Skip to content | Change text size

General Electronic Resources

Academic earth (connect | more information)

The site offers 60 full courses and 2,395 total lectures (almost 1300 hours of video) from Yale, MIT, Harvard, Stanford, UC Berkeley, and Princeton that can be browsed by subject, university, or instructor through a user-friendly interface. Additionally, editors have compiled lectures from different speakers into Playlists such as ¿¿¿Understanding the Financial Crisis¿¿¿ and ¿¿¿First Day Of Freshman Year.¿¿¿ The site also features a roster of famous guest lecturers on entrepreneurship and technology including Larry Page, Carol Bartz, Tim Draper, Elon Musk, and Guy Kawasaki. [Richard] Ludlow launched Academic Earth with the goal of building a user-friendly platform for educational video that would let anyone be able to freely access instruction from the scholars and guest lecturers at the leading academic universities.--Leena Rao, TechCrunch website.

Academic research library (connect | more information)

From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 3,820 title--over 2,550 in full text--from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    ADT : Australasian Digital Theses Program (connect | more information)

    ADT is a project dedicated to establishing a distributed database of digital versions of theses produced by postgraduate research students at Australian universities. The theses of member institutions are digitised and made available as part of the deposit process. A selected number of existing theses which are frequently requested are also digitised. Users may search the database or browse the theses by institution. The retrieval is enhanced by the inclusion of metadata tags in the documents.

  • Includes full text
  • Age and Good weekend quarterly on CD ROM (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text

  • Coverage only available for 1993 to 1999

    Amazon.com (connect | more information)

    Sales catalog including more than one million titles. Searchable by author, title, and subject keyword.

    Annual reviews (connect | more information)

    Provides full text access to journals in the biomedical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences.

  • Includes full text
  • APAIS : Australian public affairs information service (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic database that indexes published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
    See also: Australian Public Affairs - Full Text

    Austguide (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database indexes and selectively abstracts articles from more than 120 predominantly Australian periodicals of both general and educational interest. Film reviews are also included. Coverage: 1986 to 2006.

    Australian and New Zealand Books in Print : ANZBiP-Books in Print (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database provides booksellers and librarians with information about Australian and New Zealand books, series of books, and imprints. Information about publishers is listed in a separate file titled ANZBiP-Publishers.

    Australian Bureau of Statistics (connect | more information)

    The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) web site provides comprehensive access to over 270,000 pages of Australian statistical and reference information. There are statistics on the following themes: economy; environment and energy; industry; people; and regions. Included are statistical publications on agriculture, demography, finance, labour, manufacturing, national accounts, prices, service industries, social trends, trade and transport.

    Australian local government guide (connect | more information)

    Provides access to over 800 profiles of local councils and municipal authorities throughout Australia. Each entry includes contact information for councillors and senior officers, as well as information about local population, industry, expenditure, services and tourist features. Downloadable ready made lists in MS Excel format are available. Details in each list include: contact, title, address, website address and e-mail address.

    Australian Public Affairs - Full Text (connect | more information)

    Indexing and full text database that provides access to published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.

  • Includes full text

  • See also: APAIS : Australian public affairs information service

    Australian Standards. See: Standards on-line premium (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • Blackwell synergy. See: Wiley Interscience (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • British Library newspapers (connect | more information)

    This web site includes entries for over 52,000 newspaper and periodical titles from all over the world, dating from the 17th to the 21st century. The collections of the British Library Newspaper Library include: all UK national daily and Sunday newspapers from 1801 to the present; most UK and Irish provincial newspapers, some from the early 18th century onwards; selected newspapers from around the world in western and Slavonic languages, including extensive holdings from Commonwealth countries; and a wide range of UK and Irish popular periodicals, mainly weekly and fortnightly publications as well as some published less frequently, covering all subjects from fashion, pop music, and cinema, to sports, hobbies, and trades.

    Cambridge journals online (connect | more information)

    Provides full text access to over two hundred journals published by Cambridge University Press in the sciences, social sciences and humanities.

  • Includes full text
  • Citebase.eprints.org (connect | more information)

    Citebase is a prototype OAI harvester which provides users with the facility for searching across multiple archives, with results ranked according to many criteria, including citation impact with citation linking. Abstracts and some full records are also available. Citebase contains articles from physics, maths, information science, and (published only) biomedical papers.

