Skip to content | Change text size

Population

CDATA91 with Supermap : 1991 census of population and housing (STANDALONE CD-ROM | more information)

Enables the analysis and mapping of Australian census data for 1991.

CLIB 2001 : the census @ your library (STANDALONE CD-ROM | more information)

This 2nd release includes those variable that are of a more complex nature to process. Included is data on the basic community profile, indigenous profile, and classification counts products, as well as Census reference material. Stage 2 of a 3-stage release.

CLib96 (STANDALONE CD-ROM | more information)

CLib96 is a CD-ROM product which contains tabulated census data, with software that allows access, display, printing and aggregation of the data. CLib96 contains an extensive range of 1996 census data and will be available in three stages, with the final release covering all of the 1996 community profiles and the state and capital city classification counts.

Encyclopedia of population (connect | more information)

Provides expanded, up-to-date coverage of demographic topics both in the core field and in neighboring disciplines. Designed to encompass the large-scale changes in emphasis and research directions in population studies during the last 20 years, topics covered include: rapid demographic expansion in poor countries; low fertility rates and problems of old-age support; the environmental impact of a dense population; the press for expanded reproductive rights; and much more.

  • Includes full text
  • Gale virtual reference library (connect | more information)

    Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of full text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Access is provided to titles which the library has purchased. All books can be searched simultaneously or individually. Searches can also be limited to specific subject areas.

  • Includes full text
  • Indiastat.com : revealing India-- statistically. (connect | more information)

    Provides India-specific socio-economic statistical facts and figures culled from various secondary level authentic sources. Includes statistics on health, higher education, agricultural and industrial production, economic statistics and tourism related data . Also provides data on sectors like banking and financial institutions, companies, co-operatives, crime and law, population, foreign trade, labour and workforce, housing, media, power, transport, urban-rural settlements, etc. Data and statistics can easily be downloaded in MS-Excel/Word/ and HTML formats.

  • Includes full text

  • Restricted to 2 simultaneous users

    InfoNation (connect | more information)

    Searchable database of statistical information on the geography, economy, population, and social indicators of the member states of the United Nations, drawn from the United Nations World Statistics Pocketbook, its Statistical Yearbook, and other sources. Up to seven countries and four statistical data elements may be included in one search.

    International data base (IDB) (connect | more information)

    This dataset contains information from tables of demographic, economic and social data for the countries of the world with a population of 5,000 or more. The IDB has provided . Information presented includes population, health, nutrition, morality, fertility, family planning and contraceptive use, literacy, housing, and economic activity data. Tabular data are broken down by such variables as age, sex and urban/rural residence.

  • Includes full text
  • NationMaster.com (connect | more information)

    Database provides population and economic statistics on various countries and generates graphs from the statistical data. Includes country profiles covering geography, military, economics, international relations. "As described on the site, "NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, United Nations, World Health Organization, World Bank, World Resources Institute, UNESCO, UNICEF and OECD" and a "handy way to graphically compare nations." By using the available forms, the user "can generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics." This site aims "to be the web's one-stop resource for country statistics on anything and everything, whether it be soldiers, Olympic medals, tourists, English speakers or wall plug voltages." "Integrated into these is a full encyclopedia with over 200,000 articles."

    UNdata (connect | more information)

    Statistical time series for countries from around the world covering a wide range of economic and socio-demographic topics. Descriptions of the international sources and definitions used in compiling the data are included.

  • Includes full text
  • Urban studies abstracts (connect | more information)

    Urban Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains 40,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline, such as Urban Affairs Review, Urban Studies, Journal of Urban Affairs, etc. The full archive of this index has been digitized, bringing coverage back to 1973. Links to full text sources are available when Monash University Library holds a subscription.

     

    Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat.
    Your opinion Feedback form for Monash staff and students | Feedback form for visitors

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    See also
    New electronic resources on trial
    Provide your feedback:
    Trial databases
    Accessing databases