Skip to content | Change text size

Sociology

Key resources

Australian Public Affairs - Full Text (connect | more information)

Indexing and full text database that provides access to published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.

  • Includes full text

  • See also: APAIS : Australian public affairs information service

    Family & society plus (connect | more information)

    Indexing, abstracting and full text (some journals) database provides access to the scanned images of articles from published and unpublished material on research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to, Australian families. Source documents include journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government publications, research reports, discussion and working papers, statistical documents, annual reports, bibliographies and theses. Training and curriculum material and other media such as videos are also indexed. Subject coverage includes child development, adolescence, marriage and divorce, adoption, foster care, child abuse, domestic violence, family law, housing, health policy and services, population studies, social and community services, child care, family economics, employment.

  • Includes full text
  • IBSS : international bibliography of the social sciences (connect | more information)

    The International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) is an online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research. Incorporating over 100 languages and countries, IBSS includes nearly two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters. Over 2,700 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books included each year. Abstracts are provided for half of all current journal articles and full text availability is continually increasing.

  • Includes full text
  • PolicyArchive (connect | more information)

    PolicyArchive is an innovative, new digital archive of global, non-partisan public policy research. It houses summaries and full texts of public policy research from various think tanks, universities, government agencies, and foundations. It allows research users, policy makers, the media, and the public to quickly access the depth and breadth of research in numerous subject matters. Ultimately, PolicyArchive will indefinitely preserve the life of public policy research ... and provide society at large with long-term access to the benefits of that important research--Press release June 19, 2008.

  • Includes full text
  • Sociological abstracts (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioural sciences. Source documents include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and conference papers. Major areas of subject coverage include: culture and social structure; demography and human biology; economic development; environmental interactions; evaluation research; family and social welfare; health and medicine and law; history and theory of sociology; management and complex organisations; mass phenomenon and political interactions; methodology and research technology; policy, planning, forecast and speculation; radical sociology; religion and science; rural and urban sociology; social development; social differentiation; social psychology and group interaction; sociology of the arts, business and education; studies in violence and power; substance abuse and addiction; welfare services; and, women's studies.

    TVNews (connect | more information)

    TVNews indexes Australian television news, current affairs and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks with links to the digitised video content in a compressed format. All individual stories from a particular broadcast are indexed with a detailed synopsis. TVNews enables the searching, browsing, tracking and alerting of television events/items and programs. It is updated daily, with stories appearing on an evening news broadcast generally being available for access the next morning. Selected items/programs can be downloaded to the desktop in compressed format. Items range from under 30 seconds for short stories, to an hour for documentaries.

     


    Other resources

    A+ Education (connect | more information)

    A+ Education, based on AEI : the Australian Education Index, is an indexing and full text database that provides access to journal articles from published material on all aspects of education in Australia. Subject coverage includes Aboriginal peoples, adult and continuing education, child development, children's literature, curriculum, education, English as a second language (ESL), information science and librarianship, information technology, literature, psychology, teaching and training, Torres Strait Islanders and vocational education.

  • Includes full text
  • Academic research library (connect | more information)

    From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 3,820 title--over 2,550 in full text--from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    AgeLine (connect | more information)

    AgeLine is a searchable electronic database containing detailed summaries of publications about older adults and aging from a cross-disciplinary approach. It includes books, articles from over 300 magazines and journals, and research reports and videos. All references include original abstracts. The database covers English-language literature from many countries.

    AltPressIndex (connect | more information)

    Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political, and social change. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary, spanning the social sciences and humanities, with its central focus on the practice and theory of socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism. Citations are drawn from alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.

    AltPressIndexArchive (connect | more information)

    "Comprehensive guide to alternative sources of information published from 1969-1990. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary. Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Provides alternative viewpoints on internationally significant subjects"--Information page.

    AUSPORT : Australian sport database (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on all aspects of Australian sport, including sports administration, children and sport, coaching, disabled, economics, facilities, history, medicine, nutrition, physiology, psychology, women and Olympic Games (Sydney 2000). Source documents include journals, monographs, conference papers, government reports, theses, videotapes and audiocassettes.

