Skip to content | Change text size

Physics

Key resources

INSPEC (connect | more information)

Database providing access to bibliographic citations and abstracts of the scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and computing and information technology. Material covered includes journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations, patents and books published around the world.

 


Other resources

Academic earth (connect | more information)

The site offers 60 full courses and 2,395 total lectures (almost 1300 hours of video) from Yale, MIT, Harvard, Stanford, UC Berkeley, and Princeton that can be browsed by subject, university, or instructor through a user-friendly interface. Additionally, editors have compiled lectures from different speakers into Playlists such as ¿¿¿Understanding the Financial Crisis¿¿¿ and ¿¿¿First Day Of Freshman Year.¿¿¿ The site also features a roster of famous guest lecturers on entrepreneurship and technology including Larry Page, Carol Bartz, Tim Draper, Elon Musk, and Guy Kawasaki. [Richard] Ludlow launched Academic Earth with the goal of building a user-friendly platform for educational video that would let anyone be able to freely access instruction from the scholars and guest lecturers at the leading academic universities.--Leena Rao, TechCrunch website.

Academic research library (connect | more information)

From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 3,820 title--over 2,550 in full text--from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    AIAA eJournal archive (connect | more information)

    AIAA is the world's largest professional society devoted to the progress of engineering and science in aviation, space, and defence. This searchable archive comprises AIAA's flagship journals from 1963 to the present.

  • Includes full text
  • AIAA meeting papers (connect | more information)

    Every year, AIAA publishes about 6,000 papers from 20 to 30 technical conferences. Covering every aspect of aerospace, they represent the most important - and most complete - source of recent research results and innovative thinking in everything from engineering and science to policy and standards. This is a searchable full text database of all nonclassified papers presented at the American Institute of Aeronautics & Astronautics meetings, from 1963 to the present. Contains author, title, paper number, and conference date and location information for papers presented at AIAA meetings.

  • Includes full text
  • arXiv.org e-print archive (connect | more information)

    arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics.

    Australian nuclear science & technology information : ANSTI (connect | more information)

    ANSTI provides access to over 34,000 bibliographical references (most with abstracts) to Australian scientific and technical literature covering the broad spectrum of nuclear science research and development, with special emphasis on its peaceful applications and the economic and environmental aspects of non-nuclear energy. It indexes all relevant Australian publications and all relevant Australian authored material including non-published material from 1970.

    CRCnetBASE (connect | more information)

    A collection of online databases providing a portal to some of the world's major reference works, scientific journals and other resources. Covers a wide range of areas of scientific research from Toxicology, Engineering, Chemistry to Neuroscience, Mathematics and others.

  • Includes full text
  • CSIRO journals (connect | more information)

    Full text access of CSIRO journals, produced in cooperation with several Australian and New Zealand scientific societies, present the latest research by leading Australian and overseas scientists. All journals are peer reviewed with international readership.

  • Includes full text
  • Dekker Encyclopedia of nanoscience and nanotechnology (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • Digital encyclopedia of applied physics (connect | more information)

    The Encyclopedia of Applied Physics provides the basic prinicples and in-depth coverage of all technically pertinent areas of modern day physics, coupled with technological applications from real life as well as the neighbouring fields of engineering and material sciences. The encyclopedia comprehensively covers such specific topics as: optics, laser physics, solid state and semiconductor physics, atom and nuclear physics and biophysics.

  • Includes full text
  • Emilio Segre¿¿ visual archives (connect | more information)

    A collection of more than 25,000 historical photographs, slides, lithographs, engravings, and other visual materials, the Emilio Segre¿¿ Visual Archives focuses on American physicists and astronomers of the twentieth century, but includes many scientists in Europe and elsewhere, in other fields related to physics, and in earlier times.

    Encyclopedia of astronomy and astrophysics (connect | more information)

    Covering the entire field of astronomy and astrophysics, this online encyclopedia includes the full text of over 2,750 articles, plus search and retrieval functionality, links to the primary literature, and is frequently updated with new material. Main subject areas covered include: cosmology; galaxies; interstellar medium; stars; solar system; sun; earth; coordinates, time and motion; instrumentation and observational techniques; theoretical concepts and tools; space missions; organisations and institutions; history and archaeastronomy; amateur astronomy, education and public impact.

