Skip to content | Change text size

Civil engineering

Key resources

Compendex (connect | more information)

Compendex is a comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database. It provides access to citations and abstracts from over 5,000 engineering journal titles, conference proceedings and technical reports dating from 1884. It is updated weekly and features include saved searches and email alerts. Apart from major engineering fields, subject areas covered include bioengineering, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, nuclear technology, aerospace and automotive engineering and transportation. Indexing started in 1884.

Engineering village (connect | more information)

This online service provides access to bibliographic databases within the scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines to which Monash University Library subscribes. These databases include: Compendex, EI Backfile, Inspec, NTIS, Referex Engineering, Patents, GEOBASE, GeoRef and CRC ENGnetBASE. Source documents comprise journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, dissertations, patents and books published from around the world.

  • Includes full text
  •  


    Other resources

    AccessEngineering (connect | more information)

    AccessEngineering is a redesign of the premiere online engineering resource, formerly known as McGraw-Hill's Digital Engineering Library. AccessEngineering features content from a broad range of must-have McGraw-Hill engineering publications, including the latest editions of classics such as Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers. A selection of more than 250 engineering books is available. Focused around 14 major areas of engineering, AccessEngineering features a new taxonomy book view offering comprehensive coverage and faster title-by-title access to the engineering collection in the following subject areas: Biomedical - Chemical - Civil - Communications - Construction - Electrical - Energy - Environmental - Green/Sustainable - Industrial - Material Science - Mechanical - Nanotechnology - Optical. In addition, the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Engineering is embedded on all search pages.

  • Includes full text
  • Agriculture and natural resources index : ANR-Index (connect | more information)

    ANR-Index, an Australian government initiative produced by Infoscan, is a bibliographic database with informative abstracts and links to full text for agriculture and natural resources including sustainable Australian agriculture, food, forestry and fisheries industries and the promotion of conservation and sustainable use of Australia's environment, water and natural resources. Search in conjunction with ANR-Index archive for a comprehensive search.

    Agriculture and natural resources index archive : ANR-index archive (connect | more information)

    ANR-Index Archive (formerly ABOA and Streamline), produced by Infoscan, is a bibliographic database of older publications on agriculture and natural resources including sustainable Australian agriculture, food, forestry and fisheries industries and the promotion of conservation and sustainable use of Australia's environment, water and natural resources. Search in conjunction with ANR-Index for a comprehensive search. Coverage: 1975 to 2000.

    Australian architecture database]: ARCH (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from material held by the Stanton Library, North Sydney Council. Source documents include journal articles, exhibition reviews, editorials, conference proceedings, news items, project articles and award features. Subject coverage includes architects, architecture, building, interior design and landscape architecture.

    Australian nuclear science & technology information : ANSTI (connect | more information)

    ANSTI provides access to over 34,000 bibliographical references (most with abstracts) to Australian scientific and technical literature covering the broad spectrum of nuclear science research and development, with special emphasis on its peaceful applications and the economic and environmental aspects of non-nuclear energy. It indexes all relevant Australian publications and all relevant Australian authored material including non-published material from 1970.

    Australian rainfall and runoff : a guide to flood estimation. Vol. 1 (connect | more information)

    Australian Rainfall and Runoff (repr. ed., 1998) is produced by the National Committee on Hydrology and Water Resources to provide Australian designers with the best available information on design flood estimation. It is intended to be an authoritative guide to practice for designers.

  • Includes full text

  • Off campus: Not available
    If a pop-up message appears, click OK and wait until the link is established.
    View detailed instructions for further help.

    Australian Standards. See: Standards on-line premium (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • Australian transport index : ATRI (connect | more information)

    A bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts more than 134,000 articles from published and unpublished Australian material on transport, incorporating Australian Road Research Board Transport Research and Austroads publications from 1976. It provides comprehensive coverage of Australian and New Zealand publications, selective indexing of overseas material including conference papers and also include selected catalogue records from some libraries specialising in transport. Subject coverage includes all aspects of road design and engineering, traffic engineering and control, transport planning, vehicle design and safety, and road safety. Documents indexed include all ARRB Transport Research and Austroads publications. Coverage of other Australian and New Zealand publications is comprehensive, and overseas publications are indexed more selectively.

    Aviation accident database & synopses (connect | more information)

    This searchable database contains information about civil aviation accidents and selected incidents within the United States, its territories and possessions, and in international waters. Generally, a preliminary report is available within a few days of an accident. Factual information is added when available, and when the investigation is completed, the preliminary report is replaced by a final description of the accident and its probable cause. Full narrative descriptions may not be available before 1993. The database can be searched by date, location, type of aircraft, airline, etc.

