Skip to content | Change text size

Political science

Key resources

APA-FT - Australian Public Affairs - full text (connect | more information)

Indexing and full text database that provides access to published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.

  • Includes full text

  • See also: APAIS : Australian public affairs information service

    International bibliography of the social sciences : IBSS (connect | more information)

    The International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) is an online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research. Incorporating over 100 languages and countries, IBSS includes nearly two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books included each year. Abstracts are provided for half of all current journal articles and full text availability is continually increasing.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    Worldwide political science abstracts (connect | more information)

    "Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. The database is building on the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts, published by IFI / Plenum, 1975-2000, and ABC POL SCI, published by ABC-CLIO, 1984-2000. Since 2000, development of the serials list has focused on expanding international coverage. As of November 2005 approximately 1,500+ titles are being monitored for coverage; of these, 67% are published outside the United States."--Publisher description.
    Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

     


    Other resources

    19th century British pamphlets (connect | more information)

    This project, conceived by the Research Libraries UK (RLUK) and funded by the JISC Digitisation Programme, preserves and provides online access to [over 25,000] of the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in UK research libraries. Selected by RLUK, the pamphlets provide users with a wide focus on the political, social, and economic issues of 19th century Britain.--Home page. Includes seven individual collections held at universities within the UK, many of which are whole collections that belonged to individual politicians or political families. These are: Bristol Selected pamphlets, Cowen Tracts, Earl Grey Pamphlets collection, Foreign and Commonwealth Office collection, Hume Tracts, Knowsley Pamphlet collection, and LSE Selected pamphlets.

  • Includes full text
  • Academic earth (connect | more information)

    The site offers 60 full courses and 2,395 total lectures (almost 1300 hours of video) from Yale, MIT, Harvard, Stanford, UC Berkeley, and Princeton that can be browsed by subject, university, or instructor through a user-friendly interface. Additionally, editors have compiled lectures from different speakers into Playlists such as ¿¿¿Understanding the Financial Crisis¿¿¿ and ¿¿¿First Day Of Freshman Year.¿¿¿ The site also features a roster of famous guest lecturers on entrepreneurship and technology including Larry Page, Carol Bartz, Tim Draper, Elon Musk, and Guy Kawasaki. [Richard] Ludlow launched Academic Earth with the goal of building a user-friendly platform for educational video that would let anyone be able to freely access instruction from the scholars and guest lecturers at the leading academic universities.--Leena Rao, TechCrunch website.

    Afghanistan and the U.S., 1945-1963 (connect | more information)

    This collection of U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relating to internal and foreign affairs contain a wide range of materials from U.S. diplomats about Afghanistan in the period 1945 to 1963, including: special reports on political and military affairs; studies and statistics on socioeconomic matters; interviews and minutes of meetings with foreign government officials; court proceedings and other legal documents ... It consists of thousands of pages arranged topically and chronologically on crucial subjects, such as: political parties and elections; unrest and revolution; human rights; government; administration; fiscal and monetary issues; labor; housing; police and crime; public health; national defense; foreign policymaking; wars and alliances; education; religion; culture; trade; industry; foreign relations; natural resources.

  • Includes full text
  • Alternative press index (connect | more information)

    "Alternative Press Index (API) is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Born of the New Left, the API was launched in 1969 to provide access to the emerging theories and practices of radical social change. API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary. Coverage begins in 1991. With over 344,000 records, the API is considered the most comprehensive and up-to-date guide to alternative sources of information available."--Publisher description.

    Aluka (connect | more information)

    "Aluka is an international, collaborative initiative building an online digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa ... The Aluka website includes a wide variety of high-quality scholarly materials contributed by Aluka's partners, ranging from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, manuscripts, and reference works, to three-dimensional models, maps, oral histories, plant specimens, photographs, and slides."--History and mission page. The three main content areas are: 1. African cultural heritage sites and landscapes. 2. African plants. 3. Struggles for freedom in Southern Africa (focuses on the complex and varied liberation struggles in the region, with an initial concentration on six nations: Angola, Botswana, Mozambique, South Africa, Namibia, and Zimbabwe).

  • Includes full text
  • Amsterdam University Press [collection] (connect | more information)

    A searchable database of over 700 electronic books published by Amsterdam University Press, with special emphasis in the areas of the humanities (language and literature, history, film studies, art) and social sciences.

