| Library home | Catalogue | Resources | Services | Help | Libraries | About us |
| Staff directory | A-Z index | Site map |
CriminologyKey resourcesAGIS Plus Text (connect | more information)AGIS Plus Text is an indexing and full text database that provides Internet access to the scanned images of journal articles from published material on all aspects of law. Source documents include Australian, New Zealand and Pacific law journals, and selected articles from major law journals from the United States, Canada and the United Kingdom. Subject coverage includes all aspects of law including administrative law, banking, companies and securities, constitutional law, copyright law, criminal law, environmental law, family law, human rights, international law, legal aid, and trade practices. Over 400 titles are indexed. See also: AGIS : Attorney-General's information service | CaseBase CINCH : Australian criminology database (connect | more information)This bibliographic database indexes and abstracts articles from primarily Australian published and unpublished material on all aspects of crime, criminal justice and criminology. Subject coverage includes all aspects of crime and criminal justice including corrections, crime, crime prevention, criminal law, criminology, juvenile justice, law enforcement, police and victims of crime. Criminal justice abstracts (connect | more information)Indexes and abstracts international journals, books, reports, dissertations, and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines. Areas covered include trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment, and sentencing.
Other resourcesAFPD : Australian Federal Police digest (connect | more information)
Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished materials on policing, criminology and related fields. Source documents include selected Australian and overseas journals, conference papers, and book chapters.
APAIS : Australian public affairs information service (connect | more information)
Bibliographic database that indexes published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
Australian Public Affairs - Full Text (connect | more information)Indexing and full text database that provides access to published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences. See also: APAIS : Australian public affairs information service Campbell Collaboration (connect | more information)The Campbell Collaboration (C2) helps people make well-informed decisions by preparing, maintaining and disseminating systematic reviews in education, crime and justice, and social welfare. The Campbell Collaboration is an international research network that produces systematic reviews of the effects of social interventions. Through its reviews and annual Colloquiums, the Collaboration strives to make the best social science research available and accessible. CaseBase (connect | more information)CaseBase is a citator and annotator of cases from over 60 Australian and overseas report series and the unreported decisions of the High Court, the Federal Court and the Supreme Courts of all Australian states and territories and other selected jurisdictions. It provides a guide as to whether a case has been followed, distinguished or overruled by later judgments with coloured signals to flag positive, negative, or cautionary treatment. Journal articles that comment on the case are included. Alternative off campus access CINCH : health (connect | more information)This bibliographic database is a subset of CINCH, the Australian criminology database that indexes and abstracts material from published and unpublished material on all aspects of crime and criminal justice. Source documents include Australian material from journal articles, monographs, monograph chapters and conference papers. Subject coverage includes mental health, medical and medicolegal issues, drugs and alcohol, suicide, HIV/AIDS, prison health, euthanasia, and occupational health and safety. CINCH-ATSIS (connect | more information)The CINCH-ATSIS database is a subset of CINCH that contains records that specifically relate to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples in the justice system. Criminology : a SAGE full-text collection (connect | more information)Includes the full-text of 23 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 23 years, encompassing over 5,500 articles. It covers such subjects as criminal justice, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, corrections, penology, policing, forensic psychology, and family and domestic violence. The searchable database consists of bibliographic records (indexed summaries or abstracts) as well as the complete text of each journal article. Every bibliographic record in the Collection links to the appropriate full-text in PDF format. CSA Illumina (connect | more information)This Internet service provides access to databases covering all subject disciplines. Monash University Library currently subscribes to 17 databases in the following fields: humanities, environmental sciences, art, pharmacy, language and linguistics, education, library science, criminology, political science, and sociology. Current contents connect (connect | more information)A current awareness research database that provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic citations from current issues of the world's leading scholarly research journals covering all disciplines including the sciences, social sciences, technology, the arts and the humanities. Selected abstracts and records for more than 3,600 web sites that have been selected by editors at ISI for their relevance and quality are also included. A facility is available to save searches and set up a personal email alerting service. eLibrary Australasia (connect | more information)eLibrary Australasia is a dedicated Australasian version of eLibrary featuring the news, reference and multimedia included within eLibrary, plus a further 150+ Australian and New Zealand newspaper titles. Titles include Australian newspapers such as The Australian, The Age, and The Sydney Morning Herald. New Zealand titles include The Christchurch Press and The Dominion Post. Also featured are Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC) transcripts and Australian Associated Press (AAP) newswires. Contains more than 2,000 full-text magazines, newspapers, books, and transcripts--plus thousands of maps, pictures, educator-approved websites from Homework Central, and audio/video files. Encyclopedia of crime and justice (connect | more information)This interdisciplinary resource covers legal, sociological, psychological, historical and economic aspects of crime and justice worldwide. Entries cover civil and criminal issues, from domestic violence to terrorism. Entries cite pertinent legal cases as well as publications for further information. Also includes a glossary of related terms. Encyclopedia of espionage, intelligence, and security (connect | more information)Provides a comprehensive, subject specific guide to the history, uses, scientific principles, and technologies of espionage, intelligence, and security, with special emphasis placed on the current ethical, legal, and social issues surrounding this very topical subject. Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals. Also available: Library online tutorials Factiva (connect | more information)Factiva provides access to full text coverage of major Australian newspapers (including The Age, The Sydney Morning Herald and The Australian), as well as global newspapers and news wires. Coverage for The Australian, Financial Review and BRW is from 2007, with abstracts only. Factiva also includes company profiles and financial information for listed companies worldwide, and historical financial market data. This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above. Monash students and staff only Note: If you see this message: "The user ID and password you have entered are already in use. Please try again later or click on the Having trouble logging in link next to the login button of your product for assistance. (Error:131005)" it means that Monash has used up all available licences. It does NOT relate to your Authcate password. Please try again later. FirstPoint (connect | more information)FirstPoint provides access to case references, citation, history, and digest information for Australian cases since 1825. All case material is classified to a detailed classification scheme, which can be browsed or searched to locate cases on legal topics. Information is sourced from the Australian Case Citator, Australian Digest and Australian Legal Monthly Digest (published by Lawbook Co.). See also CaseBase. FORENSICnetBASE : LawENFORCEMENTnetBASE (connect | more information)Searchable database of essential forensic science and law enforcement reference texts. IBSS : international bibliography of the social sciences (connect | more information)The International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) is an online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research. Incorporating over 100 languages and countries, IBSS includes nearly two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters. Over 2,700 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books included each year. Abstracts are provided for half of all current journal articles and full text availability is continually increasing. Index to legal periodicals (connect | more information)Indexes legal journals, books, book reviews, yearbooks, institute and bar association organs, law reviews, and government publications originating in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand. It includes thorough coverage of American law journals and selective coverage of law journals from the other jurisdictions. Informit e-library : humanities & social sciences collection (connect | more information)Informit e-Library - Humanities & Social Sciences Collection provides access to the full content from a range of journals, monographs and books, conference proceedings, research papers and reference materials. It focuses on Australian and Asia-Pacific information. Subjects covered include Arts and Entertainment, Culture and Politics, Education and Research, Indigenous Peoples and Science and Technology. LegalTrac (connect | more information)A major bibliographic database that indexes and selectively abstracts articles from law reviews and, speciality law and bar association journals and legal newspapers on cases studies, government regulations, practice of law, statutes, and legal subjects such as taxation and international law. It also covers law related articles for approximately 1000 additional business and general interest titles. Some full text articles are included. Geographical coverage includes the U.S. Canada, U.K. and Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above. See also: Legal Resource Index on Lexis.com LexisNexis : total research system (connect | more information)LexisNexis is an international online legal research tool providing full-text access to case law, statutes, administrative materials, annotated reports, law reviews, current affairs, etc. from the United States, United Kingdom, Canada, Europe, Australia, and many other jurisdictions around the world. (Not the first choice for Australian legislation or case law.) Online help: In order to effectively use the system JavaScript and cookies must be enabled. Please see Minimum System Requirements if you are having problems using LexisNexis with IE6. Note: Individual passwords to customise the lexis.com interface are still available for Law Faculty and Business Law & Tax staff if desired. Click here to use your password or email Law Library staff for help. Onati International Institute for the Sociology of Law : bibliographic databases : online catalogues (connect | more information)Access is provided to two separate bibliographic databases specialising in the sociology of law and other related subjects such as the sociology of legal professions, family sociology, sociology of criminality and its control, police, prisons, administration of justice, human rights, marginalisation and public policy. The majority of documents are in English with others in Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, French, German, etc. Citations included cover books, series, journal articles and unpublished material. Oxford reports on international criminal law (connect | more information)"ICL focuses on decisions from a range of international criminal courts and tribunals, and at launch will cover decisions from the four main international criminal tribunals: International Criminal Court, International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda, International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia and Special Court for Sierra Leone. ICL also includes decisions from post-WWII military tribunals such as the International Military Tribunal at Nuremberg and the follow-up trials held under Control Council Law No 10. ICL will cover all decisions from these courts which contain anything of jurisprudential importance. Interlocutory decisions which do not contain any point of law (whether that point is substantive, evidential or procedural) are excluded."