Skip to content | Change text size

Science

ADT : Australasian Digital Theses Program (connect | more information)

ADT is a project dedicated to establishing a distributed database of digital versions of theses produced by postgraduate research students at Australian universities. The theses of member institutions are digitised and made available as part of the deposit process. A selected number of existing theses which are frequently requested are also digitised. Users may search the database or browse the theses by institution. The retrieval is enhanced by the inclusion of metadata tags in the documents.

  • Includes full text
  • CAN : collections Australia network (connect | more information)

    The Collections Australia Network (CAN) portal is intended to be the public gateway to collecting institutions across Australia including the small to medium regional institutions. Besides providing access to nationwide information on Australia's cultural heritage, members of the public can also access an individual institution's own CAN website to explore its specific content.

    Cold Spring Harbor protocols (connect | more information)

    Cold Spring Harbor Protocols is a definitive, interactive source of new and classic research techniques, containing over 700 methods in molecular and cell biology. The database is fully searchable by keyword and subject, and it has many novel features--such as discussion forums and personal folders--made possible by online publication. Its coverage includes cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging. Protocols are presented step-by-step and edited in the style that has made Molecular Cloning, Antibodies, Cells and many other CSH manuals essential to the work of scientists worldwide. Protocols will be continuously expanded, updated, and annotated by the originators and users of the techniques. -- About CSH Protocols webpage.

  • Includes full text
  • Conference papers index (connect | more information)

    This database provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, while older material also covers physics, engineering and materials science. Information is derived from final programs, abstracts booklets and published proceedings, as well as from questionnaire responses. Records include complete ordering information to obtain preprints, abstracts, proceedings and other publications derived from the conference, together with title and author information needed to track the specific papers. Major areas of subject coverage include: agriculture; biochemistry; chemistry; chemical engineering; forestry; biology; environmental science; soil science; biotechnology; and, clinical medicine.

    Conference proceedings citation index. Science (CPCI-S) : 1990-present. (connect | more information)

    The conference proceedings citation database include the published literature of the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions in the discipline of science, covering: Agriculture, Biochemistry, Biology, Biotechnology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Engineering, Environmental Sciences, Medicine and Physics. The database allow you to track emerging ideas and new research before the material appears in the journal literature. Part of the ISI Web of Science, the database can be cross-searched with the Arts and Humanities, Science, and Social Science Citation Indexes.

    Current contents connect (connect | more information)

    A current awareness research database that provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic citations from current issues of the world's leading scholarly research journals covering all disciplines including the sciences, social sciences, technology, the arts and the humanities. Selected abstracts and records for more than 3,600 web sites that have been selected by editors at ISI for their relevance and quality are also included. A facility is available to save searches and set up a personal email alerting service.

    DBpia : electronic journal service (connect | more information)

    Full text database including over 1,000 Korean scholarly journals. The journal titles are arranged by 11 subject categories (Business/Economics, Theology, Education, Sociology, Theology, Natural Science, Human science, linguistics, law/Administration, Artistic and Physical) All journals are available from the first issue of a given title.

  • Includes full text
  • Dekker Encyclopedia of nanoscience and nanotechnology (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • E-korean studies = Han'gukhak teit'o peisu (connect | more information)

    Provides resources in the field of Korean studies, covering all academic disciplines such as arts and humanities, social sciences, sciences, medical sciences, and physical education. E-korean studies is a product of the six database vendors led by Panmun Academic Services. These companies are Korean Studies Information Co., Ltd., Nurimedia Co., Ltd., DongBang Media Co., Ltd., Korea Contents Lab Co., Ltd., Zininzin Co., Ltd. and LawnB. Databases included are: KISS (Koreanstudies Information Service System); KSI e-book (Korean Studies information Co., Ltd.); DBpia (Nuri Media Co., Ltd.); KRpia (Nuri Media Co., Ltd.); Digital Culture Art Course (DongBang Media Co., Ltd.); KoreaA2Z (DongBang Media Co., Ltd.); Kdatabase (Korea Contents Lab Co., Ltd.); KPjournal (Korea Contents Lab Co., Ltd.); Korean History & Culture Research Database (Zininzin Co., Ltd.); History Culture Series (Zininzin Co., Ltd.); LawnB Legal Information.

