Skip to content | Change text size

Occupational therapy & physiotherapy

Key resources

AMED : allied and complementary medicine (connect | more information)

A bibliographic database of journal articles on allied and alternatives to conventional medicine. Subjects covered include: complementary medicine, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, rehabilitation, podiatry, and palliative care.
On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

CINAHL plus (connect | more information)

CINAHL Plus provides indexing for 3,802 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. CINAHL Plus covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheets. Full text material includes nearly 80 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. CINAHL Plus also includes the Pre-CINAHL dataset. Pre-CINAHL is intended to provide current awareness of new journal articles, and is collection of records that provide basic bibliographic information before they are indexed with CINAHL Headings. As Pre-CINAHL journal articles are indexed, the records are replaced with complete CINAHL records.

  • Includes full text
  • Meditext (connect | more information)

    Meditext is based on the journal indexing of the database Australasian Medical Index (AMI), which is produced by the National Library of Australia and published by RMIT Publishing. Subject coverage includes all aspects of health and medicine, with an emphasis on clinical medicine and paraprofessional fields.

  • Includes full text
  • OT seeker (connect | more information)

    OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. Trials have been critically appraised and rated to assist you to evaluate their validity and interpretability. These ratings will help you to judge the quality and usefulness of trials for informing clinical interventions. In one database, OTseeker provides you with fast and easy access to trials from a wide range of sources.

    OTDBASE : O.T. journal search service. (connect | more information)

    "OTDBASE, a Canadian-based and Canadian-developed occupational therapy journal literature search service, is the only internet-based indexing and abstracting service that contains over 5000 abstracts from over 20 national and international occupational therapy journals dated from 1970 to the present."--http://www.caot.ca/otnow/july01-eng/july01-otdbase.cfm.

    Ovid MEDLINE (connect | more information)

    Ovid MEDLINE is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database providing information from the following fields: medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health and pre-clinical sciences. The MEDLINE database is the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index.
    See also:
    Medline in-process & other non-indexed citations
    Medline 1950 to present with daily update
    OldMedline 1950-1965
    Medline in-process & other non-indexed citations,Medline daily, MEDLINE and OldMedline 1950-present
    On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

    PEDro : physiotherapy evidence database (connect | more information)

    PEDro is a free, web-based database of evidence relevant to physiotherapy. It contains citations of over 5,500 randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines relevant to physiotherapy. Where possible, abstracts and links to full-text versions of the documents are also provided.

     


    Other resources

    AMI : Australasian medical index (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database indexes and abstracts articles from more than 160 Australian health and medical journals, most of which are not indexed for MEDLINE. Some key Australian journals which are also covered in MEDLINE have been indexed since 2001. Other source documents include conference proceedings, government reports, selected monographs and National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) session reports. Emphasis is on clinical medicine and paraprofessional fields.

  • Includes full text

  • See also: Meditext

    Anatomy.tv (connect | more information)

    Presents a detailed interactive model of the Human Anatomy. Contains complete anatomical 3D models from skin to bone for various body parts. Includes biomechanical animations, dynamic MRI, and movie clips to supplement the 3D model. Leading practitioners in each field provide explanations of the illustrations.

  • Includes full text
  • Cochrane library (connect | more information)

    A key resource for evidence-based medicine that integrates clinical expertise with systematic research, especially in relation to the effects of health care. Produced by the international Cochrane Collaboration, the Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane database of systematic reviews (CochraneDSR), the Database of abstracts of reviews of effects (DARE), the NHS economic evaluation database, the Cochrane central register of controlled trials (CENTRAL) and the Health technology assessment database. Search results are usually a mix of full text systematic reviews, structured abstracts and citations with abstract.

  • Includes full text

  • See also:
    ACP Journal Club
    CochraneDSR
    CENTRAL
    Cochrane Methodology Register
    DARE
    Health Technology Assessment
    NHS Economic Evaluation Database

    EBM reviews (connect | more information)

    A key resource for evidence-based medicine that integrates clinical expertise with systematic research, especially in relation to the effects of health care. For a comprehensive search, simultaneously search All EBM Reviews: the CochraneDSR, ACP Journal Club, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, (Cochrane methodology register, Health technology assessment, NHS economic evaluation database) and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials. Search results are usually a mix of full text systematic reviews, structured abstracts and citations with abstract.

  • Includes full text

  • See also:
    Cochrane Library
    ACP Journal Club
    CochraneDSR
    CENTRAL
    Cochrane Methodology Register
    DARE
    Health Technology Assessment
    NHS Economic Evaluation Database
    On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

    EMBASE.com (connect | more information)

    EMBASE.com provides access to over 16 million validated biomedical and pharmacological bibliographic records from EMBASE and MEDLINE (produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine). The database can be searched by field, drug, disease and article. Journal titles can also be browsed.

    Joanna Briggs Institute (connect | more information)

    Homepage of the Institute which provides a collaborative approach to the evaluation of research and its integration into nursing practice. Includes information about the Institute, its membership and activities, links and its research. This web site also provides access to a resource for teaching evidence based health care to university students. The resource - RAPid (Rapid Appraisal Protocol Internet Database) - has been developed specifically for students of medicine, nursing, midwifery, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, podiatry, medical radiation, dietetics and other health sciences.

  • Includes full text
  • Proquest health & medical complete (connect | more information)

    ProQuest Health and Medical Complete combines the clinical research titles available in ProQuest Medical Library with hundreds of additional consumer and health administration titles. It provides in-depth coverage from over 1,200 publications with more than 965 available in full text and of these, over 770 include MEDLINEżż indexing. In addition, the database includes all charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to medical research. The journals cover all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, surgery, and others.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    PsycINFO (connect | more information)

    PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database that provides citations with abstracts to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.PsycINFO contains more than 2 million records spanning 1806 to the present. Journal coverage includes material selected from approximately 2,000 periodicals. Chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present; however, there is a substantial number of records covering books published earlier.
    See also:
    PsycINFO 2000 to present
    PsycINFO 1985 to present
    PsycINFO 1967 to present
    PsycINFO 1806 to present
    On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

    SPORTDiscus with full text (connect | more information)

    With over 230 full text titles, SPORTDiscus with Full Text ia a bibliographic and full text database covering both serial and monographic literature on sports, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law and legislation, disabled athletes, sports facility design and management, intramural and school sports, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention, rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, occupational health and therapy. With full bibliographic coverage, this database includes more than 750,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800; over 20,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages.

  • Includes full text
  •  

    Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat.
    Your opinion Feedback form for Monash staff and students | Feedback form for visitors

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    New electronic resources on trial
    Provide your feedback:
    Trial databases
    Accessing databases