  • Includes full text
  • Cities of the world (connect | more information)

    A compilation of current information on cultural, geographic, and political conditions in 193 countries and their cities covering six continents, based on the Department of State's Post Reports. Maps and photos of many cities included.

  • Includes full text
  • Conference papers index (connect | more information)

    This database provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, while older material also covers physics, engineering and materials science. Information is derived from final programs, abstracts booklets and published proceedings, as well as from questionnaire responses. Records include complete ordering information to obtain preprints, abstracts, proceedings and other publications derived from the conference, together with title and author information needed to track the specific papers. Major areas of subject coverage include: agriculture; biochemistry; chemistry; chemical engineering; forestry; biology; environmental science; soil science; biotechnology; and, clinical medicine.

    CSIRO journals (connect | more information)

    Full text access of CSIRO journals, produced in cooperation with several Australian and New Zealand scientific societies, present the latest research by leading Australian and overseas scientists. All journals are peer reviewed with international readership.

  • Includes full text
  • Current contents connect (connect | more information)

    A current awareness research database that provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic citations from current issues of the world's leading scholarly research journals covering all disciplines including the sciences, social sciences, technology, the arts and the humanities. Selected abstracts and records for more than 3,600 web sites that have been selected by editors at ISI for their relevance and quality are also included. A facility is available to save searches and set up a personal email alerting service.

    Directory of Australian associations live (connect | more information)

    Provides access to more than 5,500 entries of national and state associations, foundations, marketing bodies, institutes and committees. Also included are international associations with branches in Australia. Not included in this directory are most student organisations, local community and rate payer associations, social clubs, local church groups, very small labour unions and other similar groups. Hundreds of downloadable ready-made lists in MS Excel format are available with entries including fax numbers, e-mail addresses and membership figures.

    Directory of open access journals : DOAJ (connect | more information)

    Covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Aims to cover all subjects and languages.

  • Includes full text
  • Dragonsource magazines and periodicals (connect | more information)

    Exclusive agency for all China's journals internationally, this Canada-based website offers subscription service to more than 800 titles spanning more than 40 subject areas. (Monash University library has access to a subset of 200 titles only). Available are the most widely read Chinese-language magazines, with titles covering topics ranging from business and economics to family, fashion, entertainment, film and travel. The collection also includes academic journals and trade journals. All magazines are updated continuously to correspond with the print editions, and many have extensive backlists available.

  • Includes full text
  • Ebook library (connect | more information)

    Ebook library (EBL) is a searchable collection of ebooks, offering content across all subject areas, from major academic publishers worldwide. Publishers included are Taylor & Francis, Palgrave Macmillan, Cambridge University Press, Kluwer Academic, Springer, World Scientific and others. Ebooks can be viewed online or downloaded to a computer or PDA. EBL offers full-text search capability across the database.

  • Includes full text
  • ECO, Electronic collections online (connect | more information)

    A searchable database of a collection of journals covering all subject disciplines. Searching across multiple journals and browsing within journals is possible. Bibliographic information is available for all journal issues. Full text articles, including original text and image content, are available for journal titles included in the institution subscription.

  • Includes full text
  • Eighteenth century collections online (connect | more information)

    Eighteenth Century Collections Online delivers every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. It includes a variety of materials from books and directories, Bibles, sheet music and sermons to advertisements and works by many well-known and lesser-known authors, all providing a diverse collection of material for the researcher of the eighteenth century.

  • Includes full text
  • eLibrary Australasia (connect | more information)

    eLibrary Australasia is a dedicated Australasian version of eLibrary featuring the news, reference and multimedia included within eLibrary, plus a further 150+ Australian and New Zealand newspaper titles. Titles include Australian newspapers such as The Australian, The Age, and The Sydney Morning Herald. New Zealand titles include The Christchurch Press and The Dominion Post. Also featured are Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC) transcripts and Australian Associated Press (AAP) newswires. Contains more than 2,000 full-text magazines, newspapers, books, and transcripts--plus thousands of maps, pictures, educator-approved websites from Homework Central, and audio/video files.