    BUILD (connect | more information)

    BUILD indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on worldwide information in the building, construction and engineering fields from 1989 to February 2002. Source documents include conference papers, journal articles, standards, building regulations, technical papers, reports and books. Subject coverage includes all aspects of building, construction and engineering, structural engineering, building regulations, urban and regional planning and fire technology. Aspects of economics, administration and management, and information technology related to building and construction are also included. Coverage: 1989 to 2002.

    Building code of Australia (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text

  • Monash students and staff only.
    Licence restrictions: 9 simultaneous users only. It is very important that you "Logout" after a session.

    CivilEngineeringnetBASE (connect | more information)

    A database of over 122 full text civil engineering handbooks and reference titles.

  • Includes full text
  • Current contents connect (connect | more information)

    A current awareness research database that provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic citations from current issues of the world's leading scholarly research journals covering all disciplines including the sciences, social sciences, technology, the arts and the humanities. Selected abstracts and records for more than 3,600 web sites that have been selected by editors at ISI for their relevance and quality are also included. A facility is available to save searches and set up a personal email alerting service.

    EDGE (connect | more information)

    Australian index to journals dealing with management, environmental packaging and building topics.

    ENGINE : Australian engineering database (connect | more information)

    ENGINE, produced by the Institution of Engineers, Australia indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on Australian engineering and in particular the publications of the Institution since 1980. It provides access to conference papers, journal articles, books, news articles and unpublished papers. It covers all branches of engineering including aerospace, biomedical, geotechnical, ocean and military.

    ENGnetBASE (connect | more information)

    ENGnetBASE is a database containing the full-text of all engineering handbooks published by CRC Press in electronic format. The titles cover a wide range of engineering disciplines, as well as some computer science and physical science areas.

  • Includes full text
  • Environmental sciences and pollution management (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database indexes and abstracts literature in the field of environmental sciences. Source documents include scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, books and government publications. Major areas of subject coverage include: agricultural biotechnology; air quality; aquatic pollution; bacteriology; ecology; energy resources; environmental biotechnology; environmental engineering; environmental impact statements (United States); hazardous waste; industrial hygiene; microbiology related to industrial & environmental issues; land, air, water, noise, solid waste and radioactive pollution; risk assessment; safety science; toxicology & toxic emissions; waste management; and, water resource issues.

    GeoRef (connect | more information)

    The GeoRef database, established by the American Geological Institute in 1966, provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef is the most comprehensive database in the geosciences and continues to grow by more than 90,000 references a year. The database contains over 2.9 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.

    Informit e-library : engineering collection (connect | more information)

    Informit e-Library - Engineering Collectio provides access to full content from a range of journal articles, conference papers, working papers and other grey literature sourced from the Engineers Australia library collection and is produced in collaboration with Engineers Australia. It covers all broad engineering fields, including Civil engineering, Engineering of railroads & roads, Mining & related operations, and Sanitary & municipal engineering as well as specialist engineering areas.

  • Includes full text
  • Institution of Civil Engineers' virtual library (connect | more information)

    Large repository of over 20,000 full text civil engineering papers. Includes searchable archive of technical papers from 1836 to the present. 26 civil engineering journals are indexed.

  • Includes full text
  • Knovel library (connect | more information)

    Knovel's Library provides access to over 800 reference works, handbooks and databases. The content covers subject areas in the fields of Chemistry and the Life Sciences; Materials; and Engineering. The collection is continually expanding. Sourced from major Sci-tech publishers including John Wiley & Sons, McGraw-Hill and Elsevier, the data is enhanced with time-saving analytical tools to help analyze and manipulate the data.

  • Includes full text

  • List of full text titles available

    ProQuest dissertations & theses (connect | more information)

    ProQuest Dissertations & Theses includes citations, abstracts and reviews of mostly US Masters and PhD theses. It is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. PQDT - Full Text includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. More than 60,000 new full text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637.
    Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    Referex engineering (connect | more information)

    Referex Engineering is a searchable database providing access to the full text of over 1,600 engineering books, including handbooks, reference books, academic or scholarly books, how-to-guides and titles focussed on technique and practice, as well as specialised professional information.

  • Includes full text
  • Scitation (connect | more information)

    Provides access to abstracts and to selective full text of journals published and distributed by the American Institute of Physics and its member societies as well as American Society of Civil Engineers journals. Subject coverage includes physics, astronomy, electronics, engineering, and materials science.