    Australasian religion index (connect | more information)

    The Australasian Religion Index (ARI) is an author and subject index covering over eighty religious and theological serials published in Australia or New Zealand and representing all religious traditions. Related areas of study such as history and sociology are also covered. ARI indexes articles, notes and book reviews in religious studies, theology and related fields in the humanities and social sciences.--About ARI.

    Australia's religious communities : a multimedia exploration (connect | more information)

    Explores the changing nature of religion in Australia. Looks at the various religions in the world and their traditions and background.

  • Includes full text
  • Australian Bureau of Statistics (connect | more information)

    The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) web site provides comprehensive access to over 270,000 pages of Australian statistical and reference information. There are statistics on the following themes: economy; environment and energy; industry; people; and regions. Included are statistical publications on agriculture, demography, finance, labour, manufacturing, national accounts, prices, service industries, social trends, trade and transport.

    BHI : British humanities index (connect | more information)

    This is an international indexing and abstracting database of over 320 humanities journals and weekly magazines, as well as quality newspapers published in the United Kingdom and the United States. Major areas of subject coverage include: architecture, archaeology, art, antiques, cinema, current affairs, education, economics, environment, foreign affairs, gender studies, history, language, law, linguistics, literature, music, painting, philosophy, poetry, political science, religion and theatre.

    Blackwell reference online (connect | more information)

    Provides full-text access to over 300 volumes of reference works in business and economics, the arts (history, language and linguistics, literature and cultural studies, philosophy and religion) and social sciences (sociology and psychology). It supports browsing and full-text searching. Includes the Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, and major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax.

  • Includes full text
  • Bristol selected pamphlets (connect | more information)

    Bristol has a substantial collection of 19th century pamphlets, including the National Liberal Club collection, with pamphlets from the libraries of Charles Bradlaugh, John Noble, the Liberation Society, the Land Nationalisation Society, the Cobden Club, and others. Bristol's collection is especially strong on 19th century commerce, economics, finance, politics, religion and sociology. In addition to publications by Liberal Party members, it includes many pamphlets from other political parties.--Publisher description.

  • Includes full text
  • Child welfare information gateway (connect | more information)

    "Child Welfare Information Gateway promotes the safety, permanency, and well-being of children and families by connecting child welfare, adoption and related professionals as well as concerned citizens to timely, essential information. A service of the Children's Bureau, Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, we provide access to print and electronic publications, websites, and online databases covering a wide range of topics from prevention to permanency, including child welfare, child abuse and neglect, adoption, search and reunion, and much more." -- About webpage.

  • Includes full text
  • Ciao : Columbia international affairs online (connect | more information)

    Designed as a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs from 1991, it includies working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects and proceedings from conferences. Has links to over 160 international sites, environmental studies Web pages and news media services.

  • Includes full text
  • CINCH : Australian criminology database (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database indexes and abstracts articles from primarily Australian published and unpublished material on all aspects of crime, criminal justice and criminology. Subject coverage includes all aspects of crime and criminal justice including corrections, crime, crime prevention, criminal law, criminology, juvenile justice, law enforcement, police and victims of crime.

    Communication & mass media complete (connect | more information)

    Offers information from over 600 journals in communication, mass media and related fields; includes abstracts, indexing, bibliographical citations and author profiles, as well as full text from more 240 titles.

  • Includes full text
  • CSA Illumina (connect | more information)

    This Internet service provides access to databases covering all subject disciplines. Monash University Library currently subscribes to 17 databases in the following fields: humanities, environmental sciences, art, pharmacy, language and linguistics, education, library science, criminology, political science, and sociology.

  • Includes full text
  • Current contents connect (connect | more information)

    A current awareness research database that provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic citations from current issues of the world's leading scholarly research journals covering all disciplines including the sciences, social sciences, technology, the arts and the humanities. Selected abstracts and records for more than 3,600 web sites that have been selected by editors at ISI for their relevance and quality are also included. A facility is available to save searches and set up a personal email alerting service.

    DBpia : electronic journal service (connect | more information)

    Full text database including over 1,000 Korean scholarly journals. The journal titles are arranged by 11 subject categories (Business/Economics, Theology, Education, Sociology, Theology, Natural Science, Human science, linguistics, law/Administration, Artistic and Physical) All journals are available from the first issue of a given title.