  • Includes full text
  • Encyclopedia of physical science and technology (connect | more information)

    This completely revised third edition, which is a university and professional level compendium of chemistry, molecular biology, mathematics, and engineering, is refreshed with numerous articles about current research in these fields. For example, the new edition has an increased emphasis on information processing and biotechnology, reflecting the rapid growth of these areas.

  • Includes full text
  • Engineering village (connect | more information)

    This online service provides access to bibliographic databases within the scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines to which Monash University Library subscribes. These databases include: Compendex, EI Backfile, Inspec, NTIS, Referex Engineering, Patents, GEOBASE, GeoRef and CRC ENGnetBASE. Source documents comprise journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, dissertations, patents and books published from around the world.

  • Includes full text
  • Handbook of magnetism and advanced magnetic materials (connect | more information)

    Provides a state-of-the-art, comprehensive overview of our current understanding of the fundamental properties of magnetically ordered materials, and their use in a wide range of sophisticated applications.

  • Includes full text
  • International tables for crystallography (connect | more information)

    "The series comprises articles and tables of data relevant to crystallographic research and to applications of crystallographic methods in all sciences concerned with the structure and properties of materials. Emphasis is given to symmetry, diffraction methods and techniques of crystal structure determination, and the physical and chemical properties of crystals. Each volume also contains discussions of theory, practical explanations and examples, all of which are useful for teaching."--Home page.

  • Includes full text
  • Intute. Science, engineering, & technology (connect | more information)

    "Intute is a free online service providing ... access to the very best Web resources for education and research. The service is created by a network of UK universities and partners. Subject specialists select and evaluate the websites in our database and write high quality descriptions of the resources." -- Intute home page.

  • Includes full text
  • IoP electronic journals (connect | more information)

    Provides access to the Institute of Physics electronic journals for registered institutions.

  • Includes full text
  • Knovel library (connect | more information)

    Knovel's Library provides access to over 800 reference works, handbooks and databases. The content covers subject areas in the fields of Chemistry and the Life Sciences; Materials; and Engineering. The collection is continually expanding. Sourced from major Sci-tech publishers including John Wiley & Sons, McGraw-Hill and Elsevier, the data is enhanced with time-saving analytical tools to help analyze and manipulate the data.

  • Includes full text

  • List of full text titles available

    KPjournal (connect | more information)

    Provides full text access to 18 science/engineering journals and research papers published in North Korea in the fields of Natural Science (Biology, Physics, Chemistry), Geography, Medical, Pharmacology, Engineering, Mineralogy.

  • Includes full text
  • MathSciNet (connect | more information)

    MathSciNet is a bibliographic database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940. It is created and maintained by the American Mathematical Society. Journals, conference proceedings, and books of mathematics research are covered.

    NANOnetBASE (connect | more information)

    At the forefront of nanoscience and nanotechnology, these works come from top international experts affiliated with the most prestigious institutions in the field. This site now includes the award-winning Dekker Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology, the leading nano reference available today. Up to 47 titles are available for browsing or searching.

  • Includes full text
  • PHYSICSnetBASE (connect | more information)

    From astrophysics to quantum physics, materials science to optoelectronics, this unified library offers both fundamental theories as well as contemporary investigations of time, matter, and space. It includes many volumes from the world-renowned Institute of Physics.