  • Includes full text
  • APAIS : Australian public affairs information service (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic database that indexes published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences. Inclusive coverage from 1978 to present.
    See also: Australian Public Affairs - Full Text

    Australian Federation full text database (connect | more information)

    This database provides access to the key primary source texts of Australian Federation, including the official reports of the debates of the 1890s, the major participants' accounts and memoirs, as well as a number of important related texts.

  • Includes full text
  • Australian government and politics database (connect | more information)

    A database of elections, governments, parties and representation for Australian state and federal parliaments since 1890.

  • Includes full text
  • Australian local government guide (connect | more information)

    Provides access to over 800 profiles of local councils and municipal authorities throughout Australia. Each entry includes contact information for councillors and senior officers, as well as information about local population, industry, expenditure, services and tourist features. Downloadable ready made lists in MS Excel format are available. Details in each list include: contact, title, address, website address and e-mail address.

    Australian policy online (connect | more information)

    With nearly 120 member centres and institutes, Australian Policy Online offers easy access to much of the best Australian social, economic, cultural and political research available online.

  • Includes full text
  • Bristol selected pamphlets (connect | more information)

    Bristol has a substantial collection of 19th century pamphlets, including the National Liberal Club collection, with pamphlets from the libraries of Charles Bradlaugh, John Noble, the Liberation Society, the Land Nationalisation Society, the Cobden Club, and others. Bristol's collection is especially strong on 19th century commerce, economics, finance, politics, religion and sociology. In addition to publications by Liberal Party members, it includes many pamphlets from other political parties.--Publisher description.

  • Includes full text
  • British humanities index : BHI (connect | more information)

    "An international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, BHI indexes almost 400 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK. Subjects covered include: Archaeology, Current Affairs, Education, Economics, Environment, Gender Studies, History, Law, Political Science and Religion."--Publisher description.
    Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    Canadian encyclopedia : historica (connect | more information)

    "The full text of The Canadian Encyclopedia and its related resources has been made available online by the Historica Foundation as a public service since 1999. Since its publication in book form in 1985, The Canadian Encyclopedia has provided the most comprehensive, objective and accurate source of information on Canada for students, readers and scholars across Canada and throughout the world. As a first source for information on all Canadian topics The Canadian Encyclopedia has continued to grow through several iterations in print and on CD-ROM, culminating in this online version published by the Historica Foundation."-- About webpage.

  • Includes full text
  • China academic journals full-text database (connect | more information)

    A comprehensive, full-text database of Chinese journals. It contains more than 7,200 journals starting from 1915, sourced from core journals and speciality journals from mainland China. Monash University Library has access to three of the ten series databases comprising 3, 350 journals - 1. Literature/History/Philosophy, 2. Economics/Politics/Law, and 3. Education/Social Science.

  • Includes full text
  • Cities of the world (connect | more information)

    A compilation of current information on cultural, geographic, and political conditions in 193 countries and their cities covering six continents, based on the Department of State's Post Reports. Maps and photos of many cities included.

  • Includes full text
  • Columbia University Press collection (connect | more information)

    A cross-disciplinary database of over 500 electronic books from the Columbia University Press, the fourth oldest university press in the United States.

    Conditions & politics in occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945 (connect | more information)

    Conditions and Politics in Occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945 is a fully searchable database of over 22,000 British Government records or almost 180,000 images or pages taken from PRO class FO 371 in The National Archives at Kew. It provides researchers with a logical, interdisciplinary research resource, and allows this unique primary source material (predominantly in English, but containing some documents in a variety of Western European languages) to be quickly accessed by academics and students, writers and researchers. In addition to document files from The National Archives this digital edition includes a picture gallery illustrating key British operations, SOE equipment and individuals, clips from Now it Can Be Told from the Imperial War Museum, London, showing actual SOE agents reconstructing sabotage and intelligence operations in occupied France, a film begun in complete secrecy in 1944 and released in 1946, and The Chronology and Index of the Second World War, 1938-1945, compiled by The Royal Institute of International Affairs.

  • Includes full text
  • Cornell modern Indonesia collection (connect | more information)

    "The Cornell Modern Indonesia Project (CMIP) was initiated in the 1950s by faculty members in Cornell's Southeast Asia Program who were committed to making contemporary analyses of Indonesia and translations of its important documents available to scholars and students. The 75 titles in this series are divided into four categories: Interim Reports, Translations, Monographs, and Bibliographies. These works capture the drama of Indonesia's political and social evolution through the twentieth century: its struggle for independence from the Dutch under the leadership of Sukarno, reactions to the Japanese Occupation, the development of its civil government, its civil insurgencies, and the conditions that prevailed throughout the long dictatorship of General Suharto. A few other works in this series, such as Benedict Anderson's Mythology and the Tolerance of the Javanese, reflect on earlier Indonesian history relevant to the modern nation."--Home page.