  • Includes full text
  • DISA : Digital Innovation South Africa (connect | more information)

    Covering the four key decades in the growth of opposition to apartheid rule, a period when the African National Congress (ANC), black consciousness, and other resistance movements were very active, this database provides access to the full text of approximately forty South African periodical titles of high socio-political interest that would otherwise be difficult to locate and use. The titles have been selected from a very comprehensive list, with a view to presenting not only a wide spectrum of political views published during these years, but also a diversity of subjects such as trade unions, religion, health, culture, and gender. Publications reflecting both black and white viewpoints are included, and an attempt has been made to represent distinctive regional variations.

  • Includes full text
  • DRUG : drug database (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic database that indexes articles from published and unpublished material on psychosocial aspects of substance abuse. Source documents include journals, bulletins, newsletters, newspapers, weeklies, monograph chapters, conference proceedings, research reports, discussion and position papers, theses, government documents and statistics. Both Australian and overseas journals are sourced. Subject coverage includes political, social, psychological and legal aspects of prevention and treatment of alcohol and other drug abuse.

    eLibrary Australasia (connect | more information)

    eLibrary Australasia is a dedicated Australasian version of eLibrary featuring the news, reference and multimedia included within eLibrary, plus a further 150+ Australian and New Zealand newspaper titles. Titles include Australian newspapers such as The Australian, The Age, and The Sydney Morning Herald. New Zealand titles include The Christchurch Press and The Dominion Post. Also featured are Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC) transcripts and Australian Associated Press (AAP) newswires. Contains more than 2,000 full-text magazines, newspapers, books, and transcripts--plus thousands of maps, pictures, educator-approved websites from Homework Central, and audio/video files.

  • Includes full text
  • European Center for Minority Issues (connect | more information)

    The European Centre for Minority Issues (ECMI) conducts practice-oriented research, provides information and documentation, and offers advisory services concerning minority-majority relations in Europe. It serves European governments and regional intergovernmental organizations as well as non-dominant groups in the European area. The early monitoring, study and resolution of ethnic tension and potential conflict in all regions of Europe - East and West - provides one of the major focal points for the activities of the Centre. The HeinOnline library includes ECMI Reports and Working Papers, along with the Journal on Ethnopolitics and Minority Issues in Europe.

  • Includes full text
  • Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)

    Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals.

  • Includes full text

  • Also available: Library online tutorials

    Factiva (connect | more information)

    Factiva provides access to full text coverage of major Australian newspapers (including The Age, The Sydney Morning Herald and The Australian), as well as global newspapers and news wires. Coverage for The Australian, Financial Review and BRW is from 2007, with abstracts only. Factiva also includes company profiles and financial information for listed companies worldwide, and historical financial market data.

  • Includes full text

  • This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above. Monash students and staff only
    Note: If you see this message: "The user ID and password you have entered are already in use. Please try again later or click on the Having trouble logging in link next to the login button of your product for assistance. (Error:131005)" it means that Monash has used up all available licences. It does NOT relate to your Authcate password. Please try again later.

    Gale virtual reference library (connect | more information)

    Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of full text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Access is provided to titles which the library has purchased. All books can be searched simultaneously or individually. Searches can also be limited to specific subject areas.

  • Includes full text
  • Gambling literature : online database (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database provides information about authoritative materials on all aspects of gambling, with an emphasis on current items relevant to research, which are not controlled by commercial publishers. Canada is the primary focus but materials from other areas of the world (e.g. United States, Great Britain, Australia and New Zealand) are collected. Source materials include: AGRI reports; annual reports; conference papers; electronic journal articles and newspaper articles; government reports, research reports and policy papers; and, web sites. The database can be searched by subject category, as well as by keyword(s).

    Indigenous Australia (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database represents the collections of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission (ASTIC) Library. Source documents include Commonwealth gazettes, media/press releases, speeches and conference papers, pamphlets, booklets and ephemera, book chapters, journal and newspaper articles, Hansard, cases and judgements, books, reports, conference proceedings, theses and videos. Abstracts for all videos, and some books and articles are included. The geographic scope includes international, national and, some state and local coverage.

