Skip to content | Change text size

Australian literature

Key resources

AustLit : the resource for Australian literature (connect | more information)

AustLit is a collaboration between eight Australian Universities and the National Library of Australia providing authoritative information on hundreds of thousands of creative and critical Australian literature works relating to more than 75,000 Australian authors and literary organisations. Its coverage spans 1780 to the present day. AustLit indexes and describes Australian literature published in a range of print and electronic information sources. It also makes available selected critical articles and creative writing in full text. Researchers, bibliographers and librarians, working around the country, gather information about Australian writers and writing, providing authoritative information on and facilitating access to Australian literature--URL: http://www.austlit.edu.au/about.

 


Other resources

APAIS : Australian public affairs information service (connect | more information)

Bibliographic database that indexes published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
See also: Australian Public Affairs - Full Text

Australian Public Affairs Information Service : Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Subset (connect | more information)

This bibliographic database is a subset of the Australian Public Affairs Information Service (APAIS) database that indexes articles from published material on the social sciences and humanities. The APAIS-ATSIS subset contains records that specifically relate to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. Source documents include scholarly Australian journals, monographs, newspapers and conference proceedings. Limited articles from overseas publications are also included. Specific subject coverage includes history, economics, politics, current affairs and culture.

  • Includes full text
  • Contemporary authors (connect | more information)

    This worldwide database provides comprehensive biographical and bibliographical information on authors from all genres including fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, and television. Current writers, as well as the most studied literary figures of the early 20th century, are featured.

    Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)

    Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals.

  • Includes full text

  • Also available: Library online tutorials

    Factiva (connect | more information)

    Factiva provides access to full text coverage of major Australian newspapers (including The Age, The Sydney Morning Herald and The Australian), as well as global newspapers and news wires. Coverage for The Australian, Financial Review and BRW is from 2007, with abstracts only. Factiva also includes company profiles and financial information for listed companies worldwide, and historical financial market data.

  • Includes full text

  • This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above. Monash students and staff only
    Note: If you see this message: "The user ID and password you have entered are already in use. Please try again later or click on the Having trouble logging in link next to the login button of your product for assistance. (Error:131005)" it means that Monash has used up all available licences. It does NOT relate to your Authcate password. Please try again later.

    Guide to Australian literary manuscripts (connect | more information)

    Contains detailed inventories of more than 85 manuscript collections in six major Australian libraries. It covers more than 65 Australian authors, including Peter Carey, Miles Franklin, David Malouf, Kenneth Slessor and Christina Stead. The collections can be browsed by author, and each guide can be browsed by table of contents. The complete collection, and the individual guides, can also be searched by keyword.

    Literary index (connect | more information)

    A master index to the major literature products published by Gale and the imprints Charles Scribner's Sons, St. James Press and Twayne Publishers. It combines and cross-references more than 135,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and over 165,000 titles into one source.

    MLA international bibliography (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database indexes the international literature in academic disciplines such as language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts (including theatre, film, music and media culture). It contains more than 2 million records. The classified listing and subject index are compiled by the staff of the Modern Language Association Department of Bibliographic Information Services with the cooperation of more than 100 contributing bibliographers in the United States and abroad. The Bibliography first appeared in 1926, as a section within the journal PMLA, and became a separate publication in 1969. The electronic version first appeared in the late 1970s, and for a long time only covered volumes from 1963 onwards; as of April 2006, the entire print run is included, from 1926 to the present.
    Licence restrictions: 4 simultaneous users only. It is very important that you "Logout" after a session.

    ProQuest dissertations & theses (connect | more information)

    ProQuest Dissertations & Theses includes citations, abstracts and reviews of mostly US Masters and PhD theses. It is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. PQDT - Full Text includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. More than 60,000 new full text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637.
    Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    Source (connect | more information)

    The Source is a searchable bibliographic database of children's books, poetry, short stories and literary awards. Where a poem or short story is out of copyright, the full text is included. Short biographical details of authors, illustrators and poets are also included.

  • Includes full text
  •  

    Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat.
    Your opinion Feedback form for Monash staff and students | Feedback form for visitors

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    See also
    New electronic resources on trial
    Provide your feedback:
    Trial databases
    Accessing databases