| Library home | Catalogue | Resources | Services | Help | Libraries | About us |
| Staff directory | A-Z index | Site map |
NursingKey resourcesCINAHL (connect | more information)
International coverage with a US emphasis. Worth searching for Australian information by including Australia$ as a search term. There are more than 18,000 records with full text now included, plus links to Journals @ Ovid to which the Library subscribes. Most English language nursing journals are included. Strong coverage of publications by the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing (U.S.). Nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings and standards of professional practice are also indexed. Other health areas covered include emergency services, health education, radiology and health informatics.
Cochrane library (connect | more information)A key resource for evidence-based medicine that integrates clinical expertise with systematic research, especially in relation to the effects of health care. Produced by the international Cochrane Collaboration, the Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane database of systematic reviews (CochraneDSR), the Database of abstracts of reviews of effects (DARE), the NHS economic evaluation database, the Cochrane central register of controlled trials (CENTRAL) and the Health technology assessment database. Search results are usually a mix of full text systematic reviews, structured abstracts and citations with abstract. Guide to Cochrane Library -developed by the Australian NICS group. See also: EBM Reviews CochraneDSR DARE CENTRAL EMBASE.com (connect | more information)EMBASE.com provides access to over 16 million validated biomedical and pharmacological bibliographic records from EMBASE and MEDLINE (produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine). The database can be searched by field, drug, disease and article. Journal titles can also be browsed. MEDLINE. See: Ovid MEDLINE (connect | more information)
Ovid MEDLINE (connect | more information)
Ovid MEDLINE is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database providing information from the following fields: medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health and pre-clinical sciences. The MEDLINE database is the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index.
Ovid OLDMEDLINE (connect | more information)
OLDMEDLINE contains citations to articles from international biomedical journals covering the fields of medicine, preclinical sciences and allied health sciences. Subject searching of this file is available through key words (the original Medical Subject Headings, assigned prior to 1965) and text phrases. Unlike MEDLINE, this file contains no abstracts nor MeSH heading field data from NLM's current controlled vocabulary.
Other resourcesACP journal club (connect | more information)A journal that comprises structured abstracts of original research articles and systematic reviews from over 100 clinical journals. Content of articles selected is based on explicit criteria, followed by an assessment of its relevance to medical practice. Published by the American College of Physicians, articles reviewed focus on more common diseases and conditions. From 1995 to 2002, includes some content of the UK publication, Evidence Based Medicine. Also available as part of EBM Reviews. Full text links in the references allow you to explore the evidence in the primary source. Full text references link you to other full text documents within the database, as well as to bibliographic databases such as MEDLINE. Bi-directional linking allows you to link from MEDLINE to documents in the same collection or to journals available in Ovid Full Text. See also: EBM Reviews On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable. AMI : Australasian medical index (connect | more information)This bibliographic database indexes and abstracts articles from more than 160 Australian health and medical journals, most of which are not indexed for MEDLINE. Some key Australian journals which are also covered in MEDLINE have been indexed since 2001. Other source documents include conference proceedings, government reports, selected monographs and National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) session reports. Emphasis is on clinical medicine and paraprofessional fields. See also: Meditext Australian public affairs information service : health (connect | more information)Australian bibliographic database tha indexes articles from published material. Subject coverage includes the legal, social, economic and ethical aspects of health. Source documents include a wide range of journals, newspapers, conference papers and books. Books@Ovid (connect | more information)The Books@Ovid database includes full text, references, updates, and graphics from some of the most respected sources in medicine, nursing, and pharmacology. A searcher can choose to run a search in one text, selected texts, or all texts. On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable. CINCH : health (connect | more information)This bibliographic database is a subset of CINCH, the Australian criminology database that indexes and abstracts material from published and unpublished material on all aspects of crime and criminal justice. Source documents include Australian material from journal articles, monographs, monograph chapters and conference papers. Subject coverage includes mental health, medical and medicolegal issues, drugs and alcohol, suicide, HIV/AIDS, prison health, euthanasia, and occupational health and safety. Cochrane central register of controlled trials (connect | more information)
A bibliography of over 370,000 published and unpublished reports describing mostly randomised controlled trials and some observational studies in health care. Through extensive handsearching and searching of databases such as Medline and EMBASE, the Cochrane Collaboration creates CENTRAL, providing an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews. Also available as part of The Cochrane Library and EBM Reviews.
