| Library home | Catalogue | Resources | Services | Help | Libraries | About us |
| Staff directory | A-Z index | Site map |
TransportationAustralian transport index : ATRI (connect | more information)A bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts more than 134,000 articles from published and unpublished Australian material on transport, incorporating Australian Road Research Board Transport Research and Austroads publications from 1976. It provides comprehensive coverage of Australian and New Zealand publications, selective indexing of overseas material including conference papers and also include selected catalogue records from some libraries specialising in transport. Subject coverage includes all aspects of road design and engineering, traffic engineering and control, transport planning, vehicle design and safety, and road safety. Documents indexed include all ARRB Transport Research and Austroads publications. Coverage of other Australian and New Zealand publications is comprehensive, and overseas publications are indexed more selectively. Aviation accident database & synopses (connect | more information)This searchable database contains information about civil aviation accidents and selected incidents within the United States, its territories and possessions, and in international waters. Generally, a preliminary report is available within a few days of an accident. Factual information is added when available, and when the investigation is completed, the preliminary report is replaced by a final description of the accident and its probable cause. Full narrative descriptions may not be available before 1993. The database can be searched by date, location, type of aircraft, airline, etc. Car design news (connect | more information)Car Design News is an online magazine for automotive design industry professionals, transportation design students and design enthusiasts worldwide. Updated daily, Car Design News gives a global overview of the latest automotive design news, in-depth coverage of major autoshows and student design exhibitions, as well as design reviews by industry professionals, and feature articles covering the design process behind new concept and production vehicles. Compendex (connect | more information)Compendex is a comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database. It provides access to citations and abstracts from over 5,000 engineering journal titles, conference proceedings and technical reports dating from 1884. It is updated weekly and features include saved searches and email alerts. Apart from major engineering fields, subject areas covered include bioengineering, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, nuclear technology, aerospace and automotive engineering and transportation. Indexing started in 1884. Engineering village (connect | more information)This online service provides access to bibliographic databases within the scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines to which Monash University Library subscribes. These databases include: Compendex, EI Backfile, Inspec, NTIS, Referex Engineering, Patents, GEOBASE, GeoRef and CRC ENGnetBASE. Source documents comprise journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, dissertations, patents and books published from around the world. ProQuest science journals (connect | more information)With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 490 titles--with more than 380 available in full text. In full-text format, researchers have access to all the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements so vital to scientific and technical literature. These journals cover hundreds of topics relating to all major fields of study, including: physics, engineering, astronomy, biology, earth sciences and chemistry. Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link TRANSPORT (connect | more information)
This is an indexing and abstracting worldwide database covering research in transportation systems and their components: highway, traffic, transport, road safety, intermodal transport, transport economics, transport policy and the social sciences of transportation. Includes citations and abstracts for research reports, books, articles from journals and reviews, theses, standards and specifications, conference proceedings and summaries of research in progress.
TRIS online (connect | more information)The TRIS Online database contains over half a million records of published transportation research including technical reports, books, conference proceedings and journal articles. Currently there are almost 24,000 TRIS records with links to electronic copies of the full-text. The time span covers literature from the 1960s to the present, with some coverage of prior years. Highway Research Board publications are covered back to 1923. TRIS coverage includes the disciplines of planning, finance, design and construction, materials, environmental issues, safety and human factors and operations for the modes of highways, transit, railroads, maritime and aviation. Web of science (connect | more information)Web of Science provides access to journal citations, selected abstracts and cited references contained in three separate ISI citation databases: Science citation index expanded (SCI-Expanded); Social sciences citation index (SSCI); and, Arts & humanities citation index (A&HCI). Also added in 2008: Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S)--1990-present, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)--1990-present. Citation databases are used to follow a line of research from a known older key piece of work (book, journal article, unpublished work, etc) to more recent research by searching the reference lists of recent journal articles. Although not its primary strength, Web of Science could be useful for cross disciplinary searching.
Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat. |
|