Skip to content | Change text size

Classics

Key resources

Annee philologique (connect | more information)

A database published by the Socieżżteżż Internationale de Bibliographie Classique, under the direction of Eżżric Rebillard, with the American Philological Association. Contains 600,000 bibliographic records for the years 1949 to 2004, with 12,500 new records added each year.The international offices analyze 1,500 periodicals each year as well as 500 articles in collections and conference papers. Multiple possibilities for searching are available: by modern authors, by full text, by ancient authors and texts, by subjects and disciplines through a multilevel index showing the different levels of classification by word(s) in the title, by publisher, by collection or by periodical.

  • Includes full text
  • Brill online (connect | more information)

    Brings together major online reference works from respected academic publisher, Brill, under one platform, with the ability to cross-search multiple titles.

  • Includes full text
  • Project Muse (connect | more information)

    Database provides full-text online access to journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press and some other university presses in the disciplines of arts, humanities and social sciences.

  • Includes full text
  •  


    Other resources

    APIS : advanced papyrological information system (connect | more information)

    "APIS links together in a single environment various sources of information about texts written on papyrus and the society that produced them. It contains descriptions of the papyri and other written materials in the collections of the participating institutions, digital images of many of these texts, and connections to databases with the texts themselves in their original languages and with bibliography about the texts"--About the Project.

  • Includes full text
  • Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)

    Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals.

  • Includes full text

  • Also available: Library online tutorials

    Periodicals archive online (connect | more information)

    Index to scholarly journal articles in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, including some published as far back as 1770. Includes periodicals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages. Provides links to scanned articles, in PDF format, which are growing steadily in number.

  • Includes full text
  • Web of science (connect | more information)

    Web of Science provides access to journal citations, selected abstracts and cited references contained in three separate ISI citation databases: Science citation index expanded (SCI-Expanded); Social sciences citation index (SSCI); and, Arts & humanities citation index (A&HCI). Also added in 2008: Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S)--1990-present, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)--1990-present. Citation databases are used to follow a line of research from a known older key piece of work (book, journal article, unpublished work, etc) to more recent research by searching the reference lists of recent journal articles. Although not its primary strength, Web of Science could be useful for cross disciplinary searching.

     

    Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat.
    Your opinion Feedback form for Monash staff and students | Feedback form for visitors

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    New electronic resources on trial
    Provide your feedback:
    Trial databases
    Accessing databases