Cochrane database of systematic reviews (connect | more information)A good starting point for information on the effects of health care, particularly therapeutic interventions. Includes over 1,700 full text systematic reviews of randomised controlled trials (mostly) and protocols for systematic reviews in process that address a clearly formulated question. Studies are included on the basis of comprehensive and explicit criteria to minimise bias. Reviewers' conclusions give an overview of the most important findings, assisting practitioners to make informed decisions about health care. CochraneDSR is also available as part of The Cochrane Library and EBM Reviews. See also: Cochrane Library EBM Reviews On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable. Database of abstracts of reviews of effects (DARE) (connect | more information)Over 4,000 structured abstracts, including commentary, of systematic reviews relating to the effects of healthcare interventions. Prepared by the NHS Centre for Reviews and Dissemination at the University of York, UK, reviews of high methodological quality are identified by searching databases, handsearching major medical journals, selected websites and grey literature. DARE is also available as part of The Cochrane Library and EBM Reviews. See also: Cochrane Library | EBM Reviews On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable. DRUG : drug database (connect | more information)Bibliographic database that indexes articles from published and unpublished material on psychosocial aspects of substance abuse. Source documents include journals, bulletins, newsletters, newspapers, weeklies, monograph chapters, conference proceedings, research reports, discussion and position papers, theses, government documents and statistics. Both Australian and overseas journals are sourced. Subject coverage includes political, social, psychological and legal aspects of prevention and treatment of alcohol and other drug abuse. EBM reviews (connect | more information)A key resource for evidence-based medicine that integrates clinical expertise with systematic research, especially in relation to the effects of health care. For a comprehensive search, simultaneously search All EBM Reviews: the CochraneDSR, ACP Journal Club, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials. Search results are usually a mix of full text systematic reviews, structured abstracts and citations with abstract. See also: Cochrane Library ACP Journal Club CochraneDSR CENTRAL DARE On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable. Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals. This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above. Also available: Library online tutorials Factiva (connect | more information)Factiva provides access to full text coverage of major Australian newspapers (including The Age, The Sydney Morning Herald and The Australian), as well as global newspapers and news wires. Coverage for The Australian, Financial Review and BRW is from 2007, with abstracts only. Factiva also includes company profiles and financial information for listed companies worldwide, and historical financial market data. This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above. Monash students and staff only Note: If you see this message: "The user ID and password you have entered are already in use. Please try again later or click on the Having trouble logging in link next to the login button of your product for assistance. (Error:131005)" it means that Monash has used up all available licences. It does NOT relate to your Authcate password. Please try again later. H&S : health & society database (connect | more information)Covers health policy and administration, health services, economic issues, mental health and illness, pregnancy, birth, mortality, morbidity, health education and promotion and ethical aspects such as abortion, euthanasia and reproductive technologies as they relate to the health and well being of Australian families and individuals. Produced by the Australian Institute of Family Studies, Health & Society is a subset of the Family database and indexes articles from published and unpublished materials, such as journals, conference papers, book chapters, government publications, statistical documents, annual reports and theses. HIVA : HIV/AIDS database (connect | more information)HIVA, Australia's most comprehensive HIV and AIDS collection, is a bibliographic database of journal articles, books and audiovisual titles listed in the catalogues of the NSW HIV/AIDS Library Network. It is designed to provide invaluable information support for health care professionals, students, researchers, and people living with HIV/AIDS. It covers the clinical, nutritional, medical, social and psychological aspects of HIV/AIDS, as well as the relationship between alcohol and other drugs to HIV/AIDS. International pharmaceutical abstracts (connect | more information)
This bibliographic database provides periodical article citations and abstracts from over 800 pharmaceutical and health related journals worldwide. Major areas of coverage include: drug reactions, toxicity, investigational drugs, drug evaluations, drug interactions, biopharmaceuticals, pharmaceuticals, drug stability, pharmacology, preliminary drug testing, pharmaceutical chemistry, drug analysis, drug metabolism, pharmacognosy, and methodology.