  • Includes full text
  • Ebook library (connect | more information)

    Ebook library (EBL) is a searchable collection of ebooks, offering content across all subject areas, from major academic publishers worldwide. Publishers included are Taylor & Francis, Palgrave Macmillan, Cambridge University Press, Kluwer Academic, Springer, World Scientific and others. Ebooks can be viewed online or downloaded to a computer or PDA. EBL offers full-text search capability across the database.

  • Includes full text
  • EBSCOhost research databases (connect | more information)

    Provides access to full text and/or bibliographic databases to which Monash University Library currently subscribes. These databases index journals and other periodical sources in the fields of science, technology, economics and business.

  • Includes full text
  • Eighteenth century collections online (connect | more information)

    Eighteenth Century Collections Online delivers every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. It includes a variety of materials from books and directories, Bibles, sheet music and sermons to advertisements and works by many well-known and lesser-known authors, all providing a diverse collection of material for the researcher of the eighteenth century.

  • Includes full text
  • Encyclopedia of physical science and technology (connect | more information)

    This completely revised third edition, which is a university and professional level compendium of chemistry, molecular biology, mathematics, and engineering, is refreshed with numerous articles about current research in these fields. For example, the new edition has an increased emphasis on information processing and biotechnology, reflecting the rapid growth of these areas.

  • Includes full text
  • Energy citations database (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database contains citations and abstracts, and selected full text documents of energy related scientific and technical information publicly available from the United States Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies. Disciplines such as chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography and computer science are covered. Citations to report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations and patents are included.

  • Includes full text
  • Essential science indicators (connect | more information)

    Essential Science Indicators (ESI) is a resource that enables researchers to conduct ongoing, quantitative analyses of research performance and track trends in science. Covering a multidisciplinary selection of 11,000+ journals from around the world, this in-depth analytical tool offers data for ranking scientists, institutions, countries, and journals. This unique and comprehensive compilation of science performance statistics and science trends data is based on journal article publication counts and citation data from Thomson Scientific databases. Available as a ten-year rolling file, ESI covers 10 million articles in 22 specific fields of research, and is updated every two months. There are also links to Web of Science¿¿ where more detailed information on papers can be found. -- Thomson products information page.

    EThOS : Beta : Electronic Theses Online System (connect | more information)

    EThOS makes UK theses (e and paper based) available via a 'one-stop-shop' by harvesting e-theses from institutional repositories and digitising paper theses on-demand from researchers. The British Library, in collaboration with many UK universities and other associations, aims to provide over 250,000 theses produced by the UK higher education system on an open access model to all researchers and others requiring information. Some theses are available for immediate download, while others can be requested from a participating institution which then sends the thesis to the British Library for digitisation.

  • Includes full text
  • Google scholar (connect | more information)

    Google Scholar uses the familiar Google search engine to search peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

  • Includes full text
  • HighWire Press (connect | more information)

    Host site for over 340 journals, mostly high-impact, peer-reviewed journals in the medical and biological sciences with some physical and social sciences titles. Access to many full text journals is available where Monash University Library has a subscription or after a period of 6, 12, or 24 months. Register for email alerts, a list of favourite journals or link to related articles in PubMed or the Web of Science.

  • Includes full text
  • Informaworld : journals (connect | more information)

    The specialist publications of Taylor & Francis, Routledge, Psychology Press and Informa Healthcare are now available in one dedicated journals database.

  • Includes full text
  • Intute (connect | more information)

    From the Intute homepage: "Intute is a free online service providing you with access to the very best Web resources for education and research. The service is created by a network of UK universities and partners. Subject specialists select and evaluate the websites in our database and write high quality descriptions of the resources."

    Intute. Science, engineering, & technology (connect | more information)

    "Intute is a free online service providing ... access to the very best Web resources for education and research. The service is created by a network of UK universities and partners. Subject specialists select and evaluate the websites in our database and write high quality descriptions of the resources." -- Intute home page.