  • Includes full text
  • Cowen tracts (connect | more information)

    Personal collection of Joseph Cowen (1829-1900). A social reformer and Member of Parliament for Newcastle (1873-86), Cowen's pamphlet collection dates, mostly, from his active years from the late 1840s to early 1880s. The collection reflects his interests in social, educational and economic issues and includes much local material.--Publisher description

  • Includes full text
  • Crikey : [website] (connect | more information)

    The Crikey website presents a selection of Crikey's original content along with links to stories from all corners of the web, and includes "independent news, blogs and commentary on politics, media, business, the environment and life." The website also has Crikey Daily Mail, which is sent out daily to subscribers. This email edition of 25 or more original stories is crammed with news, analysis, insider gossip, reviews and prescient tips about politics, media, business, the law, culture and national and international affairs. The Monash access does not include Daily Mail, but all Crikey Daily Mail articles are also posted on the website, which is accessible by password to Monash library users. (Once in the site, click on the Login link at the top of the home page to access Daily Mail, and enter the password and email address from the Monash login page)

  • Includes full text
  • CSA Illumina (connect | more information)

    This Internet service provides access to databases covering all subject disciplines. Monash University Library currently subscribes to 17 databases in the following fields: humanities, environmental sciences, art, pharmacy, language and linguistics, education, library science, criminology, political science, and sociology.

  • Includes full text
  • Current contents connect (connect | more information)

    Current Contents Connect is a multidisciplinary current awareness Web resource providing access to complete bibliographic information of the world's leading scholarly journals (over 8,000 of the world's leading scholarly journals and more than 2,000 books) Coverage includes complete bibliographic information from articles, editorials, meeting abstracts, commentaries, and other significant published materials. [It] also allows you to search a premium collection of evaluated scholarly Web sites and access evaluated, full-text Web documents in three general resource types: preprints, funding information, and research activities. Current Contents Connect is published in seven editions and two collections. Monash University Library users have access to all of these.

    DISA : Digital Innovation South Africa (connect | more information)

    Covering the four key decades in the growth of opposition to apartheid rule, a period when the African National Congress (ANC), black consciousness, and other resistance movements were very active, this database provides access to the full text of approximately forty South African periodical titles of high socio-political interest that would otherwise be difficult to locate and use. The titles have been selected from a very comprehensive list, with a view to presenting not only a wide spectrum of political views published during these years, but also a diversity of subjects such as trade unions, religion, health, culture, and gender. Publications reflecting both black and white viewpoints are included, and an attempt has been made to represent distinctive regional variations.

  • Includes full text
  • Earl Grey pamphlets collection (connect | more information)

    Still owned by the family, this collection was largely accumulated by the 2nd, 3rd and 4th Earls Grey. Charles was Foreign Secretary (1806-07) and Prime Minister (1830-34). Henry George was Under Secretary for Home Affairs (1830) and the Colonies (1830-34), Secretary at War (1835-39), and Secretary of State for the Colonies (1846-52). Albert Henry George was Administrator of Rhodesia (1896-97) and Governor-General of Canada (1904-11). The Greys were particularly interested in parliamentary reform, colonial affairs and Catholic emancipation.--Publisher description.

  • Includes full text
  • Ebook library (connect | more information)

    Ebook library (EBL) is a searchable collection of ebooks, offering content across all subject areas, from major academic publishers worldwide. Publishers included are Taylor & Francis, Palgrave Macmillan, Cambridge University Press, Kluwer Academic, Springer, World Scientific and others. Ebooks can be viewed online or downloaded to a computer or PDA. EBL offers full-text search capability across the database.

  • Includes full text
  • ECONOMICSnetBASE (connect | more information)

    Offering up to 580 full text titles from Routledge, this database covers the broad areas of economics, business management and public administration.

  • Includes full text
  • Edinburgh University Press [collection] (connect | more information)

    Database of over 280 electronic books published by Edinburgh University Press. This Press is the premier scholarly publisher in Scotland of academic books and journals and one of the leading university presses in the UK. Main subject areas covered include: African studies; American studies; Classics; Critical editions; Film & media studies; Historical studies; Islamic studies; Language & linguistics; Law; Literary studies; Philosophy; Politics; Reference; Religion; Science and medical, and Scottish studies.--IG Publishing.

