Skip to content | Change text size

Geosciences

Key resources

GeoRef (connect | more information)

The GeoRef database, established by the American Geological Institute in 1966, provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef is the most comprehensive database in the geosciences and continues to grow by more than 90,000 references a year. The database contains over 2.9 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.

Scopus (connect | more information)

Abstracting and indexing database of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature. Includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records and quality web sources. Seamless links to full text sources where the library holds a subscription.

  • Includes full text
  •  


    Other resources

    Bibliography of fossil vertebrates (connect | more information)

    The BFV online database provides searchable access to various compilations and annual volumes, all considered part of the Bibliography of fossil vertebrates series with an unbroken record of the entire published literature on vertebrate fossils from 1509 to1958 and 1981 to 1993.

    Current contents connect (connect | more information)

    A current awareness research database that provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic citations from current issues of the world's leading scholarly research journals covering all disciplines including the sciences, social sciences, technology, the arts and the humanities. Selected abstracts and records for more than 3,600 web sites that have been selected by editors at ISI for their relevance and quality are also included. A facility is available to save searches and set up a personal email alerting service.

    Engineering village (connect | more information)

    This online service provides access to bibliographic databases within the scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines to which Monash University Library subscribes. These databases include: Compendex, EI Backfile, Inspec, NTIS, Referex Engineering, Patents, GEOBASE, GeoRef and CRC ENGnetBASE. Source documents comprise journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, dissertations, patents and books published from around the world.

  • Includes full text
  • Environmental encyclopedia (connect | more information)

    Provides in-depth, worldwide coverage of environmental issues. Each article is written in a nontechnical style and provides current status, analysis, and suggested solutions whenever possible.

  • Includes full text
  • Environmental sciences and pollution management (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database indexes and abstracts literature in the field of environmental sciences. Source documents include scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, books and government publications. Major areas of subject coverage include: agricultural biotechnology; air quality; aquatic pollution; bacteriology; ecology; energy resources; environmental biotechnology; environmental engineering; environmental impact statements (United States); hazardous waste; industrial hygiene; microbiology related to industrial & environmental issues; land, air, water, noise, solid waste and radioactive pollution; risk assessment; safety science; toxicology & toxic emissions; waste management; and, water resource issues.

    GEOBASE (connect | more information)

    GeoBase is a multidisciplinary database that deeply indexes research literature across the earth sciences including geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, international development, oceanography and geomechanics. The database contains over 1.8 million bibliographic records taken from 2,000 scientific and technical journals. Online coverage is from 1980 to the present, and files are updated weekly.

    GEOnetBASE (connect | more information)

    This collection covers emerging developments in the geosciences. Includes Earthquake Engineering Handbook and Geotechnical Engineering Investigation Handbook.

  • Includes full text
  • Intute. Science, engineering, & technology (connect | more information)

    "Intute is a free online service providing ... access to the very best Web resources for education and research. The service is created by a network of UK universities and partners. Subject specialists select and evaluate the websites in our database and write high quality descriptions of the resources." -- Intute home page.

  • Includes full text
  • KPjournal (connect | more information)

    Provides full text access to 18 science/engineering journals and research papers published in North Korea in the fields of Natural Science (Biology, Physics, Chemistry), Geography, Medical, Pharmacology, Engineering, Mineralogy.

  • Includes full text
  • Lyell collection (connect | more information)

    Collection of earth science literature; includes the Journal of the Geological Society, Quarterly Journal of Engineering Geology and Hydrogeology, the Society's Memoir series, Special publications series, and the Engineering geology special publications series. Includes 14,000+ peer-reviewed articles.

  • Includes full text
  • NGA GEOnet names server : GNS (connect | more information)

    The GEOnet Names Server (GNS) provides access to the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency's (NGA) and the U.S. Board on Geographic Names' (US BGN) database of foreign geographic feature names. The database is the official repository of foreign place-name decisions approved by the US BGN. Approximately 20,000 of the database's features are updated monthly. Geographic Area of Coverage: Worldwide excluding the United States and Antarctica.

    SEDAC : Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center (connect | more information)

    Search a distributed system of catalogs held at SEDAC and other federal, regional, state, and international organizations. These catalogs contain metadata records describing data sets and other resources available from the Earth, natural, and social science communities.

    Treatise on geochemistry (connect | more information)

    Provides a comprehensive, integrated summarry of the present state of geochemistry. It deals with all the major subjects in the field, ranging from the chemistry of the solar system to environmental geochemistry.

  • Includes full text
  • University of Kansas paleontological contributions : community home page (connect | more information)

    Since 1947 the Paleontological Institute has published The University of Kansas Paleontological Contributions. These have been in the form of Articles (1947-1984), Papers (1965-1988), Monographs (1982, 1990), Special Publications (1957, 1967, 1968, 1970, 2007) and Paleo Contributions New Series (1992-present). Selected publications from these series are now available at this website for searching and download.

  • Includes full text
  • USGS water data for the nation (connect | more information)

    This web site provides access to current and historical water resources data collected at approximately 1.5 million sites in the United States, Puerto Rico and Guam. The data is organised around the following categories: real-time; site information; surface water; ground water; and, water quality.The USGS investigates the occurrence, quantity, quality, distribution, and movement of surface and underground waters and disseminates the data to the public, State and local governments, public and private utilities, and other Federal agencies involved with managing our water resources.

  • Includes full text
  • Web of science (connect | more information)

    Web of Science provides access to journal citations, selected abstracts and cited references contained in three separate ISI citation databases: Science citation index expanded (SCI-Expanded); Social sciences citation index (SSCI); and, Arts & humanities citation index (A&HCI). Also added in 2008: Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S)--1990-present, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)--1990-present. Citation databases are used to follow a line of research from a known older key piece of work (book, journal article, unpublished work, etc) to more recent research by searching the reference lists of recent journal articles. Although not its primary strength, Web of Science could be useful for cross disciplinary searching.

    Wiley InterScience (connect | more information)

    A searchable database providing access to to over 3 million articles across nearly 1500 journals and 7000 Online Books and major reference works. It also holds industry leading databases such as The Cochrane Library, chemistry databases and the acclaimed Current Protocols laboratory manuals. Online Journals comprise three major collections: 1. Medicine and Nursing. 2. Science, Technology and Medicine. 3. Social Sciences and Humanities. OnlineBooks offer flexible electronic access to thousands of Wiley books from a broad range of subject areas. Reference Works deliver unimpeded access to multi-volume encyclopedias, handbooks and dictionaries within every category of scientific, technical and medical endeavor.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: The Library has not bought access to all of the electronic books listed here. If you are denied access to the full text of any book here and want the Library to subscribe, please complete a Purchase suggestion form and we will consider your request.

     

    Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat.
    Your opinion Feedback form for Monash staff and students | Feedback form for visitors

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    See also
    New electronic resources on trial
    Provide your feedback:
    Trial databases
    Accessing databases