  • Includes full text
  • ISIHighlyCited.com (connect | more information)

    Tool to identify the most highly cited scientific researchers in the life sciences, medicine, physical sciences and engineering who have made fundamental contributions to the advancement of science and technology in recent decades. Contains biographical information and listing of publications for each researcher. The bibliography is enhanced by links to the full bibliographic citations with selected abstracts and cited references indexed in the ISI Web of Science. The database can be searched by name, subject category, country, or institutional affiliation.

    Journal citation reports. Science edition (connect | more information)

    This database is a resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from approximately 5,000 journals in the areas of science and technology worldwide. JCR ranks journals by the frequency by which they have been cited and by their half life period. Journals can be ranked within a specific subject area.

    KISS :Han'guk ui haeksim chisik chongbo chawon (connect | more information)

    Full text database of Korean scholarly journal articles, university publications and research papers published by over 1,200 research institutions in Korea. KISS offers over 1 million full text articles from over 5,600 journals, covering all subject areas.

  • Includes full text
  • Knovel library (connect | more information)

    Knovel's Library provides access to over 800 reference works, handbooks and databases. The content covers subject areas in the fields of Chemistry and the Life Sciences; Materials; and Engineering. The collection is continually expanding. Sourced from major Sci-tech publishers including John Wiley & Sons, McGraw-Hill and Elsevier, the data is enhanced with time-saving analytical tools to help analyze and manipulate the data.

  • Includes full text

  • List of full text titles available

    KoreaA2Z (connect | more information)

    KoreaA2Z is a knowledge content resource for Korean studies, including full-text online databases collecting primary sources and classics organized by subjects or format. Works such as the History of the Three Kingdoms (Sam'guk sagi )-in over a hundred editions-the Four Books and the Three Classics (Saso samgyong ), and the Digital Encyclopedia of National Culture (EncyKorea) are included in KoreaA2Z.--Database description, eKorean studies.

  • Includes full text
  • KPjournal (connect | more information)

    Provides full text access to 18 science/engineering journals and research papers published in North Korea in the fields of Natural Science (Biology, Physics, Chemistry), Geography, Medical, Pharmacology, Engineering, Mineralogy.

  • Includes full text
  • KSI e-Book (connect | more information)

    Provides access to over 4,500 electronic books and theses that have been converted into electronic format from copyrighted, printed books primarily in the humanities and social sciences, published in Korea.

  • Includes full text
  • Mind : the meetings index (connect | more information)

    This database provides free access to locate future events. Most listings are for conferences, congresses, meetings and symposia that eventually will result in published proceedings and therefore, be referenced in Directory of Published Proceedings (DoPP). To locate an event, several search parameters are offered: keyword, sponsor, country, state/province, category and year. The categories that can be searched include: science/technology; medical/life sciences; pollution control/ecology; and, social sciences/humanities.

    MyiLibrary (connect | more information)

    MyiLibrary, distributed through Coutts Information Services, is an electronic platform which gives users desktop access to some of the most topical and current electronic content available today. MyiLibrary has partnered with numerous distributors to bring their content together in one aggregated database.

  • Includes full text
  • NDLTD (connect | more information)

    Presents a collection of electronic theses and dissertations. Includes theses and dissertations from North Carolina State University, the University of Virginia, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, and West Virginia University. Allows users to search the theses and dissertations. Provides access to other schools with electronic theses and dissertations collections, including the University of Michigan and the University of Waterloo.

  • Includes full text
  • NGA GEOnet names server : GNS (connect | more information)

    The GEOnet Names Server (GNS) provides access to the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency's (NGA) and the U.S. Board on Geographic Names' (US BGN) database of foreign geographic feature names. The database is the official repository of foreign place-name decisions approved by the US BGN. Approximately 20,000 of the database's features are updated monthly. Geographic Area of Coverage: Worldwide excluding the United States and Antarctica.