  • Includes full text
  • Eighteenth century journals (connect | more information)

    Portal to newspapers and periodicals c1685-1815 offers integrated access to the Hope Collection at the Bodleian Library, Oxford (Eighteenth Century Journals I), the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center University of Texas (Eighteenth Century Journals II), the British Library Newspapers, Colindale and Cambridge University Library (Eighteenth Century Journals III) and Chetham's Library and the Brotherton Library (Eighteenth Century Journals IV). It brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics include: the writings of Sir Isaac Newton; the French Revolution; reviews of literature, the theater, and fashion throughout Europe; the origins and rise of Romanticism; political debates; gender, religion, influence of the press, and coffee house gossip and discussion.

  • Includes full text
  • Electronic journals and newspapers on Africa (connect | more information)

    An annotated archive of links to African Studies Electronic Journals and Newspapers. Columbia University's collection of African Studies Internet Resources is an on-going compilation of electronic bibliographic resources and research materials on Africa available on the global Internet, created under the purview of the African Studies Department of Columbia University Libraries.

  • Includes full text
  • EU bookshop digital library (connect | more information)

    EU Bookshop is an online service giving access to publications from the EU institutions, agencies and other bodies. Now the EU Bookshop Digital Library will provide access to 12 million scanned pages in more than 110,000 EU publications. Launched at the Frankfurt Book Fair on the 16 October [2009], it offers all publications edited by the Publications Office on behalf of the EU institutions, agencies and other bodies since 1952. Access the digital library by selecting the option ¿¿¿Digital Library¿¿¿ in the search pages.

  • Includes full text
  • Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)

    Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals.

  • Includes full text
  • Foreign and Commonwealth Office collection (connect | more information)

    On deposit from the FCO, this collection comprises the earlier collections of the Foreign Office and the Colonial Office. Both include rare publications from overseas. The Foreign Office Collection consists largely of pamphlets sent back to London by British ambassadors to help with policy formation. It is particularly rich in material related to South America, the Near East, and to the various great European political "questions" of the 19th century. The Colonial Office Collection is chiefly comprised of pamphlets sent back from Britain's colonies, including some unique early material from Australasia.--Publisher description.

  • Includes full text
  • House of Commons parliamentary papers (connect | more information)

    HCPP online is a major source for information on 19th and 20th-century Britain, its colonies, and the wider world. Includes all sessional papers issued by the House of Commons between 1801-2003/04, including Bills, Reports of Royal Commissions, Reports of Select Committees, Accounts and Papers, and Command Papers. Monash University Library has access to the following collections: 19th century (1801-1900) and 20th century (1901-2003/04 session)

  • Includes full text
  • Humanities & social sciences collection (connect | more information)

    "Covers [full text sources] in agriculture, arts, Asian studies, business, cultural studies, education, history, indigenous studies, law, media, political science, reference, social sciences, science and technology. Content sources include peer reviewed journals, monographs and books, conference proceedings, research papers and reference materials sourced and indexed by RMIT Publishing."--Informit home page.

  • Includes full text
  • Hume tracts (connect | more information)

    Personal collection of Joseph Hume (1777-1855), Radical Member of Parliament. Hume's collection covers the major political, economic and social developments and reforms taking place in Britain in the early part of the 19th century along with the causes he particularly championed, such as universal suffrage, Catholic emancipation, a reduction in the power of the Anglican church and an end to imprisonment for debt.--Publisher description.

  • Includes full text
  • Illustrated London news historical archive, 1842-2003 (connect | more information)

    "The Illustrated London News Historical Archive gives students and researchers unprecedented online access to the entire run of the ILN from its first publication on 14 May 1842 to its last in 2003. Each page has been digitally reproduced in full colour and every article and caption is full-text searchable with hit-term highlighting and links to corresponding illustrations."

  • Includes full text
  • Index Islamicus (connect | more information)

    Index to literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes citations to over 2,000 journals, conference proceedings, monographs, and book reviews from 1906 to present.

    Indiastat.com : revealing India-- statistically. (connect | more information)

    Provides India-specific socio-economic statistical facts and figures culled from various secondary level authentic sources. Includes statistics on health, higher education, agricultural and industrial production, economic statistics and tourism related data . Also provides data on sectors like banking and financial institutions, companies, co-operatives, crime and law, population, foreign trade, labour and workforce, housing, media, power, transport, urban-rural settlements, etc. Data and statistics can easily be downloaded in MS-Excel/Word/ and HTML formats.

  • Includes full text

  • Note:for access to full text, click on "IP Login"
    Restricted to 1 simultaneous user.