  • Includes full text
  • Richard Feynman : the Messenger series (connect | more information)

    "[Project Tuva] site hosts the Messenger Lectures series titled The Character of Physical Law given at Cornell University by Richard Feynman in 1964 and recorded by the BBC.The project [is] a collaborative effort between Bill Gates and Microsoft Research that is designed to demonstrate the potential of enhanced video to teach people about the "core scientific concepts" of Feynman's lectures using interactive media. According to his video introduction, Gates saw the lectures when he was younger. He enjoyed the physics concepts and Feynman's lecturing style, and later acquired the rights to make the video available to the public. [Included in the video lectures] is expert commentary from Stephen D. Ellis of the University of Washington and the Student Physics Society at the University of Washington. The Silverlight application also includes text search over transcripts (which are shown synchronized with the video), support for time-stamped note-taking, and "Extras" that complement the video with external links, formulae, interactive demonstrations, and embedded WorldWide Telescope astronomical objects and tours. --Wikipedia, viewed August 4, 2009.

    SciFinder Scholar (connect | more information)

    SciFinder Scholar is a bibliographic database for chemistry, chemical engineering, and many other scientific areas. It allows searching by author name, research topic, company (or institution) and chemical substance or reaction and by chemical structure. It provides access to journals, books, conferences, patents, dissertations and technical reports. The information is retrieved from several Chemical Abstracts Service databases, including CAPLUS (1907 to present), CASREACT (1974 to present), and CAS Registry (1957 to present), and also from MEDLINE (1958 to present).
    SciFinder Scholar 2007
    Restricted to 7 simultaneous users

    Due to regular maintenance, this service is not available on Sundays between 14:00 - 17:00 hours AED, except the first Sunday of each month between 09:00 - 17:00 hours AEST
    Off campus: Not available
    Library access: Designated machine in the Hargrave Andrew Library. Monash staff and students only.
    On campus access: Install the SciFinder software to your PC. Monash Student Authcate / respectively Staff Authcate required. THIS WILL NOT WORK IN STUDENT LABS.

    SciFinder Scholar Support Information

    Scitation (connect | more information)

    Provides access to abstracts and to selective full text of journals published and distributed by the American Institute of Physics and its member societies as well as American Society of Civil Engineers journals. Subject coverage includes physics, astronomy, electronics, engineering, and materials science.

  • Includes full text
  • SPIE digital library (connect | more information)

    The SPIE Digital Library is the most extensive resource available on optics and photonics, providing access to more than 230,000 technical papers from SPIE journals and conference proceedings from 1990 to present. More than 17,000 new research papers are added annually.

  • Includes full text
  • SPIRES-HEP (connect | more information)

    The SPIRES-HEP database has been run by the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center (SLAC) since the late 1960's as a comprehensive database of particle physics literature and information relevant to high-energy particle physics. In 1991 it became the first web-site in North America and now attracts around 50,000 searches per day from particle physicists.

    Web of science (connect | more information)

    Web of Science provides access to journal citations, selected abstracts and cited references contained in three separate ISI citation databases: Science citation index expanded (SCI-Expanded); Social sciences citation index (SSCI); and, Arts & humanities citation index (A&HCI). Also added in 2008: Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S)--1990-present, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)--1990-present. Citation databases are used to follow a line of research from a known older key piece of work (book, journal article, unpublished work, etc) to more recent research by searching the reference lists of recent journal articles. Although not its primary strength, Web of Science could be useful for cross disciplinary searching.

    Wiley InterScience (connect | more information)

    A searchable database providing access to to over 3 million articles across nearly 1500 journals and 7000 Online Books and major reference works. It also holds industry leading databases such as The Cochrane Library, chemistry databases and the acclaimed Current Protocols laboratory manuals. Online Journals comprise three major collections: 1. Medicine and Nursing. 2. Science, Technology and Medicine. 3. Social Sciences and Humanities. OnlineBooks offer flexible electronic access to thousands of Wiley books from a broad range of subject areas. Reference Works deliver unimpeded access to multi-volume encyclopedias, handbooks and dictionaries within every category of scientific, technical and medical endeavor.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: The Library has not bought access to all of the electronic books listed here. If you are denied access to the full text of any book here and want the Library to subscribe, please complete a Purchase suggestion form and we will consider your request.

     

    Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat.
    Your opinion Feedback form for Monash staff and students | Feedback form for visitors

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    See also
    New electronic resources on trial
    Provide your feedback:
    Trial databases
    Accessing databases