Skip to content | Change text size

Business & economics

Key resources

APAIS : Australian public affairs information service (connect | more information)

Bibliographic database that indexes published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
See also: Australian Public Affairs - Full Text

Australian Public Affairs - Full Text (connect | more information)

Indexing and full text database that provides access to published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.

  • Includes full text

  • See also: APAIS : Australian public affairs information service

    Business source premier (connect | more information)

    Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 8,350 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,100 scholarly business publications. Covers nearly every area of business including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business. Business Source Premier also includes other sources of full text information, such as country economic reports from the EIU, Global Insight, ICON Group and CountryWatch, and detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies and industry reports from Datamonitor.

  • Includes full text

  • See also: ABI/INFORM global

    Econlit (connect | more information)

    Leading index to articles from over 550 economics journals, including selected Australian titles. Also indexes essays, research and working papers, books, dissertations and book reviews.

    Emerald (connect | more information)

    Database of mainly business, information technology and engineering journals with a European perspective. Full text articles available for most titles from mid 1990's.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Some journal articles are not available with the current Monash subscription.

    Factiva (connect | more information)

    Factiva provides access to full text coverage of major Australian newspapers (including The Age, The Sydney Morning Herald and The Australian), as well as global newspapers and news wires. Coverage for The Australian, Financial Review and BRW is from 2007, with abstracts only. Factiva also includes company profiles and financial information for listed companies worldwide, and historical financial market data.

  • Includes full text

  • This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above. Monash students and staff only
    Note: If you see this message: "The user ID and password you have entered are already in use. Please try again later or click on the Having trouble logging in link next to the login button of your product for assistance. (Error:131005)" it means that Monash has used up all available licences. It does NOT relate to your Authcate password. Please try again later.

    WRDS : the path to business intelligence (connect | more information)

    A Web-based data management system providing access to a wide range of financial, economic data, including stock market indices, bond prices, interest rates, mutual fund and stock ownership information, options data, macroeconomic time series and financial historical data. Of greatest relevance to honours, postgraduate and staff researchers. The Monash subscription comprises the following data providers: Audit Analytics, Bureau Van Dijk, Compustat, CRSP, CSMAR, EVENTUS, I/B/E/S, OptionMetrics and RiskMetrics (formerly IRRC). WRDS also provides access to a compilation of free access data sets.

    For help see: Monash Related WRDS FAQ

     


    Other resources

    ABI/INFORM dateline (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for articles from over 170 U.S. local and regional business journals, newspapers and news magazines. It focuses on providing access to business information on large corporations, privately held companies, local start-ups, executive profiles, marketing, finance,and industry news not typically found in U.S. national news sources. Includes full text for selected titles.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    ABI/INFORM global (connect | more information)

    Includes in-depth coverage for over 2,700 publications, with more than 2,000 available in full text. ABI/INFORM Global offers the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels. With ABI/INFORM Global, users can find out about business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape.

  • Includes full text

  • See also: Business Source Premier | Australian Public Affairs - Full Text
    Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    ABI/INFORM trade & industry (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for articles from more than 1,000 business periodicals and newsletters with an industry and trade focus. Includes the latest industry news, product and competitive information, marketing trends, and a wide variety of other topics. Covers publications on every major industry, including finance, insurance, transportation, construction, and many more. Includes full text for selected titles.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    Academic research library (connect | more information)

    From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 3,820 title--over 2,550 in full text--from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    APEC Tariff database (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • Australian Bureau of Statistics (connect | more information)

    The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) web site provides comprehensive access to over 270,000 pages of Australian statistical and reference information. There are statistics on the following themes: economy; environment and energy; industry; people; and regions. Included are statistical publications on agriculture, demography, finance, labour, manufacturing, national accounts, prices, service industries, social trends, trade and transport.

    Australian financial review quarterly on CD ROM (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text

  • Coverage only available for 1992 to 1998

    Blackwell encyclopedia of management (connect | more information)

    An authoritative reference for management, accounting, managerial economics, finance, information systems and marketing disciplines.