  • Includes full text
  • Scopus (connect | more information)

    Abstracting and indexing database of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature. Includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records and quality web sources. Seamless links to full text sources where the library holds a subscription.

  • Includes full text
  • Standards : on-line premium (connect | more information)

    Allows searching of the complete databases of Australian Standards (over 7,700 standards) as well as ISO (International Organization for Standardization); IEC (International Electrotechnical Commission); ETSI (European Telecommunications Standards Institute); and English language DIN (Deutsches Institut fu¿¿r Normung) and JIS (Japanese Industrial Standards Committee) standards (over 34,000); excluding ISO and IEC draft standards. The full text of most Australian Standards may be viewed (exceptions being some handbooks, documents where the copyright is shared or drafts which are "clones" of other non-Australian standards), saved to file or printed.

  • Includes full text

  • Monash students and staff only
    Licence restrictions: 3 simultaneous users only. It is very important that you "Logout" after a session.
    If the screen says that you have logged out when you begin, choose a search option from the menu on the left. Additional users may be allowed as "guest access" to search, but will not be able to print standards. Please try again later if that occurs.
    Please note:
    - The Online Subscription Service does not include fulltext online access to all ISO Standards, IEC Standards, ETSI Standards, JIS Standards (as they are not part of the subscription) and some Australian Standards and Handbooks (where Standards Australia does not own the copyright).
    - Standards downloaded to your PC will expire after 48 hours. However, they may still be accessed on-line.

    STREAMLINE : Australia's natural resources database (connect | more information)

    Streamline is an Australian database providing access to information on all aspects of natural resource management including the sustainable management of land resources, vegetation resources and water resources, urban water and waste water and irrigation systems. It indexes both Australian and international journal articles, published and unpublished reports, books, monograph chapters and conference papers, but the information must be written by an Australian or be about Australia. Coverage: 1982 to 2004.

    TRANSPORT (connect | more information)

    This is an indexing and abstracting worldwide database covering research in transportation systems and their components: highway, traffic, transport, road safety, intermodal transport, transport economics, transport policy and the social sciences of transportation. Includes citations and abstracts for research reports, books, articles from journals and reviews, theses, standards and specifications, conference proceedings and summaries of research in progress.
    Restricted to 4 simultaneous users.
    See also:
    Transport 2003-2008
    Transport 1988-2002
    Transport Pre-1988
    On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

    TRIS online (connect | more information)

    The TRIS Online database contains over half a million records of published transportation research including technical reports, books, conference proceedings and journal articles. Currently there are almost 24,000 TRIS records with links to electronic copies of the full-text. The time span covers literature from the 1960s to the present, with some coverage of prior years. Highway Research Board publications are covered back to 1923. TRIS coverage includes the disciplines of planning, finance, design and construction, materials, environmental issues, safety and human factors and operations for the modes of highways, transit, railroads, maritime and aviation.

  • Includes full text
  • VPI&E catalogue (connect | more information)

    Victorian Primary Industries and Environment (Library) Catalogue (VPI&E Catalogue), produced by the Knowledge and Information Branch of the Victorian Department of Primary Industries, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts books, reports, theses, video recordings, maps, manuscripts and pictorial matter in the Knowledge Resource Centre at Werribee and small regional collections of the Department of Primary Industries and the Department of Sustainability and Environment. Includes some historical materials from 1853. The libraries hold specialist collections in ecology, conservation, forestry, national parks, soil conservation, botany, horticulture, land use and management, water management, pest plant and animal control, geology, aquaculture, fisheries, and marine studies.

    WATERnetBASE (connect | more information)

    WATERnetBASE offers a complete resource for environmentalists, agriculturists, and engineers, including the methods, data, and innovations critical to understanding and advancing new directions in water science and engineering.

  • Includes full text
  • Web of science (connect | more information)

    Web of Science provides access to journal citations, selected abstracts and cited references contained in three separate ISI citation databases: Science citation index expanded (SCI-Expanded); Social sciences citation index (SSCI); and, Arts & humanities citation index (A&HCI). Also added in 2008: Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S)--1990-present, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)--1990-present. Citation databases are used to follow a line of research from a known older key piece of work (book, journal article, unpublished work, etc) to more recent research by searching the reference lists of recent journal articles. Although not its primary strength, Web of Science could be useful for cross disciplinary searching.

     

    Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat.
    Your opinion Feedback form for Monash staff and students | Feedback form for visitors

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    See also
    New electronic resources on trial
    Provide your feedback:
    Trial databases
    Accessing databases