  • Includes full text
  • Emerald (connect | more information)

    Database of mainly business, information technology and engineering journals with a European perspective. Full text articles available for most titles from mid 1990's.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Some journal articles are not available with the current Monash subscription.

    Encyclopaedia Britannica online (connect | more information)

    Contains the entire text of the 32 volume Encyclopaedia Britannica, Britannica Book of the Year, and the Merriam-Webster Collegiate Dictionary plus thousands of additional articles and images not available in the print set. Access is provided by natural language searching and browsable A-Z lists. An internet directory that includes more than 130,000 links to web sites selected, rated and reviewed by Britannica editors can also be searched. Additionally, multimedia-rich special interest features on such topics as the Nobel prizes and women in American history are presented.

  • Includes full text
  • EThOS : Beta : Electronic Theses Online System (connect | more information)

    EThOS makes UK theses (e and paper based) available via a 'one-stop-shop' by harvesting e-theses from institutional repositories and digitising paper theses on-demand from researchers. The British Library, in collaboration with many UK universities and other associations, aims to provide over 250,000 theses produced by the UK higher education system on an open access model to all researchers and others requiring information. Some theses are available for immediate download, while others can be requested from a participating institution which then sends the thesis to the British Library for digitisation.

  • Includes full text
  • EU bookshop digital library (connect | more information)

    EU Bookshop is an online service giving access to publications from the EU institutions, agencies and other bodies. Now the EU Bookshop Digital Library will provide access to 12 million scanned pages in more than 110,000 EU publications. Launched at the Frankfurt Book Fair on the 16 October [2009], it offers all publications edited by the Publications Office on behalf of the EU institutions, agencies and other bodies since 1952. Access the digital library by selecting the option ¿¿¿Digital Library¿¿¿ in the search pages.

  • Includes full text
  • Europa : gateway to the European Union (connect | more information)

    EUROPA is the portal site of the European Union. It provides up-to-date coverage of European Union affairs and essential information on European integration. Users can also consult all legislation currently in force or under discussion, access the websites of each of the EU institutions and find out about the policies administered by the European Union under the powers devolved to it by the Treaties. Provides information on EU initiatives, policies, institutions and services, access to selected documents of the EU including the Maastricht Treaty.

  • Includes full text
  • Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)

    Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals.

  • Includes full text

  • Also available: Library online tutorials

    Factiva (connect | more information)

    Factiva provides access to full text coverage of major Australian newspapers (including The Age, The Sydney Morning Herald and The Australian), as well as global newspapers and news wires. Coverage for The Australian, Financial Review and BRW is from 2007, with abstracts only. Factiva also includes company profiles and financial information for listed companies worldwide, and historical financial market data.

  • Includes full text

  • This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above. Monash students and staff only
    Note: If you see this message: "The user ID and password you have entered are already in use. Please try again later or click on the Having trouble logging in link next to the login button of your product for assistance. (Error:131005)" it means that Monash has used up all available licences. It does NOT relate to your Authcate password. Please try again later.

    FirstSearch (connect | more information)

    A suite of electronic reference databases (indexes and abstracts), including CWI (Contemporary Women's Issues - health and human rights), and WorldCat (OCLC - catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide).

  • Includes full text
  • Global books in print (connect | more information)

    Provides online searching of the American, Canadian and British Books in print family of databases simultaneously. Complete bibliographical citations of English-language books, audiobooks and videos are included, as well as selected reviews, information on award winners and bestsellers. Access to a comprehensive database of over 165,000 publishers, distributors, wholesalers and book agents is also available.

    Google scholar (connect | more information)

    Google Scholar uses the familiar Google search engine to search peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

  • Includes full text
  • HighWire Press (connect | more information)

    Host site for over 340 journals, mostly high-impact, peer-reviewed journals in the medical and biological sciences with some physical and social sciences titles. Access to many full text journals is available where Monash University Library has a subscription or after a period of 6, 12, or 24 months. Register for email alerts, a list of favourite journals or link to related articles in PubMed or the Web of Science.