    Indigenous collection (connect | more information)

    "With a broad range of international Indigenous research resources brought together, the Informit Indigenous Collection offers a variety of content on both historical and topical issues within Indigenous studies. Readily available, the multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary framework encompasses anthropology, community development, cultural studies, economics, education, health, history, human geography, law and land rights, literature, politics and policymaking, (post)colonial studies, psychology, race studies, sociology and visual and performing arts. With material from Australia, Canada, Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand, North America and The Pacific which normally is not easily located in standard recourses, IIC is a platform for Indigenous worldviews."--Publisher description.

  • Includes full text
  • Informit e-library : humanities & social sciences collection. See: Humanities & social sciences collection (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • Informit plus text (connect | more information)

    Informit Plus Text databases deliver access to index and abstract data from peer reviewed journals with selective links to thousands of articles in full text. Each Plus Text database is based upon established indexes relating to public affairs, education, law and family studies produced by key content partners including the National Library of Australia, Australian Council for Educational Research, Commonwealth Attorney-General's Department, and the Australian Institute of Family Studies. Databases include: 1. A+ Education. 2. AGIS Plus Text. 3. Australian Public Affairs - Full Text. 4. Family & Society Plus.-- Product information page.

  • Includes full text
  • Institute of Southeast Asian studies collection (connect | more information)

    A searchable database of over 200 electronic books published by the Institute of Southeast Asian Studies. The Institute is a major publisher of scholarly books and journals on Southeast Asia and the Asia-Pacific, focusing on economics, politics, and social issues.

    Iraq, 1914-1974 (connect | more information)

    Iraq 1914-1974, offers a broad range of original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers (over 68,650 pages or approximately 400 British government files on Iraqi affairs). It presents British government and diplomatic documents -- dispatches, monthly and annual reports, minutes, official correspondence and other primary source documents -- covering the political and administrative history of the modern state which has emerged from the ancient civilization of Mesopotamia. Selected by Dr. Charles Tripp, School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London, these documents cover the political history of Iraq in the 20th century, from the outbreak of World War I to the emergence of Saddam Hussein as a leading member of the revolutionary Ba'ath party in the 1970s. Photographs and colour maps, as well as contemporary film, help bring this vital strand of modern history to life.

  • Includes full text
  • Knowsley pamphlet collection (connect | more information)

    The Knowsley collection reflects the political careers of the Earls of Derby. Edward George, the 14th Earl, was successively Irish Secretary (1830-33), Colonial Secretary (1833-34, 1841-44), and three times Prime Minister (1852, 1858-59, and 1866-68). His son, Edward Henry, 15th Earl, was Colonial Secretary and later Indian secretary in his father's administration of 1858-59.--Publisher description.

  • Includes full text
  • Kungnip Chungang Toso¿¿gwan Cho¿¿nja Toso¿¿gwan= The National Library of Korea Digital Library (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • LSE selected pamphlets (connect | more information)

    LSE has a substantial number of 19th century pamphlets. Among its pamphlets are comprehensive collections of political party materials, including election manifestos and political cartoons. There are also collections from pressure groups such as the Fabian Society, Imperial Federation Defence Committee, Poor Law Reform Association, Workhouse Visiting Society, Liberal and Property Defence League, and from cooperative movements such as the Cooperative Women's Guild.--Publisher description.

  • Includes full text
  • Middle East Research and Information Project : MERIP (connect | more information)

    Presents the Middle East Research and Information Project (MERIP), a project to educate the public about the contemporary Middle East. Posts contact information for the headquarters in Washington, D.C., and contains information on MERIP's educational materials service. Also, includes news analysis and commentaries on issues concering the Middle East not found in the quarterly journal. The site also provides access to the full text of the quarterly journal, Middle East report, from 2000 to the present, with plans to extend coverage back to 1971.

  • Includes full text
  • MILITARYnetBASE (connect | more information)

    Exploring war history, weaponry, superpower politics, and the cold war, as well as terrorism and current security concerns, this site, featuring works from Routledge, offers the authoritative data and diverse commentary that both scholars and policymakers require. Up to 116 titles are available for searching or browsing.

  • Includes full text
  • MIPT terrorism knowledge base (connect | more information)

    The MIPT Terrorism Knowledge Base is a comprehensive resource for research and analysis on global terrorist incidents, terrorism-related court cases, and terrorist groups and leaders. It takes users through the history, affiliations, locations, and tactics of the terrorism entities operating across the world at this moment. The database features interactive maps, biographies on key terrorist personalities, dynamic graphs, and summaries on who is who and what is what inside the world of terrorism today. The Terrorism Knowledge Base integrates data from the RAND Terrorism Chronology 1968-1997; RAND-MIPT Terrorism Incident database (1998-Present); Terrorism Indictment database (University of Arkansas); and DFI International's research on terrorist organizations.

