Skip to content | Change text size

Industrial design

Key resources

Compendex (connect | more information)

Compendex is a comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database. It provides access to citations and abstracts from over 5,000 engineering journal titles, conference proceedings and technical reports dating from 1884. It is updated weekly and features include saved searches and email alerts. Apart from major engineering fields, subject areas covered include bioengineering, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, nuclear technology, aerospace and automotive engineering and transportation. Indexing started in 1884.

 


Other resources

Australian Standards. See: Standards on-line premium (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • Car design news (connect | more information)

    Car Design News is an online magazine for automotive design industry professionals, transportation design students and design enthusiasts worldwide. Updated daily, Car Design News gives a global overview of the latest automotive design news, in-depth coverage of major autoshows and student design exhibitions, as well as design reviews by industry professionals, and feature articles covering the design process behind new concept and production vehicles.

  • Includes full text
  • DAAI : design and applied arts index (connect | more information)

    This indexing and abstracting database provides access to more than 500 design and craft journals. Also contains 2 directories, or supplementary databases: education directory and periodicals directory. Subject coverage includes: industrial design, vehicle design, architecture, interior design, environmental design, computer aided design, furniture design, ceramics, glass, jewellery, metalsmithing, silversmithing, goldsmithing, fashion design, textile design, embroidery, graphic design, typography, multimedia design, illustration, book design, photography, advertising, marketing, retail design, packaging, exhibition design, theatre design, design and craft history, design and craft theory, ergonomics, design for disability, design for the elderly, design and craft education and design management.

    Ei Patents (connect | more information)

    The patents databases on Engineering Village 2 include US and European patents grants and applications covering a broad range of topics within the scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines. Currently, there are over 10 million patents that are being offered. The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) offers access to its full text patent database. Full text patents are available from 1790 to date , and European patents from 1978 with weekly updates. Full text links will route you to the USPTO or European Patent Office web site where you can download images and view the full text of the patent selected.

  • Includes full text
  • Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)

    Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals.

  • Includes full text

  • Also available: Library online tutorials

    Material ConneXion (connect | more information)

    Materials ConneXion is the largest global resource of new materials. Its library houses over 3,500 new and innovative materials representing the eight categories of polymers, glass, ceramics, carbon-based materials, cement-based materials, metals, natural materials and natural material derivatives. Complete Library information is accessible via the Internet, using the Material ConneXion's database.

    MSDS Australia (connect | more information)

    Online collection of over 25,000 Australian material safety data sheets. The aim is to provide NOHSC compliant MSDS's to the Australian public to foster the safe use of chemicals and other products.

    ProQuest (connect | more information)

    Proquest is a leading electronic database providing indexing and abstracting of over 7,000 scholarly and general interest publications. It includes full text or full image coverage of more than 3,000 of these publications. It provides access to the combined information from a number of leading online databases which cover subjects including: business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, medicine, and religion.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    ScienceDirect (connect | more information)

    ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. Apart from online eBooks, Reference Works, Handbooks and Book Series, ScienceDirect offers a rich journal collection of over 2,000 titles. In addition, the Backfiles program offers the ability to search a historical archive of over 6.75 million articles directly from your desktop, back to Volume 1, Issue 1. The collections contain 4 million articles prior to 1995, and 2.75 million articles from after 1994.

  • Includes full text

  • To connect to ScienceDirect please use this link.

    Important message: Please do not print any ScienceDirect articles on library student printers, model Fuji Xerox Phaser 5550 DT, excluding Berwick and Law Library. Currently it is causing problems; reams of paper are printed, each with symbols on line one, until the job is cancelled at the printer control panel, by pressing the red cancel button.
    Apologies for any inconvenience this may cause. 13.03.2009


    Note: The Library has not bought access to all of the ScienceDirect electronic books listed here. If you are denied access to the full text of any book here and want the Library to subscribe, please complete a Purchase suggestion form and we will consider your request.

    Standards : on-line premium (connect | more information)

    Allows searching of the complete databases of Australian Standards (over 7,700 standards) as well as ISO (International Organization for Standardization); IEC (International Electrotechnical Commission); ETSI (European Telecommunications Standards Institute); and English language DIN (Deutsches Institut fu¿¿r Normung) and JIS (Japanese Industrial Standards Committee) standards (over 34,000); excluding ISO and IEC draft standards. The full text of most Australian Standards may be viewed (exceptions being some handbooks, documents where the copyright is shared or drafts which are "clones" of other non-Australian standards), saved to file or printed.

  • Includes full text

  • Monash students and staff only
    Licence restrictions: 3 simultaneous users only. It is very important that you "Logout" after a session.
    If the screen says that you have logged out when you begin, choose a search option from the menu on the left. Additional users may be allowed as "guest access" to search, but will not be able to print standards. Please try again later if that occurs.
    Please note:
    - The Online Subscription Service does not include fulltext online access to all ISO Standards, IEC Standards, ETSI Standards, JIS Standards (as they are not part of the subscription) and some Australian Standards and Handbooks (where Standards Australia does not own the copyright).
    - Standards downloaded to your PC will expire after 48 hours. However, they may still be accessed on-line.

    Web of science (connect | more information)

    Web of Science provides access to journal citations, selected abstracts and cited references contained in three separate ISI citation databases: Science citation index expanded (SCI-Expanded); Social sciences citation index (SSCI); and, Arts & humanities citation index (A&HCI). Also added in 2008: Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S)--1990-present, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)--1990-present. Citation databases are used to follow a line of research from a known older key piece of work (book, journal article, unpublished work, etc) to more recent research by searching the reference lists of recent journal articles. Although not its primary strength, Web of Science could be useful for cross disciplinary searching.

     

    Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat.
    Your opinion Feedback form for Monash staff and students | Feedback form for visitors

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    See also
    New electronic resources on trial
    Provide your feedback:
    Trial databases
    Accessing databases