  • Includes full text
  • Blackwell reference online (connect | more information)

    Provides full-text access to about 300 volumes of reference works in business and economics, the arts (history, language and linguistics, literature and cultural studies, philosophy and religion) and social sciences (sociology and psychology). It supports browsing and full-text searching. Includes the Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, and major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax.

  • Includes full text
  • Blackwell synergy. See: Wiley Interscience (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • Business and Economics research databases (connect | more information)

    The Monash University Faculty of Business and Economics annotated list of selected research databases. It includes, but is not limited to, resources subscribed to by the Faculty and which are limited to access in the Faculty by research students and staff. Each listing includes a description of the resource and contact details for obtaining further information.

    Business collection (connect | more information)

    Covers all broad business fields, including: accounting, career development, commercial law, commodities, corporate governance, e-business, economics, employment, human resources, labour, management, marketing, occupational health, taxation, and unions. The Business Collection provides access to full content from a range of journals, monographs and books, and reference materials published by a myriad of small Australasian academic and professional associations, interest groups and research centres.

  • Includes full text
  • Business review weekly, quarterly on CD ROM : BRW (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text

  • Coverage only available for 1992 to 1998

    BUSINESSnetBASE (connect | more information)

    An online collection of over 170 full-text monographs on business management, accounting, marketing and related areas from Routledge, Auerbach and other Taylor & Francis imprints.

  • Includes full text
  • CBCA business (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic database containing citations and selected abstracts for articles from up to 500 Canadian business journals, including trade journals, general business publications, academic journals, topical journals, and professional publications. Includes full text for selected titles.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    Company receivers and administrators (connect | more information)

    "Provides a practical insight into company receivership and insolvency practice and is the only service devoted exclusively to company receivership, deeds of company arrangement and voluntary administration ... The legislation is updated as changes occur with the online version providing an enhanced level of currency and contains all the features of the looseleaf version together with intuitive online functionality, real time law in force and references to case law linked to, eg, FirstPoint."--Thomson catalog.

  • Includes full text
  • CSI : consumer sciences index (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic database that indexes articles from published material on consumer economics and related fields. Source documents include journal literature published in Australia and overseas. Subject coverage is Australian and international, and includes consumer education, craft, family, fashion, food, health, home economics, teaching, housing, nutrition and textiles. Coverage: 1988 to 2001.

    Datastream (STANDALONE CD-ROM | more information)

    A worldwide financial database covering global securities pricing, company fundamentals, economics, and other historical time series data. It provides coverage of over 30,000 equities, including next day and historical data, stock market and bond indices, economic statistics, foreign exchange rates, interest rates, fixed income instruments and derivatives data and commodity prices.
    Location: Caulfield Library Information Desk
       Matheson Library Reference Standalone

    Dragonsource magazines and periodicals (connect | more information)

    Exclusive agency for all China's journals internationally, this Canada-based website offers subscription service to more than 800 titles spanning more than 40 subject areas. (Monash University library has access to a subset of 200 titles only). Available are the most widely read Chinese-language magazines, with titles covering topics ranging from business and economics to family, fashion, entertainment, film and travel. The collection also includes academic journals and trade journals. All magazines are updated continuously to correspond with the print editions, and many have extensive backlists available.

  • Includes full text
  • EBSCOhost research databases (connect | more information)

    Provides access to full text and/or bibliographic databases to which Monash University Library currently subscribes. These databases index journals and other periodical sources in the fields of science, technology, economics and business.

  • Includes full text
  • ECONOMICSnetBASE (connect | more information)

    Offering up to 580 full text titles from Routledge, this database covers the broad areas of economics, business management and public administration.

