Skip to content | Change text size

Popular culture

African American song. See: American song (connect | more information)

American song (connect | more information)

"American Song is a history database that will contain 50,000 tracks that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database will include songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more."--About the database. Also includes the database, African American Song. This resource documents the history of African American music in an online music listening service. The collection contains a diverse range of genres such as jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and narratives. The database will contain (when complete) 50,000 audio tracks, including collections of recordings by the top fifty names in the history of black American music.

Australian screen : Australia's audiovisual heritage online (connect | more information)

"australianscreen is a look at the Australian film and television industry, from its earliest days to the present. You can view clips from Australian feature films, documentaries, TV programs, shorts, home movies, newsreels, advertisements, other historical footage, and sponsored films produced over the last 100 years, with curators' notes and other information about each title. The site currently contains 1,572 clips from 614 film and television titles, and is constantly being added to ...The site brings together material from the vast collections of the National Film and Sound Archive, the National Archives of Australia, the ABC, SBS, and AIATSIS " -- Home, and about page.

Contemporary world music (connect | more information)

"Contemporary world music will contain 50,000 tracks that delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. The database will contain important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku and more. This database is a complementary database to Smithsonian global sound for libraries - it includes a blend of contemporary and traditional world music recordings from many labels throughout the world"--About the database.

Dance in video (connect | more information)

Searchable database containing streaming video files of dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Videos can be browsed by people, role, ensemble, genre, and venue. Material types include documentaries, editorials, instructional, interviews, and performances. Database users may create their own custom playlists and video clips.

Dragonsource magazines and periodicals (connect | more information)

Exclusive agency for all China's journals internationally, this Canada-based website offers subscription service to more than 800 titles spanning more than 40 subject areas. (Monash University library has access to a subset of 200 titles only). Available are the most widely read Chinese-language magazines, with titles covering topics ranging from business and economics to family, fashion, entertainment, film and travel. The collection also includes academic journals and trade journals. All magazines are updated continuously to correspond with the print editions, and many have extensive backlists available.

  • Includes full text
  • FIAF international filmarchive database (connect | more information)

    FIAF International FilmArchive database is an acclaimed international compendium of information on film and television from International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF). It covers film literature from 300 periodicals since 1972, and includes the FIAF thesaurus. Additionally, the database features print sources for 22,000 silent films, a bibliography of FIAF members' publications and a directory of film and TV documentation collections. Descriptors are in English. The six separate databases available within FIAF can be searched simultaneously.
    See also:
    FIAF Affiliates Publications <1966 to 2009 May>
    Film/TV Documentation Collections
    International Index to Film Periodicals <1972 to 2nd Quarter 2009>
    International Index to TV Periodicals <1979 to 2006>
    List of Periodicals Indexed
    Treasures from the Film Archives
    FIAF international filmarchive database via SilverPlatter OvidWebSPIRS
    On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

    Informit e-library : humanities & social sciences collection (connect | more information)

    Informit e-Library - Humanities & Social Sciences Collection provides access to the full content from a range of journals, monographs and books, conference proceedings, research papers and reference materials. It focuses on Australian and Asia-Pacific information. Subjects covered include Arts and Entertainment, Culture and Politics, Education and Research, Indigenous Peoples and Science and Technology.

  • Includes full text
  • Mass observation online (connect | more information)

    Mass Observation was a pioneering social research organisation founded in 1937 to record everyday life in Britain. This online resource contains primary material gathered by Mass Observation from 1937-1955, including diaries and questionnaires sent in by its panel of volunteers, and research gathered by paid investigators in the form of File reports and Topic collections. The collection includes works by Mass Observation founders Tom Harrisson, Charles Madge and Humphrey Jennings, and photographer Humphrey Spender, as well as contributions by volunteer panellists Nella Last and Naomi Mitchison.

  • Includes full text
  • Newsbank newspapers : Australia and the world (connect | more information)

    Complete full-text content of more than 100 local, regional, and national newspapers. Covers community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded. 90 international titles are also available for searching.

  • Includes full text
  • Rock's backpages (connect | more information)

    Rock reviews, articles and interviews from the late 1950s to the present day.

  • Includes full text
  • Smithsonian global sound for libraries (connect | more information)

    Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. Global Sound will offer audio and video downloads, streaming media, educational resources, and detailed liner notes. Also, various musical collections will be available for purchase and immediate download. Users may browse by country, genre, cultural group, language, instrument, artist, ensemble, album, label, or category, such as American Folk, American Indian, Jazz, Spoken word and sounds, and Children's or conduct an advanced search.

     

    Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat.
    Your opinion Feedback form for Monash staff and students | Feedback form for visitors

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    New electronic resources on trial
    Provide your feedback:
    Trial databases
    Accessing databases