  • Includes full text
  • Index to theses in Great Britain and Ireland (connect | more information)

    This searchable database consists of a comprehensive listing of theses accepted for higher degrees by universities in Great Britain and Ireland since 1716. Selected abstracts are provided for entries from 1970 to 1985. From 1986 almost all entries include abstracts.

    Informaworld : journals (connect | more information)

    The specialist publications of Taylor & Francis, Routledge, Psychology Press and Informa Healthcare are now available in one dedicated journals database.

  • Includes full text
  • Informit (connect | more information)

    Collection of online bibliographic databases, includes summaries/abstracts of journal articles on Australian political, economic, legal, social, aboriginal, health, family, technical and cultural affairs indexed in over 80 databases including APAIS, AIATSIS etc.

    IngentaConnect (connect | more information)

    Online service providing full text access to journals covering all subject disciplines from scholarly, academic and business publishers.

  • Includes full text
  • Internet archive (connect | more information)

    "The Internet Archive is a ... non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library, with the purpose of offering permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format. Founded in 1996 and located in the Presidio of San Francisco, the Archive has been receiving data donations from Alexa Internet and others. In late 1999, the organization started to grow to include more well-rounded collections. Now the Internet Archive includes texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages in our collections."--About the Internet Archive. Includes Wayback Machine for viewing web pages removed from the Internet, archives of images, sound files, music, texts.

    Jake : jointly administered knowledge environment (connect | more information)

    Jake is a reference source which indexes the journal contents lists of 195 online databases. It indicates whether journals and journal articles are available in full text or just as a citation, and in which databases they can be found. Jake can be searched by journal title, database, ISSN, or citation to a specific article using the journal details, volume, issue, page and year. A journal title abbreviation can also be searched to ascertain the full title of a journal.

    Journal citation reports. Science edition (connect | more information)

    This database is a resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from approximately 5,000 journals in the areas of science and technology worldwide. JCR ranks journals by the frequency by which they have been cited and by their half life period. Journals can be ranked within a specific subject area.

    Journal citation reports. Social sciences edition (connect | more information)

    This database is a resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from approximately 1,500 journals in the area of social sciences worldwide. JCR ranks journals by the frequency by which they have been cited and by their half life period. Journals can be ranked within a specific subject area.

    JSTOR : the scholarly journal archive (connect | more information)

    Intended as a comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature, built by over 1,700 worldwide participants, including major Australian universities. Coverage includes: the arts, sciences, business, ecology and botany, language and literature, and music, extending from 17th century in some cases.

  • Includes full text
  • Libraries Australia search [subscription service] (connect | more information)

    Libraries Australia is the search interface for Kinetica, an Internet-based service provided by the National Library of Australia. The service acts as a single gateway to a number of Australian and international databases which can be searched simultaneously. Specific databases include: National Bibliographic Database (over 13 million records for resources held in Australian libraries), Research Libraries Group Union Catalogue (over 138 million records for resources held in U.S. libraries), and Te Puna (records of resources held in New Zealand libraries), Australian Chinese Japanese Korean Database (1.44 million records), and Kinetica Authorities (1.6 million authority records). Links to resources include: Find a Library, Ask a Librarian, Australian Literature, Australian Law, Australian History, Australian Family History, Australian Science & Technology, Australian Government, Australian Statistics and Recent Australian Publications.

    Libraries Australia [free service] (connect | more information)

    The Libraries Australia free service is a version of Libraries Australia containing a subset of the ANBD and restricted functionality. It contains only ANBD records which have at least one holding or contain the Australian content indicator and ANBD and PictureAustralia as searchable databases. Features include the simple search interface, the ability to print and email records as text, access to the brief and full view of records, the ability to get items online, from libraries, Copies Direct and online booksellers and the ability to search for contact details for Australian libraries.

    Macquarie dictionary : Australia's national dictionary online (connect | more information)

    The Macquarie dictionary has been online since 2003 and is constantly updated with new words as they enter the Australian language. Searching may be confined to the Macquarie dictionary only, or combined with the thesaurus.

  • Includes full text
  • Macquarie thesaurus (connect | more information)

    The first thesaurus ever written to be based on the distinctly Australian use of English. It can be searched alone, or simultaneously with the Macquarie dictionary online.