    Open J-gate : 3000+ open access journals (connect | more information)

    Open J-Gate is an electronic gateway to global journal literature in open access domain. It provides seamless access to millions of journal articles available online. It indexes articles from 3000+ open access journals, with links to full text at publisher sites.

  • Includes full text
  • OpenSIGLE (connect | more information)

    OpenSIGLE - System for Information on Grey Literature in Europe is your open access to SIGLE bibliographical references of reports and other grey literature (GL) produced in Europe. Examples of GL include technical or research reports, doctoral dissertations, some conference papers and pre-prints, some official publications, and other types of grey literature. OpenSIGLE covers pure and applied science and technology, economics, other sciences and humanities.

    PDIP : Indonesian learned periodicals database (connect | more information)

    A bibliographic database that indexes articles and conference proceedings on the sciences in Indonesia, as well as seminar papers on science and technology that were organised in Indonesia. It covers more than 1,280 journals and contains 36,690 articles ranging from the humanities and social sciences; physical sciences; pure and applied sciences. Coverage: 1980 to 1998.

    PDIR : Indonesian research report database (connect | more information)

    A bibliographic database that indexes research reports and survey reports in Indonesia. PDIR reflects the function of the Center for Scientific Documentation and Information at the Institute of Sciences, namely to collect Indonesian scientific publications, to document activities of scientific publications on Indonesia, to develop a national scientific bibliographical database, and to provide scientific and technical information (STI) services. Coverage: 1980 to 2000.

    PLoS (connect | more information)

    PLoS is a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource.

  • Includes full text
  • ProQuest (connect | more information)

    Proquest is a leading electronic database providing indexing and abstracting of over 7,000 scholarly and general interest publications. It includes full text or full image coverage of more than 3,000 of these publications. It provides access to the combined information from a number of leading online databases which cover subjects including: business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, medicine, and religion.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    ProQuest dissertations & theses (connect | more information)

    ProQuest Dissertations & Theses includes citations, abstracts and reviews of mostly US Masters and PhD theses. It is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. PQDT - Full Text includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. More than 60,000 new full text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637.
    Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    ProQuest science journals (connect | more information)

    With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 490 titles--with more than 380 available in full text. In full-text format, researchers have access to all the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements so vital to scientific and technical literature. These journals cover hundreds of topics relating to all major fields of study, including: physics, engineering, astronomy, biology, earth sciences and chemistry.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    SAGE : science and geography education (connect | more information)

    Science And Geography Education (SAGE), produced by RMIT Publishing, is a bibliographic database that indexes popular journals on a broad range of subjects. SAGE covers practically all disciplines of knowledge, though the scientific ones are most heavily represented. Source documents: Most journals indexed are Australian but selected overseas titles are also included. The scope of the SAGE database, and the range of journals included, is determined by the needs of schools and public libraries.

    Science citation index expanded (connect | more information)

    The Science Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes more than 5,900 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines. 19,000 new records are added each week.

    ScienceDirect (connect | more information)

    ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. Apart from online eBooks, Reference Works, Handbooks and Book Series, ScienceDirect offers a rich journal collection of over 2,000 titles. In addition, the Backfiles program offers the ability to search a historical archive of over 6.75 million articles directly from your desktop, back to Volume 1, Issue 1. The collections contain 4 million articles prior to 1995, and 2.75 million articles from after 1994.

  • Includes full text

  • To connect to ScienceDirect please use this link.

    Important message: ScienceDirect will be unavailable on 1 November 2009 due to scheduled maintenance for approximately 9 hours, between 03:00 - 12:00 hours [UTC/GMT +2 hours]
    Apologies for any inconvenience this may cause. 29.10.2009

    Important message: Please do not print any ScienceDirect articles on library student printers, model Fuji Xerox Phaser 5550 DT, excluding Berwick and Law Library. Currently it is causing problems; reams of paper are printed, each with symbols on line one, until the job is cancelled at the printer control panel, by pressing the red cancel button.
    Apologies for any inconvenience this may cause. 13.03.2009


    Note: The Library has not bought access to all of the ScienceDirect electronic books listed here. If you are denied access to the full text of any book here and want the Library to subscribe, please complete a Purchase suggestion form and we will consider your request.