  • Includes full text
  • EIU ViewsWire (connect | more information)

    The EIU ViewsWire is a web-based intelligence service from the Economist Intelligence Unit. It delivers analysis on key economic, political and business developments around the world. From within the Economist Group it uses material from the Economist itself, CFO Magazine and the Journal of Commerce, the Financial Times, the BBC Monitoring division, China Online and the OECD, among others. Offering in-depth coverage of 195 countries, EIU ViewsWire delivers decision support for doing business in fast-changing world markets, highlighting up to 250 important economic, political and market developments around the world and provides concise analytical briefings on their implications for business.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    Electronic journals and newspapers on Africa (connect | more information)

    An annotated archive of links to African Studies Electronic Journals and Newspapers. Columbia University's collection of African Studies Internet Resources is an on-going compilation of electronic bibliographic resources and research materials on Africa available on the global Internet, created under the purview of the African Studies Department of Columbia University Libraries.

  • Includes full text
  • Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)

    Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals.

  • Includes full text

  • This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above.
    Also available: Library online tutorials

    Global Market Information Database (connect | more information)

    Global Market Information Database is an online business information system providing business intelligence on countries, consumers and industries. It offers integrated access to statistics, market reports, company profiles and information sources. Intelligence on countries includes over 1 million demographic, economic and marketing statistics, analysis of key political and economic indicators, historical trends and forecasts and is researched from thousands of official sources. Intelligence on consumers includes detailed income, expenditure and lifestyle statistics, analysis of consumer lifestyle trends and is researched from household surveys, census trends and other official sources. Intelligence on industries includes global, regional and national market research reports, company profiles, market shares and brand shares, market size data for hundreds of consumer products and is researched by Euromonitor International's network of researchers.

  • Includes full text
  • IBIS World (connect | more information)

    Detailed analyses of selected Australian industries, covering major players, industry performance and outlook, market characteristics, industry participants and recent news articles. Reports updated at least annually, and in some cases quarterly. Only selected reports are available in full (as "Opened Items").

  • Includes full text

  • Monash students and staff only
    Please note that you may be asked for a password when using this database.
    Note: Only the reports listed under "Opened Items" are available.
    Do not click the Request button as no action is taken on requested or pending reports.

    Informaworld : journals (connect | more information)

    The specialist publications of Taylor & Francis, Routledge, Psychology Press and Informa Healthcare are now available in one dedicated journals database.

  • Includes full text
  • Informit e-library : humanities & social sciences collection (connect | more information)

    Informit e-Library - Humanities & Social Sciences Collection provides access to the full content from a range of journals, monographs and books, conference proceedings, research papers and reference materials. It focuses on Australian and Asia-Pacific information. Subjects covered include Arts and Entertainment, Culture and Politics, Education and Research, Indigenous Peoples and Science and Technology.

  • Includes full text
  • IngentaConnect (connect | more information)

    Online service providing full text access to journals covering all subject disciplines from scholarly, academic and business publishers.

  • Includes full text
  • Intute (connect | more information)

    From the Intute homepage: "Intute is a free online service providing you with access to the very best Web resources for education and research. The service is created by a network of UK universities and partners. Subject specialists select and evaluate the websites in our database and write high quality descriptions of the resources."

    Legal scholarship network (connect | more information)

    A free database of over 35,000 abstracts and 18,000 working papers in law, economics, and finance, in 61 different subject areas, available on the Social Science Research Network site. Search for papers by author and title or abstract keywords.

  • Includes full text
  • Open J-gate : 3000+ open access journals (connect | more information)

    Open J-Gate is an electronic gateway to global journal literature in open access domain. It provides seamless access to millions of journal articles available online. It indexes articles from 3000+ open access journals, with links to full text at publisher sites.

  • Includes full text
  • ProjectMANAGEMENTnetBASE (connect | more information)

    Searchable database providing the tools needed to guarantee projects delivered on time with a strong return on investment. This library contains the work of experts who discuss preferred software packages and models, as well as give succinct step-by-step advice on how to maximize talent, processes, and resources to produce a positive bottom line.