  • Includes full text
  • Media guide live! (connect | more information)

    Provides access to more than 25,000 entries of Australia's leading media outlets, encompassing television and radio stations, newspapers, magazines, newsletters and press agencies. News features for up-to-date information on the latest media changes and statistics are also included. Directory entries include: interactive internet and e-mail links, telephone and fax numbers, executive staff, advertising rates, etc. Hundreds of downloadable ready-made lists in MS Excel format are available with entries including fax numbers, e-mail addresses and circulation figures.

    Mind : the meetings index (connect | more information)

    This database provides free access to locate future events. Most listings are for conferences, congresses, meetings and symposia that eventually will result in published proceedings and therefore, be referenced in Directory of Published Proceedings (DoPP). To locate an event, several search parameters are offered: keyword, sponsor, country, state/province, category and year. The categories that can be searched include: science/technology; medical/life sciences; pollution control/ecology; and, social sciences/humanities.

    MITopencourseware (connect | more information)

    "MIT OCW is a large-scale, Web-based publication of the educational materials from the MIT faculty's courses. This initiative enables the open sharing of the MIT faculty's teaching materials with educators, enrolled students, and self-learners around the world. MIT OCW provides users with open access to the syllabi, lecture notes, course calendars, problem sets and solutions, exams, reading lists, even a selection of video lectures, from 1550 MIT courses representing 34 departments and all five of MIT's schools."--web site.

    Monash University Bookshop (connect | more information)

    Sales catalogue searchable by ISBN/EAN and author, title and keyword. Coverage includes all subject disciplines with textbooks constituting only 15% of titles in stock.

  • Includes full text
  • MyiLibrary (connect | more information)

    MyiLibrary, distributed through Coutts Information Services, is an electronic platform which gives users desktop access to some of the most topical and current electronic content available today. MyiLibrary has partnered with numerous distributors to bring their content together in one aggregated database.

  • Includes full text
  • National guide to government (connect | more information)

    This authoritative guide to government includes profiles and contact information of federal and state politicians, official titles and names of all senior diplomats, and correct forms of address for correspondence to every Member of Parliament, senior public servant, and vice-regal representative in Australia. Details of over 1870 federal and state departments, 1500 biographies and downloadable ready made lists in MS Excel format are available.

    NetLibrary (connect | more information)

    NetLibrary is a searchable collection of electronic books.

  • Includes full text
  • NGA GEOnet names server : GNS (connect | more information)

    The GEOnet Names Server (GNS) provides access to the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency's (NGA) and the U.S. Board on Geographic Names' (US BGN) database of foreign geographic feature names. The database is the official repository of foreign place-name decisions approved by the US BGN. Approximately 20,000 of the database's features are updated monthly. Geographic Area of Coverage: Worldwide excluding the United States and Antarctica.

    OAIster (connect | more information)

    OAIster serves as a search portal for digital collections of electronic books, online journals, audio and image files, and movies provided by the research library community. Users can search by keyword, title, creator, subject or resource type, and searches yield a detailed and well-organized description of the resource and a link to the resource itself. Indexed content includes the Library of Congress' American Memory Project, various pre-print and e-print servers, and digital thesis and dissertation collections. OAIster currently provides access to over 18 million records harvested from 1034 contributors. OAIster increases the visibility and accessibility of these unique resources by providing a 'broad, generic, information retrieval resource for information about publicly available digital library resources' via a single point of entry.

  • Includes full text
  • on-line books page (connect | more information)

    Features an index of thousands of books that can be freely read on the Internet. Also includes pointers to significant directories and archives of on-line texts, and special exhibits.

  • Includes full text
  • Open J-gate : 3000+ open access journals (connect | more information)

    Open J-Gate is an electronic gateway to global journal literature in open access domain. It provides seamless access to millions of journal articles available online. It indexes articles from 3000+ open access journals, with links to full text at publisher sites.

  • Includes full text
  • Oxford English dictionary (connect | more information)

    Contains the complete contents of the 20-volume Second Edition of the 'Oxford English Dictionary' 1989 and the complete contents of the three-volume Additions 1993-1997, Third Edition in progress (Mar. 2000- ) as well as quarterly releases of at least 1000 new and revised entries.