    Indigenous studies bibliography : AIATSIS (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database indexes published and unpublished material on Australian Indigenous studies. Source documents include journal articles, newspapers, pamphlets, government reports, conference papers, book chapters, books, discussion and working papers, and statistical documents. All records relate to Australian Indigenous studies, and are in English with some in Australian Indigenous languages. The broad topic areas cover languages, cultures, anthropology, archaeology, health, education, arts, oral histories, history, legal issues such as native title, criminal justice, land rights, customary law and its recognition, women's issues, youth issues, government policies and programs.

    Informit (connect | more information)

    Collection of online bibliographic databases, includes summaries/abstracts of journal articles on Australian political, economic, legal, social, aboriginal, health, family, technical and cultural affairs indexed in over 80 databases including APAIS, AIATSIS etc.

    International encyclopedia of marriage and family (connect | more information)

    Adopts an international, cross-cultural approach to such diverse topics as adolescent parenthood, family planning, cohabitation, widowhood, domestic violence, child abuse and neglect, codependency, and commuter marriages. Includes articles specific to countries and religious traditions, examining the history of family life within these cultures and discussing how families have been affected by political and social change.

  • Includes full text
  • Macmillan encyclopedia of death and dying (connect | more information)

    Comprehensive exploration of the place of death in contemporary life. Coverage of topics is broad and multi-disciplinary.

  • Includes full text
  • MAIS : multicultural Australia and immigration studies (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts a wide range of media from published and unpublished material on Australian immigration and multicultural issues. Source documents include books, book chapters, journal articles, selected newspaper articles, government documents, conference papers, research reports, theses and multimedia. Subject coverage includes immigration, emigration, multiculturalism, ethnicity, racism, migrant health, social access and equity, social services, refugees, population studies, and aboriginal studies.

    Mass observation online (connect | more information)

    Mass Observation was a pioneering social research organisation founded in 1937 to record everyday life in Britain. This online resource contains primary material gathered by Mass Observation from 1937-1955, including diaries and questionnaires sent in by its panel of volunteers, and research gathered by paid investigators in the form of File reports and Topic collections. The collection includes works by Mass Observation founders Tom Harrisson, Charles Madge and Humphrey Jennings, and photographer Humphrey Spender, as well as contributions by volunteer panellists Nella Last and Naomi Mitchison.

  • Includes full text
  • MEDGE : management and environment information (connect | more information)

    Australian index to journal articles on a wide range of management-related topics, including environmental management (e.g. recycling and litter control), the Australian economy and government policy. Coverage: 1985 to Jul. 2006.

    Middle Eastern & Central Asian studies (connect | more information)

    Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies is a systematic and non-evaluative bibliographic index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. Coverage spans from 1900 and earlier to present. Subjects covered include: political affairs & law, international relations, economic affairs - business & industry, cultural heritage, arts & humanities, society & social welfare, ethnic diversity & anthropology, significant religious events & movements and recent history (1900 - present) & archaeology.

    Onati International Institute for the Sociology of Law : bibliographic databases : online catalogues (connect | more information)

    Access is provided to two separate bibliographic databases specialising in the sociology of law and other related subjects such as the sociology of legal professions, family sociology, sociology of criminality and its control, police, prisons, administration of justice, human rights, marginalisation and public policy. The majority of documents are in English with others in Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, French, German, etc. Citations included cover books, series, journal articles and unpublished material.

    OpenSIGLE (connect | more information)

    OpenSIGLE - System for Information on Grey Literature in Europe is your open access to SIGLE bibliographical references of reports and other grey literature (GL) produced in Europe. Examples of GL include technical or research reports, doctoral dissertations, some conference papers and pre-prints, some official publications, and other types of grey literature. OpenSIGLE covers pure and applied science and technology, economics, other sciences and humanities.

    PAIS archive (connect | more information)

    PAIS Archive includes references to more than 700,000 journal articles, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, and other English-language materials from around the world, originally published in the PAIS Bulletin, (v.1-62, 1915-1976).

    PAIS international (connect | more information)

    This worldwide bibliographic database indexes and abstracts literature covering the full range of political, social and public policy issues. It includes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche and Internet material. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed.

