Skip to content | Change text size

Linguistics

Key resources

Linguistics and language behavior abstracts (connect | more information)

This bibliographic database indexes and abstracts literature covering all aspects of the study of language. Major areas of subject coverage include: anthropological linguistics; applied linguistics; descriptive linguistics; discourse analysis/text linguistics; hearing and speech physiology; pathological and normal hearing; history of linguistics; interpersonal behaviour and communication; language classification; pathological and normal language; learning disabilities; lexicography/lexicology; mental retardation; morphology; nonverbal communication; orthography, writing systems; philosophy of language; phonetics; phonology; poetics/literary theory; psycholinguistics; psychometrics; semantics; semiotics; sociolinguistics; special education; syntax; theory of linguistics; and, typology.

 


Other resources

APAIS : Australian public affairs information service (connect | more information)

Bibliographic database that indexes published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
See also: Australian Public Affairs - Full Text

Australian Public Affairs - Full Text (connect | more information)

Indexing and full text database that provides access to published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.

  • Includes full text

  • See also: APAIS : Australian public affairs information service

    BHI : British humanities index (connect | more information)

    This is an international indexing and abstracting database of over 320 humanities journals and weekly magazines, as well as quality newspapers published in the United Kingdom and the United States. Major areas of subject coverage include: architecture, archaeology, art, antiques, cinema, current affairs, education, economics, environment, foreign affairs, gender studies, history, language, law, linguistics, literature, music, painting, philosophy, poetry, political science, religion and theatre.

    Blackwell reference online (connect | more information)

    Provides full-text access to over 300 volumes of reference works in business and economics, the arts (history, language and linguistics, literature and cultural studies, philosophy and religion) and social sciences (sociology and psychology). It supports browsing and full-text searching. Includes the Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, and major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax.

  • Includes full text
  • Communication & mass media complete (connect | more information)

    Offers information from over 600 journals in communication, mass media and related fields; includes abstracts, indexing, bibliographical citations and author profiles, as well as full text from more 240 titles.

  • Includes full text
  • Current contents connect (connect | more information)

    A current awareness research database that provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic citations from current issues of the world's leading scholarly research journals covering all disciplines including the sciences, social sciences, technology, the arts and the humanities. Selected abstracts and records for more than 3,600 web sites that have been selected by editors at ISI for their relevance and quality are also included. A facility is available to save searches and set up a personal email alerting service.

    DBpia : electronic journal service (connect | more information)

    Full text database including over 1,000 Korean scholarly journals. The journal titles are arranged by 11 subject categories (Business/Economics, Theology, Education, Sociology, Theology, Natural Science, Human science, linguistics, law/Administration, Artistic and Physical) All journals are available from the first issue of a given title.

  • Includes full text
  • Ebook library (connect | more information)

    Ebook library (EBL) is a searchable collection of ebooks, offering content across all subject areas, from major academic publishers worldwide. Publishers included are Taylor & Francis, Palgrave Macmillan, Cambridge University Press, Kluwer Academic, Springer, World Scientific and others. Ebooks can be viewed online or downloaded to a computer or PDA. EBL offers full-text search capability across the database.

  • Includes full text
  • ERIC (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database indexes and abstracts published and unpublished literature in the field of education. Source documents include journal articles, conference papers, government documents, theses, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories and books. Major areas of subject coverage include: adult, career, and vocational education; counseling and personnel services; elementary and early childhood education; education management; handicapped and gifted children; higher education; information resources; junior colleges; languages and linguistics; reading and communication skills; rural education and small schools; science; mathematics; environmental education; social studies and social science education; teacher education; tests, measurement and evaluation; and, urban education.

    Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)

    Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals.

  • Includes full text

  • Also available: Library online tutorials

    Informaworld : journals (connect | more information)

    The specialist publications of Taylor & Francis, Routledge, Psychology Press and Informa Healthcare are now available in one dedicated journals database.

  • Includes full text
  • MAIS : multicultural Australia and immigration studies (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts a wide range of media from published and unpublished material on Australian immigration and multicultural issues. Source documents include books, book chapters, journal articles, selected newspaper articles, government documents, conference papers, research reports, theses and multimedia. Subject coverage includes immigration, emigration, multiculturalism, ethnicity, racism, migrant health, social access and equity, social services, refugees, population studies, and aboriginal studies.

    MLA international bibliography (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database indexes the international literature in academic disciplines such as language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts (including theatre, film, music and media culture). It contains more than 2 million records. The classified listing and subject index are compiled by the staff of the Modern Language Association Department of Bibliographic Information Services with the cooperation of more than 100 contributing bibliographers in the United States and abroad. The Bibliography first appeared in 1926, as a section within the journal PMLA, and became a separate publication in 1969. The electronic version first appeared in the late 1970s, and for a long time only covered volumes from 1963 onwards; as of April 2006, the entire print run is included, from 1926 to the present.
    Licence restrictions: 4 simultaneous users only. It is very important that you "Logout" after a session.

    nineteenth century (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic index/catalogue to the Nineteenth Century publishing programme on microfiche of English language books first published between 1801 and 1900 held in the British Library. The publications are organized into eleven main sections and their coverage is described on this site. The brief catalogue records provided in the online index include publication details, subject headings, fiche number and British Library shelfmark. The Nineteenth Century General Collection: society and culture microform collection is held at Deakin University and the Specialist collections are held at other Universities.

    Periodicals archive online (connect | more information)

    Index to scholarly journal articles in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, including some published as far back as 1770. Includes periodicals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages. Provides links to scanned articles, in PDF format, which are growing steadily in number.

  • Includes full text
  • Philosopher's Index (connect | more information)

    The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields and monitors over 550 journals from more than 40 countries. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.

    ProQuest dissertations & theses (connect | more information)

    ProQuest Dissertations & Theses includes citations, abstracts and reviews of mostly US Masters and PhD theses. It is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. PQDT - Full Text includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. More than 60,000 new full text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637.
    Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    Scopus (connect | more information)

    Abstracting and indexing database of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature. Includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records and quality web sources. Seamless links to full text sources where the library holds a subscription.

  • Includes full text
  • Translation studies bibliography (connect | more information)

    Translation Studies Bibliography (TSB) is an annotated bibliography of the field of translation and interpreting studies. Translation and interpreting studies comprises the discipline dealing with transfer and mediation, containing aspects of intra- and interlingual translation, intercultural communication, adaptation, interpreting, localization, multimedia translation, language mediation, terminology and documentation. TSB includes journal articles, monographs, (articles from) collective volumes, reviews, reference materials, dissertations and unpublished manuscripts.

    Web of knowledge (connect | more information)

    ISI Web of Knowledge is a single interface for searching individual ISI products or multiple products simultaneously. ISI Web of Science with Conference Proceedings (for science, social science and humanities, 1990 to present), Current Contents Connect (1998 to present) and Journal Citation Reports (for science and social science, 2000 to 2007) may be accessed through this online resource.
    See also: Web of Science | Current Contents Connect | Journal Citation Reports: Science; Social sciences

     

    Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat.
    Your opinion Feedback form for Monash staff and students | Feedback form for visitors

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    See also
    New electronic resources on trial
    Provide your feedback:
    Trial databases
    Accessing databases