Intute. Health & life sciences (connect | more information)"Intute is a free online service providing ... access to the very best Web resources for education and research. The service is created by a network of UK universities and partners. Subject specialists select and evaluate the websites in our database and write high quality descriptions of the resources." -- Intute home page. Intute. Health & life sciences. (connect | more information)"Intute is a free online service providing ... access to the very best Web resources for education and research. The service is created by a network of UK universities and partners. Subject specialists select and evaluate the websites in our database and write high quality descriptions of the resources." -- Intute home page. Joanna Briggs Institute (connect | more information)Homepage of the Institute which provides a collaborative approach to the evaluation of research and its integration into nursing practice. Includes information about the Institute, its membership and activities, links and its research. This web site also provides access to a resource for teaching evidence based health care to university students. The resource - RAPid (Rapid Appraisal Protocol Internet Database) - has been developed specifically for students of medicine, nursing, midwifery, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, podiatry, medical radiation, dietetics and other health sciences. Journals@Ovid full text (connect | more information)The database is an aggregate of hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies. While the Ovid Full Text Collections are subsets of journals combined for local access, Journals@Ovid is an aggregated online database of all Ovid journals, with each journal available by individual subscription. Users of this database can search the entire database of bibliographic citations or limit their search to the full text journals to which their institution subscribes. Users can also link to citations in bibliographic databases on Ovid online and also from references in an article to other full text articles. The journals are classified into at least one of five categories: clinical medicine, behavioral sciences, life sciences, nursing and physical sciences. On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable. Maternity and infant care (connect | more information)
Maternity and Infant Care is an important essential resource for academics and healthcare professionals involved in the care of women and infants. This unique database contains over 120,000 references with abstracts to journal articles from over 550 international English language journals, books, and grey literature relating to pregnancy, labor, birth, postnatal care, and neonatal care and the first year of an infant's life. Database coverage is from the mid-1980s and approximately 1000 records are added to the database per month.
Meditext (connect | more information)Meditext is based on the journal indexing of the database Australasian Medical Index (AMI), which is produced by the National Library of Australia and published by RMIT Publishing. Subject coverage includes all aspects of health and medicine, with an emphasis on clinical medicine and paraprofessional fields. MIMS online (connect | more information)Provides access to the full MIMS database of abbreviated and full information (including OTC) on prescription and non-prescription drugs available in Australia. Full colour product identification pictures are available. POPLINE (connect | more information)POPLINE(POPulation information onLINE), the world's largest database on reproductive health, provides more than 350,000 citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues. POPLINE has numerous special features including links to free, fulltext documents, the ability to limit your search to peer-reviewed journal articles and many abstracts in French and Spanish. Proquest health & medical complete (connect | more information)ProQuest Health and Medical Complete combines the clinical research titles available in ProQuest Medical Library with hundreds of additional consumer and health administration titles. It provides in-depth coverage from over 1,200 publications with more than 965 available in full text and of these, over 770 include MEDLINEżż indexing. In addition, the database includes all charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to medical research. The journals cover all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, surgery, and others. Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link PsycINFO (connect | more information)
PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database that provides citations with abstracts to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.PsycINFO contains more than 2 million records spanning 1806 to the present. Journal coverage includes material selected from approximately 2,000 periodicals. Chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present; however, there is a substantial number of records covering books published earlier.
Trip database (connect | more information)The TRIP Database searches web sites with high-quality medical information. A search on the TRIP Database links directly to relevant 'evidence-based' material on the web as well as to articles from peer-reviewed on-line journals and e-textbooks. Clinical areas: cancer, cardiovascular, child health, endocrinology, gastrointestinal, HIV/AIDS, infectious diseases, mental health, musculoskeletal, neurology, pregnancy and childbirth, respiratory care, women's health.
Need help? Library frequently asked questions and online
enquiries: current students/staff | public users, online chat,
or phone +61 3 9905 5054 |
|