  • Includes full text
  • National guide to government (connect | more information)

    This authoritative guide to government includes profiles and contact information of federal and state politicians, official titles and names of all senior diplomats, and correct forms of address for correspondence to every Member of Parliament, senior public servant, and vice-regal representative in Australia. Details of over 1870 federal and state departments, 1500 biographies and downloadable ready made lists in MS Excel format are available.

    Nixon years, 1969-1974 (connect | more information)

    The Nixon Years, 1969-1974 covers Richard Nixon's entire presidential term and allows scholars and researchers the opportunity to assess, from a British, European and Commonwealth perspective, Nixon's handling of numerous Cold War crises, his administration's achievements, as well as his increasingly controversial activities and unorthodox use of executive powers culminating in Watergate and resignation. Top level Anglo-American discussions and briefing papers dominate this collection, which provides complete FCO 7 and FCO 82 files from The National Archives, Kew. Many files focus on foreign policy issues ranging from the Vietnam War and Paris Peace talks, to Nixon's China visit in 1972 and US relations with the Middle East. There is also a wealth of material on social conditions, domestic reforms, trade, culture and the environment. There is also significant coverage of Nixon's domestic policy initiatives such as the creation of the Environmental Protection Agency, the war on cancer, and the extension of the Voting Rights Act and liberal action on Civil Rights.

  • Includes full text
  • Oxford Islamic studies online (connect | more information)

    "Oxford Islamic Studies Online brings together the best current scholarship in the field and promotes accurate and informed understanding of the Islamic world. This fully integrated resource features reference content and commentary by renowned scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture, and will be regularly updated ... Encompassing over 3,000 A-Z reference entries, chapters from scholarly and introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, and timelines, Oxford Islamic Studies Online offers a multi-layered reference experience."--About page.

  • Includes full text
  • Oxford scholarship online. Political science (connect | more information)

    A cross-searchable database of Oxford University Press e-books in the area of political science. Subjects covered include: American politics; Comparative politics; Democratization; Environmental politics; European Union; International relations; Political economy; Political theory; Russian politics; and UK politics.

  • Includes full text
  • Pacific Islands Treaty Series (connect | more information)

    The Pacific Islands Treaty Series (PITS) focuses on pacific regional and international treaties that affect pacific island countries. PITS aims to be a comprehensive treaty database for the Pacific Islands region (21 Pacific countries and territories) publishing bilateral and multilateral treaties which Pacific Island states have entered into amongst themselves, as well as with nations and organisations external to the region.

  • Includes full text
  • PAIS (connect | more information)

    PAIS (originally, the Public Affairs Information Service) was established in 1914. There are two databases created from the files: PAIS International and PAIS Archive. PAIS International includes records from the print PAIS Bulletin 1977 and forward; it also includes PAIS print Foreign Language Index published 1972-1990, at which time it merged with the PAIS Bulletin. The PAIS International database contains continually updated records for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world ... It is updated quarterly with over 17,000 current records added in total each year.--Publisher description. PAIS Archive is a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976. PAIS Archive contains over 1.23 million records and covers monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics. The original, historical subject headings have been retained. PAIS Archive provides a unique perspective on the 20th century's most important public and social policies, such as Prohibition, suffrage, pacifism, civil rights, McCarthyism, Vietnam War, and Watergate.--Publisher description.
    Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    parliament rolls of medieval England (connect | more information)

    Contains searchable full text and translation of the meetings of the English parliaments from Edward I to Henry VII, covering the years from 1275 to 1504, together with a general introduction, separate introductions for each parliament, and appendices containing supplementary materials. Also includes over 100 specimen images of the original rolls.

  • Includes full text
  • ParlInfo search (connect | more information)

    "ParlInfo search enables everyone to search and obtain Australian Parliamentary information resources including Hansards, Bills, Senate Journals, Votes and Proceedings, Notice Papers, Committee reports, Parliamentary Handbook, newspaper clippings, media, publications and much more. It will also search for information located on the Australian Parliament website."--Home page.

  • Includes full text
  • Patterns of global terrorism 1985-2005 (connect | more information)

    "A comprehensive reference--designed for military, government, and security professionals as well as students of politics, international relations, history, public policy, homeland security, foreign policy, emergency management, and military science--that collates the U.S. Department of State reports on terrorism, Patterns of Global Terrorism, with additional analytical and statistical material"--Provided by publisher.