  • Includes full text
  • ProQuest (connect | more information)

    Proquest is a leading electronic database providing indexing and abstracting of over 7,000 scholarly and general interest publications. It includes full text or full image coverage of more than 3,000 of these publications. It provides access to the combined information from a number of leading online databases which cover subjects including: business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, medicine, and religion.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    ProQuest Asian business and reference (connect | more information)

    ProQuest Asian Business and Reference offers detailed information on companies, economies, markets, and overall business conditions throughout the Eastern Hemisphere from over 270 journals. A great deal of information on international trade is available as well. Covers Asian business and financial information from key international publications including Far Eastern Economic Review, Asiaweek, and many more. Includes full text for selected journals.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    ProQuest European business (connect | more information)

    Indexing and abstracting database that provides access to more than 120 journals (predominantly European) covering business, management, trade and finance. Includes full text for selected journals.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    PublicADMINISTRATIONnetBASE (connect | more information)

    Covers such topics as: business information systems, customer relationship management (CRM), facilities management, finance and investing, healthcare management, human resources and training, library and information science, project management, quality and standards, security management and supply chain management (SCM).

  • Includes full text
  • SA ePublications (connect | more information)

    A comprehensive, searchable collection of full-text electronic South African journals. Journals are bundled together according to the following areas of interest: business & finance, and social sciences & humanties. The SA ePublications service offers access to full-text versions of articles that are exact copies of the printed versions. It offers contents pages of full-text articles and abstracts and the availability of an archive.

  • Includes full text
  • Social Science Research Network (connect | more information)

    Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is a world wide collaborative composed of a number of specialized research networks, including accounting, law, economics, accounting, and finance. The SSRN eLibrary consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 160,300 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 127,400 downloadable full text documents in Adobe Acrobat pdf format. The eLibrary also includes the research papers of a number of Fee Based Partner Publications. -- Home page, viewed September 18, 2007.

  • Includes full text
  • TVNews (connect | more information)

    TVNews indexes Australian television news, current affairs and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks with links to the digitised video content in a compressed format. All individual stories from a particular broadcast are indexed with a detailed synopsis. TVNews enables the searching, browsing, tracking and alerting of television events/items and programs. It is updated daily, with stories appearing on an evening news broadcast generally being available for access the next morning. Selected items/programs can be downloaded to the desktop in compressed format. Items range from under 30 seconds for short stories, to an hour for documentaries.

    Web magazineplus (connect | more information)

    Indexes over 8,500 journals, faculty papers and annual reports of academic institutions published in Japan. Areas covered include medicine, science, humanities, popular culture, business and social sciences. Updated weekly.

    Wiley InterScience (connect | more information)

    A searchable database providing full text access to journals, books, reference works, databases and current protocols published by Wiley. Searching across multiple publications and browsing within specific publications is possible. Subject areas which can be browsed include: business, chemistry, computer science, earth and environmental science, education, engineering, law, life sciences, mathematics and statistics, medicine and healthcare, physics and astronomy, polymers and materials science, psychology and, social sciences.

  • Includes full text
  • World insurance sigma (connect | more information)

    Sigma world insurance data covers 93 countries and 17 regional aggregates around the globe, and includes direct premiums of life and non-life business in USD and local currency, real growth rates, premiums per capita in USD and premiums as a % of GDP.

  • Includes full text
  • World Scientific eBooks (connect | more information)

    World Scientific eBooks are electronic versions of World Scientific print titles. All subject areas that World Scientific actively publishes in are available in eBook format. Covers 16 different subject areas, concentrating on STM titles - Asian Studies, Business and Management, Chemistry, Computer Science, Economics and Finance, Engineering, Environmental Science, General Interest, Healthcare, Life Sciences, Materials Science, Mathematics, Medicine and Healthcare, Nanotechnology and Nanoscience, Nonlinear Science, Physics and Social Sciences.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: The Library has not bought access to all of the electronic books listed here. If you are denied access to the full text of any book here and want the Library to subscribe, please complete a Purchase suggestion form and we will consider your request.

     

    Need help? Library frequently asked questions and online enquiries: current students/staff | public users, online chat, or phone +61 3 9905 5054
    Something to say? Use our online enquiry service to send us your feedback and suggestions: current students/staff | public users

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    See also
    Accessing databases