  • Includes full text
  • Oxford journals (connect | more information)

    Provides full-text online access to electronic journals published by the Oxford University Press. Disciplines covered are humanities, social sciences, and the sciences. A brief bibliographic description of each title is given in an "About this journal" section. The "Online journals" table lists the available online material for each journal. The full text of these online journals is generally available for the past several years, though abstracts of articles date back additional years. Allows searching across the Oxford Journals collection or browsing by title.

  • Includes full text
  • Periodicals archive online (connect | more information)

    Index to scholarly journal articles in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, including some published as far back as 1770. Includes periodicals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages. Provides links to scanned articles, in PDF format, which are growing steadily in number.

  • Includes full text
  • Project Muse (connect | more information)

    Database provides full-text online access to journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press and some other university presses in the disciplines of arts, humanities and social sciences.

  • Includes full text
  • ProQuest (connect | more information)

    Proquest is a leading electronic database providing indexing and abstracting of over 7,000 scholarly and general interest publications. It includes full text or full image coverage of more than 3,000 of these publications. It provides access to the combined information from a number of leading online databases which cover subjects including: business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, medicine, and religion.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    ProQuest dissertations & theses (connect | more information)

    ProQuest Dissertations & Theses includes citations, abstracts and reviews of mostly US Masters and PhD theses. It is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. PQDT - Full Text includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. More than 60,000 new full text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637.
    Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    ScienceDirect (connect | more information)

    ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. Apart from online eBooks, Reference Works, Handbooks and Book Series, ScienceDirect offers a rich journal collection of over 2,000 titles. In addition, the Backfiles program offers the ability to search a historical archive of over 6.75 million articles directly from your desktop, back to Volume 1, Issue 1. The collections contain 4 million articles prior to 1995, and 2.75 million articles from after 1994.

  • Includes full text

  • To connect to ScienceDirect please use this link.

    Important message: ScienceDirect will be unavailable on 1 November 2009 due to scheduled maintenance for approximately 9 hours, between 03:00 - 12:00 hours [UTC/GMT +2 hours]
    Apologies for any inconvenience this may cause. 29.10.2009

    Important message: Please do not print any ScienceDirect articles on library student printers, model Fuji Xerox Phaser 5550 DT, excluding Berwick and Law Library. Currently it is causing problems; reams of paper are printed, each with symbols on line one, until the job is cancelled at the printer control panel, by pressing the red cancel button.
    Apologies for any inconvenience this may cause. 13.03.2009


    Note: The Library has not bought access to all of the ScienceDirect electronic books listed here. If you are denied access to the full text of any book here and want the Library to subscribe, please complete a Purchase suggestion form and we will consider your request.

    Scirus : for scientific information only (connect | more information)

    A comprehensive science-specific search engine which returns results from the web and the following journal sources: ScienceDirect, MEDLINE on BioMedNet, Beilstein on ChemWeb, Neuroscion, BioMed Central, US Patent Office, E-Print ArXiv, Chemistry PrePrint Server, Mathematics PrePrint Server, CogPrints and NASA. Limit an Advanced search to a subject area, a particular source or a document type, such as conferences, patents, journal articles, preprints, web sites or books. Search results can be ranked according to relevance, or sorted by date.

    Serials in Australian libraries : SIAL (connect | more information)

    Provides location details of serials in Australian libraries. Also available is a companion database - Australian Interlibrary Resource Sharing Directory (ILRS). The main sequence of the ILRS directory is arranged by NUC symbol, as displayed in the holdings statement of records in SIAL.

    SourceOECD (connect | more information)

    SourceOECD is the publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) and consists of three sections that include Books and Reports by Theme, Periodicals, and Statistics. OECD, based in Paris, is a forum permitting governments of industrialized democracies to study and formulate policies in all economic and social spheres. Subjects covered include: economics, business, social sciences, development, statistics, environment, education, agriculture, investment, finance and governance.