  • Includes full text
  • Periodicals archive online (connect | more information)

    Index to scholarly journal articles in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, including some published as far back as 1770. Includes periodicals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages. Provides links to scanned articles, in PDF format.

  • Includes full text
  • PolicyArchive (connect | more information)

    PolicyArchive is an innovative, new digital archive of global, non-partisan public policy research. It houses summaries and full texts of public policy research from various think tanks, universities, government agencies, and foundations. It allows research users, policy makers, the media, and the public to quickly access the depth and breadth of research in numerous subject matters. Ultimately, PolicyArchive will indefinitely preserve the life of public policy research ... and provide society at large with long-term access to the benefits of that important research--Press release June 19, 2008.

  • Includes full text
  • Post-war Europe : refugees, exile and resettlement, 1945-1950 (connect | more information)

    Essential primary sources for the study and understanding of the challenges facing the European peoples in the aftermath of World War II. This online archive covers the politics and administration of the refugee crisis in Europe after World War II as well as the day-to-day survival of the refugees themselves. From The National Archives of the UK, and The Wiener Library, London. Post-War Europe contains newly-commissioned essays by leading scholars. These essays offer an insight into key themes and provide direct links to the documents mentioned and a means to access for students unfamiliar with the original materials. Five documentary British Pathe films provide visual evidence of key issues covered by the documents.

  • Includes full text
  • Princeton University Press collection (connect | more information)

    Established in 1905, Princeton University Press publishes general and scholarly books in the humanities, social sciences, economics and business, and natural science. This multidisciplinary database includes over 900 selected titles from Princeton University Press.

    PublicADMINISTRATIONnetBASE (connect | more information)

    Covers such topics as: business information systems, customer relationship management (CRM), facilities management, finance and investing, healthcare management, human resources and training, library and information science, project management, quality and standards, security management and supply chain management (SCM).

  • Includes full text
  • Publications.gov.au (connect | more information)

    Publications.gov.au provides assistance to people searching for Australian Government publications and provides links to publications and other resources on the websites of Australian Government agencies, and in the National Library of Australia catalog of Australian Government publications held by Australian libraries.

    RAND voices of Jihad database (connect | more information)

    This online database is a compilation of speeches, interviews, statements, and publications of jihadist leaders, foot soldiers, and sympathizers. Nearly all content is in English translation, and has been collected from publicly-accessible websites. Original links are provided, along with excerpts and full-text content when available.

  • Includes full text
  • Reason in revolt (connect | more information)

    The Reason in Revolt project aims to bring together primary source documents of Australian radicalism as a readily accessible digitised resource. By 'radical' we refer to those who aimed to make society more equal and to emancipate the exploited or oppressed. As it grows and develops, the project website will become an expanding record of the movements, institutions, venues and publications through which radicals sought to influence Australian society.

  • Includes full text
  • Sage journals online (connect | more information)

    The SAGE Full-Text Collections are discipline-specific research databases of the most popular peer-reviewed journals in [various fields], published by SAGE Publications and participating societies. Includes abstracts and table of contents of all Sage published journals. Also provides full text access to subscribed titles. Monash University Library has full text access to the following collections: 1. Communication Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1955 - current -- 2. Criminology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1955 - current -- 3. Education: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1926 - current -- 4. Political Science: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1912 - current -- 5. Psychology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1944 - current -- 6. Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1952 - current .

  • Includes full text
  • Sage reference online (connect | more information)

    A database of reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education, including such areas as African American studies, aging & gerontology, anthropology, business and management, communication and media studies, counseling and psychotherapy, criminology and criminal justice, economics, education, environment, family studies, gender & sexuality studies, geography, health and social welfare, history, politics and international relations, psychology, research methods and evaluation, science, philosophy, and theology, social issues, social work and social policy, and sociology, and urban studies and planning.

  • Includes full text
  • Sixties (connect | more information)

    "The Sixties ... brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary ... Spanning 1960 to 1974, The Sixties is centered on key themes that provide insight into the issues that shaped America and that still resonate in today's debates: Arts, Music, and Leisure; Civil Rights; Counter-Culture; Environmental Movement; Gay and Lesbian Rights; Law and Government; Mass Media; New Left and Emerging Neo-Conservative Movement; Science and Technology; Student Activism; Vietnam War; and Women's Movement."--Publisher description.

