Key databases
Information about access: Monash computer account and password management
Australian
- AMI (Informit) covers all aspects of health and medicine, including articles from over 100 Australian health and medical journals not indexed for Medline.
- APAIS Health (Informit) covers health and medicine in Australia, including legal, social, economic and ethical aspects. Clinical articles are not indexed.
- ATSI health (Informit) index to Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health information. Includes unpublished articles, theses and working papers.
- AusportMed (Informit) deals with all aspects of medical and health issues in Australian sport. Includes journals, books, conference papers, government reports, theses, videotapes and audiocassettes.
- Australian Bureau of Statistics The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) web site provides comprehensive access to over 270,000 pages of Australian statistical and reference information.
- CINCH: Health (Informit) index to Australian health issues in criminal justice information
- DRUG (Informit) index to Australian drug information. Covers the psychosocial aspects of substance abuse.
- Health & Society (Informit) Australian health policy, services, social, psychological, legal and ethical issues.
- HIV/AIDS database (Informit) journal articles, book and audio-visual resources held at NSW HIV/AIDS Library Network.
- Joanna Briggs Institute offering a variety of evidence based nursing resources, this institute is an international collaboration for evidence based nursing and midwifery established at the Royal Adelaide Hospital and Adelaide University. This web site also provides access to a resource called RAPid (Rapid Appraisal Protocol Internet Database)
- RURAL (Informit) produced by Monash University School of Rural Health RURAL consists of 7 smaller databases. These databases cover rural and remote health care and issues plus the practice and educational needs of health providers such as nurses.
Also check
- ABI-Inform (Proquest) all aspects of business and management, selected full text. Mainly US content but some Australian content included.
- an@tomy.tv presents a detailed interactive model of the Human Anatomy. Contains complete anatomical 3D models from skin to bone for various body parts.
- Biological Abstracts (Ovid) index to Life Sciences journals including medical areas such as biomedicine, biochemistry and pharmacology.
- Cochrane Library a key resource for evidence-based medicine that integrates clinical expertise with systematic research, especially in relation to the effects of health care. Produced by the international Cochrane Collaboration.
- EBM Reviews a key resource for evidence-based medicine that integrates clinical expertise with systematic research, especially in relation to the effects of health care.
- EBM Reviews - ACP Journal Club evidence based medicine reviews from The American College of Physicians (ACP) Journal Club (from 1991 to present).
- EBM Reviews - Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials a bibliography of over 370,000 published and unpublished reports describing mostly randomised controlled trials and some observational studies in health care.
- EBM Reviews: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Ovid) bibliographic database of definitive controlled trials.
- EBM Reviews: Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (Ovid) full text database of systematic reviews of the effectiveness of health care interventions.
- Expanded Academic ASAP multi-disciplinary database, selected full text, including some major health and medicine journals.
- Health and psychosocial instruments (Ovid) provides access to information on measurement instruments in health sciences and medicine.
- MIDIRS: the midwifery digest MIDIRS provides maternity health professionals with an overview of key midwifery and medical research to inform their practice from over 550 international journals.
- Web of Science Citation index that searches multidisciplinary databases for bibliographic information. Links to other articles on same topic or by same author.
|