  • Includes full text
  • Standards : on-line premium (connect | more information)

    Allows searching of the complete databases of Australian Standards (over 7,700 standards) as well as ISO (International Organization for Standardization); IEC (International Electrotechnical Commission); ETSI (European Telecommunications Standards Institute); and English language DIN (Deutsches Institut fu¿¿r Normung) and JIS (Japanese Industrial Standards Committee) standards (over 34,000); excluding ISO and IEC draft standards. The full text of most Australian Standards may be viewed (exceptions being some handbooks, documents where the copyright is shared or drafts which are "clones" of other non-Australian standards), saved to file or printed.

  • Includes full text

  • Monash students and staff only
    Licence restrictions: 3 simultaneous users only. It is very important that you "Logout" after a session.
    If the screen says that you have logged out when you begin, choose a search option from the menu on the left. Additional users may be allowed as "guest access" to search, but will not be able to print standards. Please try again later if that occurs.
    Please note:
    - The Online Subscription Service does not include fulltext online access to all ISO Standards, IEC Standards, ETSI Standards, JIS Standards (as they are not part of the subscription) and some Australian Standards and Handbooks (where Standards Australia does not own the copyright).
    - Standards downloaded to your PC will expire after 48 hours. However, they may still be accessed on-line.

    STAT!Ref (connect | more information)

    StatREF includes general clinical medicine, pharmacology, physiology, surgery or psychiatry electronic books that can be searched individually or simultaneously. Alternatively, browse the table of contents for an individual book title. Link to Stedmans medical dictionary. Five concurrent users.

  • Includes full text
  • Ulrichsweb.com (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic database providing detailed and comprehensive information on serials published worldwide, covering all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly, are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription. The web version contains several new searchable and browseable indexes, such as language and frequency, that are not available on either the CD or the print version. In addition users can link to related serials for alternate titles and related media titles, as well as other relevant links and e-mail addresses.

    VICNAMES : the register of Geographic Names (connect | more information)

    This database holds more than 190,000 road and place names, including landscape features such as mountains and rivers, bounded localities such as suburbs, towns, cities and regions, and physical infrastructure such as roads, reserves and schools.

    Web of knowledge (connect | more information)

    ISI Web of Knowledge is a single interface for searching individual ISI products or multiple products simultaneously. ISI Web of Science with Conference Proceedings (for science, social science and humanities, 1990 to present), Current Contents Connect (1998 to present) and Journal Citation Reports (for science and social science, 2000 to 2007) may be accessed through this online resource.
    See also: Web of Science | Current Contents Connect | Journal Citation Reports: Science; Social sciences

    Web of science (connect | more information)

    Web of Science provides access to journal citations, selected abstracts and cited references contained in three separate ISI citation databases: Science citation index expanded (SCI-Expanded); Social sciences citation index (SSCI); and, Arts & humanities citation index (A&HCI). Also added in 2008: Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S)--1990-present, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)--1990-present. Citation databases are used to follow a line of research from a known older key piece of work (book, journal article, unpublished work, etc) to more recent research by searching the reference lists of recent journal articles. Although not its primary strength, Web of Science could be useful for cross disciplinary searching.

    Webster's unabridged dictionary (connect | more information)

    Webster's Unabridged is America's premier lexicographical work. This electronic version comprises the text of Webster's Third New International Dictionary, Unabridged, published in 1961, and subsequent updates which take account of current usage. The Merriam-Webster company has continued to update its files since publication of Webster's Third New International Dictionary. The source data for this electronic version of Webster's Unabridged was obtained in 1996 and so includes additional material and addenda included since publication of both the original 1961 edition and the updated 1993 edition. This version appears in electronic form for the first time.

  • Includes full text

  • If the above link does not work try the UK site instead.

    White pages (connect | more information)

    Online telephone directory of Australian residential, business and government contact information.

    Who's who in Australia (connect | more information)

    Provides access to over 13,000 biographical entries of notable people in Australia. Every leader in every field is included and encompass writers, sports stars, media identities, and politicians. Entries include: occupation, career, clubs, recreations, achievements, marriage, workplace, awards, committees, voluntary positions, life ethic, education, publications, etc.

    Who's who in business in Australia (connect | more information)

    Provides access to information on Australian businesses and the people who run them. Over 24,000 biographies, 8,000 companies and 12,000 key staff references are included. Company entries include interactive website and email links as well as location, branch, subsidiaries, key staff, brand names, bankers etc. Individual entries include occupation, professional appointments, career, recreations, achievements, marriage, awards, life ethic, education and more. Downloadable ready made lists in MS Excel format are available.