-- Publisher description. PAIS archive (connect | more information)PAIS Archive includes references to more than 700,000 journal articles, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, and other English-language materials from around the world, originally published in the PAIS Bulletin, (v.1-62, 1915-1976). PAIS international (connect | more information)This worldwide bibliographic database indexes and abstracts literature covering the full range of political, social and public policy issues. It includes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche and Internet material. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. Periodicals archive online (connect | more information)Index to scholarly journal articles in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, including some published as far back as 1770. Includes periodicals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages. Provides links to scanned articles, in PDF format, which are growing steadily in number. Proceedings of the Old Bailey : London's Central Criminal Court, 1674 to 1913 (connect | more information)"A fully searchable online edition of the largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published, containing accounts of over 100,000 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court."--Homepage. ProQuest (connect | more information)Proquest is a leading electronic database providing indexing and abstracting of over 7,000 scholarly and general interest publications. It includes full text or full image coverage of more than 3,000 of these publications. It provides access to the combined information from a number of leading online databases which cover subjects including: business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, medicine, and religion. Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link Sage journals online : with access to Sage full text collections (connect | more information)The SAGE Full-Text Collections are discipline-specific research databases of the most popular peer-reviewed journals in [various fields], published by SAGE Publications and participating societies. Includes abstracts and table of contents of all Sage published journals. Also provides full text access to subscribed titles. Monash University Library has full text access to the following collections: 1. Communication Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1955 - current -- 2. Criminology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1955 - current -- 3. Education: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1926 - current -- 4. Political Science: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1912 - current -- 5. Psychology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1944 - current -- 6. Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1952 - current . Social services abstracts (connect | more information)This bibliographic database abstracts and indexes over 1,600 serials publications covering current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Major topics covered include: community and mental health services, crisis intervention, the family and social welfare, gerentology, poverty and homelessness, professional issues in social work, social and health policy, social services in addiction, social work education, social work practice, support groups/networks, violence, abuse, neglect and welfare services. Violence & abuse abstracts (connect | more information)"Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains 35,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline."--About the database. Web of science (connect | more information)Web of Science provides access to journal citations, selected abstracts and cited references contained in three separate ISI citation databases: Science citation index expanded (SCI-Expanded); Social sciences citation index (SSCI); and, Arts & humanities citation index (A&HCI). Also added in 2008: Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S)--1990-present, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)--1990-present. Citation databases are used to follow a line of research from a known older key piece of work (book, journal article, unpublished work, etc) to more recent research by searching the reference lists of recent journal articles. Although not its primary strength, Web of Science could be useful for cross disciplinary searching. Westlaw.Australia (connect | more information)Provides access to Australian and international sources of legal information. Australian information includes: Cases, Law Reports, Unreported Judgments, Commonwealth Legislation, Commonwealth Regulations, Corporations Law, Financial Services Law, Regulation and Compliance (APRA, ASIC, ASX, SFE, AUSTRAC, FICS, Treasury), News Sources (AFR, BRW, SMH, Dow Jones, APP News, Reuters etc) and Codes of Practice and Standards. Not the first choice for Australian legislation or case law. Online help: Alternative access to Westlaw is available if the link above does not work. Note: Individual passwords to customise the Westlaw interface are available for Law Faculty staff and Law HDR students if desired. Click here to use your password or email Law Library staff for help.
Need help? Library frequently asked questions and online
enquiries: current students/staff | public users, online chat,
or phone +61 3 9905 5054 |
|