    Scirus : for scientific information only (connect | more information)

    A comprehensive science-specific search engine which returns results from the web and the following journal sources: ScienceDirect, MEDLINE on BioMedNet, Beilstein on ChemWeb, Neuroscion, BioMed Central, US Patent Office, E-Print ArXiv, Chemistry PrePrint Server, Mathematics PrePrint Server, CogPrints and NASA. Limit an Advanced search to a subject area, a particular source or a document type, such as conferences, patents, journal articles, preprints, web sites or books. Search results can be ranked according to relevance, or sorted by date.

    Scopus (connect | more information)

    Abstracting and indexing database of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature. Includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records and quality web sources. Seamless links to full text sources where the library holds a subscription.

  • Includes full text
  • SEDAC : Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center (connect | more information)

    Search a distributed system of catalogs held at SEDAC and other federal, regional, state, and international organizations. These catalogs contain metadata records describing data sets and other resources available from the Earth, natural, and social science communities.

    SPIE digital library (connect | more information)

    The SPIE Digital Library is the most extensive resource available on optics and photonics, providing access to more than 230,000 technical papers from SPIE journals and conference proceedings from 1990 to present. More than 17,000 new research papers are added annually.

  • Includes full text
  • VicMap topographic (connect | more information)

    The Vicmap Topographic 1:30000 series displays natural and constructed features on the ground including contours, rivers, streams, waterfalls, lakes, vegetation, roads, cliffs, localities, park boundaries, shipwrecks and more. The series is available in both A4 and A3 standard mapsheets, covers the entire State of Victoria, is provided in PDF ready to print, and is generated utilising the most currently available Vicmap data. The mapsheets are immediately retrievable in PDF, and created from the most up to date and maintained State Government Vicmap digital information.

    Web magazineplus (connect | more information)

    Indexes over 8,500 journals, faculty papers and annual reports of academic institutions published in Japan. Areas covered include medicine, science, humanities, popular culture, business and social sciences. Updated weekly.

    Web of knowledge (connect | more information)

    ISI Web of Knowledge is a single interface for searching individual ISI products or multiple products simultaneously. ISI Web of Science with Conference Proceedings (for science, social science and humanities, 1990 to present), Current Contents Connect (1998 to present) and Journal Citation Reports (for science and social science, 2000 to 2007) may be accessed through this online resource.
    See also: Web of Science | Current Contents Connect | Journal Citation Reports: Science; Social sciences

    Web of science (connect | more information)

    Web of Science provides access to journal citations, selected abstracts and cited references contained in three separate ISI citation databases: Science citation index expanded (SCI-Expanded); Social sciences citation index (SSCI); and, Arts & humanities citation index (A&HCI). Also added in 2008: Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S)--1990-present, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)--1990-present. Citation databases are used to follow a line of research from a known older key piece of work (book, journal article, unpublished work, etc) to more recent research by searching the reference lists of recent journal articles. Although not its primary strength, Web of Science could be useful for cross disciplinary searching.

    Wiley InterScience (connect | more information)

    A searchable database providing access to to over 3 million articles across nearly 1500 journals and 7000 Online Books and major reference works. It also holds industry leading databases such as The Cochrane Library, chemistry databases and the acclaimed Current Protocols laboratory manuals. Online Journals comprise three major collections: 1. Medicine and Nursing. 2. Science, Technology and Medicine. 3. Social Sciences and Humanities. OnlineBooks offer flexible electronic access to thousands of Wiley books from a broad range of subject areas. Reference Works deliver unimpeded access to multi-volume encyclopedias, handbooks and dictionaries within every category of scientific, technical and medical endeavor.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: The Library has not bought access to all of the electronic books listed here. If you are denied access to the full text of any book here and want the Library to subscribe, please complete a Purchase suggestion form and we will consider your request.

     

    Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat.
    Your opinion Feedback form for Monash staff and students | Feedback form for visitors

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    See also
    New electronic resources on trial
    Provide your feedback:
    Trial databases
    Accessing databases