    Who's who in Victoria (connect | more information)

    A compilation of biographies detailing the lives and achievements of both the renowned and the unsung heroes that have significantly contributed to and shaped the Victoria's development--Publisher's description.

    Who's who of Australian women (connect | more information)

    Coverage includes Australian women from a range of fields, including community service, business, politics, the arts, sport, law, entertainment and academia.

    Wiley InterScience (connect | more information)

    A searchable database providing access to to over 3 million articles across nearly 1500 journals and 7000 Online Books and major reference works. It also holds industry leading databases such as The Cochrane Library, chemistry databases and the acclaimed Current Protocols laboratory manuals. Online Journals comprise three major collections: 1. Medicine and Nursing. 2. Science, Technology and Medicine. 3. Social Sciences and Humanities. OnlineBooks offer flexible electronic access to thousands of Wiley books from a broad range of subject areas. Reference Works deliver unimpeded access to multi-volume encyclopedias, handbooks and dictionaries within every category of scientific, technical and medical endeavor.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: The Library has not bought access to all of the electronic books listed here. If you are denied access to the full text of any book here and want the Library to subscribe, please complete a Purchase suggestion form and we will consider your request.

    World Digital Library (connect | more information)

    The WDL will make available on the Internet significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world, including manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, architectural drawings, and other significant cultural materials. The objectives of the World Digital Library are to promote international and inter-cultural understanding and awareness, provide resources to educators, expand non-English and non-Western content on the Internet, and to contribute to scholarly research. Items on the WDL may easily be browsed by place, time, topic, type of item, and contributing institution, or can be located by an open-ended search, in several languages. Special features include interactive geographic clusters, a timeline, advanced image-viewing and interpretive capabilities. Item-level descriptions and interviews with curators about featured items provide additional information.

  • Includes full text
  • World who's who : Europa biographical reference (connect | more information)

    The comprehensive, newly-expanded World Who's Who brings together current and hard-to-find biographical information on almost 60,000 eminent persons in all fields. Current career, contact and other biographical details are provided, as are regular updates.

  • Includes full text
  • WorldCat (connect | more information)

    The WorldCat database is the OCLC Online Union Catalog. It contains millions of records describing items owned by libraries around the world. Each record contains library holdings. It describes: books; computer data files; computer programs; films and slides; journals; magazines; manuscripts; maps; musical scores; newspapers; sound recordings; videotapes; CDs; CD-ROMs, etc. It does not include individual articles, stories in journals, newspapers or book chapters. Covers thousands of subjects and includes material in 400 languages, dating from as early as before 1000 B.C.

    Yellow (connect | more information)

    "In 2006 we changed our name from Yellow Pages to 'Yellow' to reflect the fact that today Yellow is much more than a print directory. Our comprehensive directory content is now available to more people in more ways. yellow.com.au: is one of Australia's most visited directory sites which puts businesses at the fingertips of more people everyday."--Publisher description.

    YouTube EDU (connect | more information)

    YouTube EDU, launched in March 2009, aggregates thousands of free lectures from over a hundred universities across the United States, including MIT, Stanford, UC Berkeley, UCLA, Yale, amongst others. YouTube Edu lets viewers sort clips by school or number of views, and the schools offer content ranging from complete courses to campus events to information for prospective students. Also, over 200 lecture-based courses in literature, history, law, engineering and other subjects are offered in their entirety through the site.

    YouTube Library of Congress (connect | more information)

    The Library of Congress stores around 6 million films, broadcasts and sound recordings, but they aren't all immediately available on YouTube; instead, they're starting off with around 70 films. Currently, the videos include the National Book Festival author presentations, "Westinghouse" industrial films from 1904, as well as some of the earliest movies ever made by motion picture pioneer Thomas Edison. More videos and audio files will be uploaded progressively.

     

    Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat.
    Your opinion Feedback form for Monash staff and students | Feedback form for visitors

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    New electronic resources on trial
    Provide your feedback:
    Trial databases
    Accessing databases