    ProQuest dissertations & theses (connect | more information)

    ProQuest Dissertations & Theses includes citations, abstracts and reviews of mostly US Masters and PhD theses. It is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. PQDT - Full Text includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. More than 60,000 new full text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637.
    Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    Proquest religion (connect | more information)

    The database includes nearly 120 titles, with more than 100 available in full text. Designed to meet the needs of both religious studies programs and general library collections, the database is an excellent source of religious news and information. The database provides details on doctrines and philosophies, reports on religious history, and related archeology. ProQuest Religion also covers formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of specific religions. Primary faiths represented in the database are Christianity, Islam, Judaism, and Buddhism.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    PsycINFO (connect | more information)

    PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database that provides citations with abstracts to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.PsycINFO contains more than 2 million records spanning 1806 to the present. Journal coverage includes material selected from approximately 2,000 periodicals. Chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present; however, there is a substantial number of records covering books published earlier.
    See also:
    PsycINFO 2000 to present
    PsycINFO 1985 to present
    PsycINFO 1967 to present
    PsycINFO 1806 to present
    On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

    Sage journals online : with access to Sage full text collections (connect | more information)

    The SAGE Full-Text Collections are discipline-specific research databases of the most popular peer-reviewed journals in [various fields], published by SAGE Publications and participating societies. Includes abstracts and table of contents of all Sage published journals. Also provides full text access to subscribed titles. Monash University Library has full text access to the following collections: 1. Communication Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1955 - current -- 2. Criminology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1955 - current -- 3. Education: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1926 - current -- 4. Political Science: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1912 - current -- 5. Psychology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1944 - current -- 6. Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1952 - current .

  • Includes full text
  • Social sciences citation index (connect | more information)

    The Social sciences citation index is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes more than 1,725 journals across 50 scientific disciplines.

    Social services abstracts (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database abstracts and indexes over 1,600 serials publications covering current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Major topics covered include: community and mental health services, crisis intervention, the family and social welfare, gerentology, poverty and homelessness, professional issues in social work, social and health policy, social services in addiction, social work education, social work practice, support groups/networks, violence, abuse, neglect and welfare services.

    Social theory (connect | more information)

    Social Theory offers an extensive selection of documents that explore the complexities and interpret the nature of social behavior and organization ... [It] brings together an extensive range of influential writings representing the most important trends of sociological thought from the eighteenth century to the present day. Included in the ... searchable content are seminal works by such theorists as Harriet Martineau, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Max Weber, Karl Marx, Emile Durkheim, Ju¿¿rgen Habermas, Talcott Parsons, Michel Foucault and Jean Baudrillard. This release of Social Theory includes more than 90,000 pages from 274 works by 94 authors.--Publisher description.

  • Includes full text
  • Sociology : a SAGE full-text collection (connect | more information)

    Includes the full text of 33 journals published by SAGE and participating societies. It covers such subjects as Childhood, Contemporary Sociology, Comparative Sociology, Consumer Culture, Classical Sociology, Ethnic Studies, Gender Studies, Leisure Studies, Social Theory, Sociology of Sport, and Sociology of Work and Employment (Labor Studies). The searchable database consists of bibliographic records (indexed summaries or abstracts) as well as the complete text of each journal article. Every bibliographic record in the Collection links to the appropriate full text in PDF format.

  • Includes full text
  • Studies on women and gender abstracts online (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database, which is international in coverage, focuses on education, employment, family, health, gender roles, social policy, psychology, culture, media treatment, biography, literary criticism and historical studies. Journals, books and other materials are included.

    Violence & abuse abstracts (connect | more information)

    "Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains 35,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline."--About the database.

    WORKLIT (connect | more information)

    Indexes Australian and international human resource management and industrial relations journals, occasional papers and reports. Coverage: 1907 to 2002.

    Worldwide political science abstracts (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database indexes and abstracts the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Major areas of subject coverage include: comparative politics; developing nations; disarmament; economic policy; electoral systems; environmental policy; government/political systems; history and theory of political science; international relations/trade; labour relations; military policy; methodology and research technology; political behaviour; political economy; political psychology; politics and law; politics and communication; politics and religion; politics and society; public administration; security and defense; and, welfare systems.

     

    Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat.
    Your opinion Feedback form for Monash staff and students | Feedback form for visitors

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    For additional resources:
    New electronic resources on trial
    Provide your feedback:
    Trial databases
    Accessing databases