  • Includes full text
  • Sociological abstracts (connect | more information)

    Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.--Publisher description.
    Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    TSO official-documents (connect | more information)

    Official Documents is the official reference facility for Command and departmentally sponsored House of Commons Papers, plus links to other document repositories.

  • Includes full text
  • TVNews (connect | more information)

    TVNews indexes Australian television news, current affairs and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks with links to the digitised video content in a compressed format. All individual stories from a particular broadcast are indexed with a detailed synopsis. TVNews enables the searching, browsing, tracking and alerting of television events/items and programs. It is updated daily, with stories appearing on an evening news broadcast generally being available for access the next morning. Selected items/programs can be downloaded to the desktop in compressed format. Items range from under 30 seconds for short stories, to an hour for documentaries.

    UNBISnet : UN bibliographic information system (connect | more information)

    Catalogue of United Nations documentation and publications indexed by the United Nations Dag Hammarskjld Library and the Library of the UN Office at Geneva. Also included are commercial publications and other non-United Nations sources held in New York and Geneva's collections. UNBISnet coverage is primarily from 1979 onward, however, more and more older documents are being added to the catalogue on a regular basis. UNBISnet provides access to a growing number of full text resources in the six official languages (Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish). Links to full text of resolutions adopted by the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and the Security Council, going back to 1946, are included.

  • Includes full text
  • United Nations official documents : ODS (connect | more information)

    ODS Online is a full-text database of parliamentary documents and official records of the United Nations available in the official languages of the UN (English, Spanish and French). Includes General Assembly, Security Council, and other Council resolutions from 1946, all UN parliamentary documents from 1992 and various UN daily journals and lists of documents. The system does not contain press releases, UN sales publications, the United Nations Treaty Series or information brochures issued by the Department of Public Information.

  • Includes full text
  • United Nations University collection (connect | more information)

    A database of over 100 electronic books published by the United Nations University, focusing on international trade and development, sustainable development and developing countries.

    University of Michigan Press collection (connect | more information)

    A cross-disciplinary database of over 500 electronic books from the University of Michigan Press. "The University of Michigan Press publishes scholarly, educational, and regional books and other materials in digital and print formats. The press publishes materials in a wide range of humanities and social science disciplines; produces educational texts for student audiences, with special emphasis on English language teaching."--IG Publishing product description.

    ViewsWire (connect | more information)

    The EIU ViewsWire is a web-based intelligence service from the Economist Intelligence Unit. It delivers analysis on key economic, political and business developments around the world. Contains EIU country reports & profiles. Each country is allotted an individual home page, which can be bookmarked, displaying a selection of data and a range of information available on that country. Choosing a country takes you directly to that country's home page. Once there, topics for each country as well as sub-categories for each topic are clearly displayed on the main body of the page. The country reports analyse political and economic trends, provide an 18 to 24 month forecast complementing the analysis, and include five-year statistical tables of historical data.

  • Includes full text
  • Web of science with conference proceedings (connect | more information)

    Web of Science consists of seven databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, books, book series, reports, conferences, and more. The first three citation databases (Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-Expanded), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)) contain the references cited by the authors of the articles. You can use these references to do cited reference searching. This type of search allows you to find articles that cite a previously published work. The two conference proceedings citation indexes (Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (CPCI-S), Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)) include the published literature of the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions in a wide range of disciplines. Use these databases to track emerging ideas and new research in specific fields. The two chemistry databases (Index Chemicus (IC), and Current Chemical Reactions (CCR-Expanded)) allow you to create structure drawings to find chemical compounds and reactions. You can also search these databases for compound and reaction data.--Publisher description.

    World news connection (connect | more information)

    Translated and English language news and information compiled from non-United States media sources. Coverage includes political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events. Contains information derived from full-text and summaries of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports.

  • Includes full text
  • Worldwide governance indicators (WGI) project reports (connect | more information)

    "The WGI capture six dimensions of governance for more than 200 countries and territories between 1996 and 2007. They organize and synthesize data reflecting the views of thousands of stakeholders worldwide, including respondents to household and firm surveys, and exper ts from nongovernmental organizations, public sector agencies, and providers of commercial business information. The latest update of the WGI is based on 35 data sources from 32 organizations around the world". "The six aggregate measures and their underlying source data are available at www.govindicators.org, making the WGI one of the largest compilations of cross-country data on governance publicly available."

  • Includes full text
  •  

    Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors and alumni.
    Your opinion Feedback form for Monash staff and students | Feedback form for visitors and alumni

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    See also
    New electronic resources on trial
    Provide your feedback:
    Trial databases
    Accessing databases