes full text
  • Engineering village (connect | more information)

    This online service provides access to bibliographic databases within the scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines to which Monash University Library subscribes. These databases include: Compendex, EI Backfile, Inspec, NTIS, Referex Engineering, Patents, GEOBASE, GeoRef and CRC ENGnetBASE. Source documents comprise journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, dissertations, patents and books published from around the world.

  • Includes full text
  • INSPEC (connect | more information)

    Database providing access to bibliographic citations and abstracts of the scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and computing and information technology. Material covered includes journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations, patents and books published around the world.

    Intute. Science, engineering, & technology (connect | more information)

    "Intute is a free online service providing ... access to the very best Web resources for education and research. The service is created by a network of UK universities and partners. Subject specialists select and evaluate the websites in our database and write high quality descriptions of the resources." -- Intute home page.

  • Includes full text
  • MathSciNet (connect | more information)

    MathSciNet is a bibliographic database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940. It is created and maintained by the American Mathematical Society. Journals, conference proceedings, and books of mathematics research are covered.

    Scitation (connect | more information)

    Provides access to abstracts and to selective full text of journals published and distributed by the American Institute of Physics and its member societies as well as American Society of Civil Engineers journals. Subject coverage includes physics, astronomy, electronics, engineering, and materials science.

  • Includes full text
  • Web of science (connect | more information)

    Web of Science provides access to journal citations, selected abstracts and cited references contained in three separate ISI citation databases: Science citation index expanded (SCI-Expanded); Social sciences citation index (SSCI); and, Arts & humanities citation index (A&HCI). Also added in 2008: Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S)--1990-present, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)--1990-present. Citation databases are used to follow a line of research from a known older key piece of work (book, journal article, unpublished work, etc) to more recent research by searching the reference lists of recent journal articles. Although not its primary strength, Web of Science could be useful for cross disciplinary searching.

    Wiley InterScience (connect | more information)

    A searchable database providing access to to over 3 million articles across nearly 1500 journals and 7000 Online Books and major reference works. It also holds industry leading databases such as The Cochrane Library, chemistry databases and the acclaimed Current Protocols laboratory manuals. Online Journals comprise three major collections: 1. Medicine and Nursing. 2. Science, Technology and Medicine. 3. Social Sciences and Humanities. OnlineBooks offer flexible electronic access to thousands of Wiley books from a broad range of subject areas. Reference Works deliver unimpeded access to multi-volume encyclopedias, handbooks and dictionaries within every category of scientific, technical and medical endeavor.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: The Library has not bought access to all of the electronic books listed here. If you are denied access to the full text of any book here and want the Library to subscribe, please complete a Purchase suggestion form and we will consider your request.

     

    Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat.
    Your opinion Feedback form for Monash staff and students | Feedback form for visitors

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    See also
    New electronic resources on trial
    Provide your feedback:
    Trial databases
    Accessing databases